Df Project

Designed a level that creates new, exciting, and challenging Armagetron game play? Or maybe just something funky. Put it right here.
Post Reply
User avatar
FlamingMetroidzd
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 8:07 am
Location: Arizona, United States
Contact:

Df Project

Post by FlamingMetroidzd »

Me = Ablaze.

I made a server, and I'm wondering how exactly I can make a particular map run on the server. I can run maps locally... but I suppose I need to make some account to do online.

And I'm just seeing if I can run a map in the first place before actually attempting. I do have an idea that'll I'll probably end up asking questions about unless everything goes perfectly well, which it usually doesn't.
Image
User avatar
ivantis
Round Winner
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 2:33 pm
Contact:

Post by ivantis »

you need to change RESOURCE_REPOSITORY_SERVER to your website. if you dont have a website, you should install apache on your server machine and use {your_ip}/resource/ and put maps in there.
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
dlh
Formerly That OS X Guy
Posts: 2035
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2004 12:05 am
Contact:

Post by dlh »

User avatar
FlamingMetroidzd
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 8:07 am
Location: Arizona, United States
Contact:

Post by FlamingMetroidzd »

Just about the simplest map ever, which is based off of the regular 4-sided. Does this look alright? Only things I don't quite understand are all the axes stuff (I don't get how it can be more complex than the arena_axes command).
Also, while it it possible to define "holes" , ie completely bounded areas inside a bigger area, or "islands", ie independent bounded areas independent of another play area, these behaviors are undefined and unsupported.
This struck me odd. What is wrong with this? I've seen it all over in fortress maps.

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1" standalone="no"?>
<!DOCTYPE Resource SYSTEM "map-0.2.8_beta3.dtd">
<Resource name="double-death-rim" version="1.0" author="Ablaze" category="df">
	<Map version="0.2.8">
		<World>
			<Field>
				<Spawn	x="480"	y="333.33333"	xdir="0"	ydir="1"	/>
				<Spawn	x="20"	y="166.66666"	xdir="0"	ydir="-1"	/>
				<Spawn	x="166.66666"	y="480"	xdir="-1"	ydir="0"	/>
				<Spawn	x="333.33333"	y="20"	xdir="1"	ydir="0"	/>
				<Spawn	x="370"	y="166.66666"	xdir="0"	ydir="1"	/>
				<Spawn	x="130"	y="333.33333"	xdir="0"	ydir="-1"	/>
				<Spawn	x="333.33333"	y="370"	xdir="-1"	ydir="0"	/>
				<Spawn	x="166.66666"	y="130"	xdir="1"	ydir="0"	/>
				<Wall>
					<Point	x="0"	y="0"	/>
					<Point	x="0"	y="500"	/>
					<Point	x="500"	y="500"	/>
					<Point	x="500"	y="0"	/>
					<Point	x="0"	y="0"	/>
				</Wall>
				<Wall>
					<Point	x="150"	y="150"	/>
					<Point	x="150"	y="350"	/>
					<Point	x="350"	y="350"	/>
					<Point	x="350"	y="150"	/>
					<Point	x="150"	y="150"	/>
				</Wall>
			</Field>
		</World>
	</Map>
</Resource>
Don't want be a bother. Just check that I have all of the simple stuff down before any real map making begins.
Image
User avatar
ivantis
Round Winner
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 2:33 pm
Contact:

Post by ivantis »

yeah, i think so. you have to set the things within the <Resource> tag to match your directories and names tho
Image
Image
Image
epsy
Adjust Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 2003
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 6:02 pm
Location: paris
Contact:

Post by epsy »

FlamingMetroidzd wrote:
Also, while it it possible to define "holes" , ie completely bounded areas inside a bigger area, or "islands", ie independent bounded areas independent of another play area, these behaviors are undefined and unsupported.
This struck me odd. What is wrong with this? I've seen it all over in fortress maps.
That's just a couple of walls built together in the middle of the map.
That concept of "holes" isn't implemented yet.
Post Reply