Input delay experiment

Everything todo with programming goes HERE.
gss
Average Program

Input delay experiment

Post by gss »

I have a project for which I need to research the effect of input delay. As an experiment, I'd like to add a mechanism into armagetronad whereby I can force a programmable delay (in milliseconds) between when a turn key is pressed and when the screen shows the bike moving in the new direction.

I've pulled and compiled the 0.2.8 branch and will experiment with that. Being a total noob to this code, I was hoping somebody could suggest a way to do this.

- gss
Lucifer
Project Developer

Post by Lucifer »

Isn't that what lag is? ;)

Be the devil's own, Lucifer's my name.
- Iron Maiden
gss
Average Program

Post by gss »

A form of lag, yes. I want to experiment with various amounts of predictable input lag... in a local game.
Z-Man
God & Project Admin

Post by Z-Man »

Interesting. A simple, but imperfect, way is to abuse the mechanics of CYCLE_DELAY; where user input is processed, you can make the cycle pretend it has done a turn a short time ago, so the next turn will be delayed. The downside of this is that consecutive turns can't be delayed further, so if the desired input delay shall be larger than CYCLE_DELAY, some turns are executed too early. Anyway, here's the code for that:

Code: Select all

REAL sg_inputDelay = 0;
static tSettingItem<REAL> c_st("CYCLE_INPUT_DELAY",
                               sg_inputDelay);

bool gCycle::Act(uActionPlayer *Act, REAL x){
    // don't accept premature input
    if (se_mainGameTimer && ( se_mainGameTimer->speed <= 0 || se_mainGameTimer->Time() < -1 ) )
        return false;

// crude input delay
    if ( pendingTurns.size() == 0 )
    {
        REAL lastTurnTime = se_GameTime() - sg_delayCycle + sg_inputDelay;
        if ( lastTurnTimeRight_ < lastTurnTime )
            lastTurnTimeRight_ = lastTurnTime;
        if ( lastTurnTimeLeft_ < lastTurnTime )
            lastTurnTimeLeft_ = lastTurnTime;