Alpha Project

Topics and posts about all other servers...
Post Reply
User avatar
LOVER$BOY
Match Winner
Posts: 731
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:46 pm

Re: Alpha Project

Post by LOVER$BOY »

I'm glad you find the rules nice :)

Yay! :D

My system is Windows. I installed teamviewer just now and I also have WinSCP installed as well. I would appreciate all your help compguygene :)

So what time do you think we should meet up?
Image
User avatar
LOVER$BOY
Match Winner
Posts: 731
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:46 pm

Re: Alpha Project

Post by LOVER$BOY »

Z-Man, while I was testing out a new mode, I got an error message on my console messages. You think this would be a problem?
Attachments
Error_Message_1.png
Image
User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11587
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: Alpha Project

Post by Z-Man »

Does it happen often or was it just once? If it's recurring, yeah, chances are you're doing something nasty to the grid datastructures you shouldn't be doing. Or are you just using unusual arena sizes?
If it was just once, meh, ignore it. It shouldn't be happening, but floating point quantum fluctuations can be weird sometimes.
Of course, if you can reproduce it with regular code (sty+ct counts), go ahead and send a debug recording, I'll try to fix it then.
User avatar
LOVER$BOY
Match Winner
Posts: 731
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:46 pm

Re: Alpha Project

Post by LOVER$BOY »

It keeps occurring ever match although idk why...

Maybe because the arena size is:

Code: Select all

SIZE_FACTOR 8
Image
User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11587
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: Alpha Project

Post by Z-Man »

Yeah, could be. There are bits in the relevant code that have difficulties with large sizes (I'll be fixing that now). Does it need to be so big?
User avatar
LOVER$BOY
Match Winner
Posts: 731
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:46 pm

Re: Alpha Project

Post by LOVER$BOY »

Ya! :D

It's Hyper Fast Track, taking fast track to the extreme with high speed and all.

Anyway, can anyone read this new mode I thought of making and tell me if it's possible?: http://alphaproject.au.tc/index.php?top ... 315#msg315
Image
User avatar
INW
Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1950
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 4:10 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC, USA

Re: Alpha Project

Post by INW »

Instead of having the size_factor to 6 to whatever map you are using, why not create your own square, or whatever shape grid that may be, at a larger size?
User avatar
LOVER$BOY
Match Winner
Posts: 731
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:46 pm

Re: Alpha Project

Post by LOVER$BOY »

Na... I'm not very good when it comes to knowing where the points of the maps are...
Image
User avatar
LOVER$BOY
Match Winner
Posts: 731
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:46 pm

Re: Alpha Project

Post by LOVER$BOY »

Um.. here's the fixed description of the mode: http://alphaproject.au.tc/index.php?top ... 315#msg315
Image
User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11587
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: Alpha Project

Post by Z-Man »

INW wrote:Instead of having the size_factor to 6 to whatever map you are using, why not create your own square, or whatever shape grid that may be, at a larger size?
Wouldn't make a difference anyway.
But it's not a big problem. It's just an indication that something has gone slightly unexpected when determining where a cycle currently is, there is recovery code still after that.
User avatar
LOVER$BOY
Match Winner
Posts: 731
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:46 pm

Re: Alpha Project

Post by LOVER$BOY »

Oh ok. Well, my server didn't crash so that was good.
Image
User avatar
LOVER$BOY
Match Winner
Posts: 731
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:46 pm

Re: Alpha Project

Post by LOVER$BOY »

Ah people i'm curious...

I've signed up a few people for my ~AP~ team in the CTF Brawl 14 and am still going to be trying to get more players to join.

I was wondering if I could lend one of my project servers for brawl? Is that possible?
Image
User avatar
LOVER$BOY
Match Winner
Posts: 731
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:46 pm

Re: Alpha Project

Post by LOVER$BOY »

Also, can someone explain why the --input (in the 0.2.9-sty+ct_alpha_r762) isn't working...

This is how my code is written:

start.sh

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash

loc="/home/arma/loverboy/alpha1/"
server=$loc"server/"
logs=$server"logs/"
cmd=$server"cmd.txt"
ladderlog=$loc"var/ladderlog.txt"

case $1 in
	start)
		echo "Starting Server Immediately!"
		screen -dmS sfw_server ./server.sh
		screen -dmS sfw_script ./script.sh
		;;
	stop)
		echo "Stopping Server Immediately!"
		echo "EXIT" >> $cmd
		echo "EXIT" >> $ladderlog
		sleep 1
		screen -S sfw_server -X quit
		screen -S sfw_script -X quit
		rm -rf $logs"sfw_server.log"
		rm -rf $logs"sfw_script.log"
		;;
esac
server.sh:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash

loc="/home/arma/loverboy/alpha1/"
tron=$loc"bin/armagetronad-dedicated"
server=$loc"server/"
vardir=$loc"var/"
log=$server"console.log"
ladderlog=$loc"var/ladderlog.txt"
cmd=$server"cmd.txt"         
                                 
mkdir $server"logs"
screen -S sfw_server -X logtstamp on
screen -S sfw_server -X logfile $server"logs/"sfw_server.log
screen -S sfw_server -X log on

while true; do
	$tron --vardir $vardir --input $cmd >> $log
	echo "======================== Server Restarting ========================" >> $log
	sleep 5
done
script.sh:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash

loc="/home/arma/loverboy/alpha1/"
ladderlog=$loc"var/ladderlog.txt"
cmd=$loc"server/cmd.txt"

mkdir $server"logs"
screen -S sfw_script -X logtstamp on
screen -S sfw_script -X logfile $server"logs/"sfw_script.log
screen -S sfw_script -X log on

tail -n0 -f -s 0.01 $ladderlog | php ./script.php >> $cmd
Image
User avatar
LOVER$BOY
Match Winner
Posts: 731
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:46 pm

Re: Alpha Project

Post by LOVER$BOY »

dlh said he fixed the --input problem so im happy about it :)

Now i found another problem when I was playing my mode "Kill Or Be Killed" (K.K). I was trying to use:

Code: Select all

RESPAWN_TIME 0.1
but apparently it didn't work. Strange I thought and tried 0.01 but no change. I did 1 and still not working. I kept dying without coming back to life...
Image
User avatar
LOVER$BOY
Match Winner
Posts: 731
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:46 pm

Re: Alpha Project

Post by LOVER$BOY »

Well I've been improving my mode Close Combat Shootout (CCS) so have a RPG type of style in it. Currently you can have a lot of levels and you can use certain commands at a certain level.

Currently, people can use /bombs to release 8 balls for the team (4 one team, 4 other team) and you've gotto dodge them until they disappear over time. Once used, each player will have to wait 40 seconds before recharge completes.

Now for the levels... they can be more than 100. Currently each player gains 12.5 exp for every player they kill. Everyone will get default level 1 with 50 exp to reach. As you reach new level, the exp you need to reach will increase by 50. It gets tough as you go higher. Currently, only /bombs is the only one currently available but more will be coming soon ;)

This does sound something similar to Happy Fun Time but using that style, I'm trying something weird for my CCS to get people interested.
Image
Post Reply