Been a long time, and I have a really stupid idea.

General Stuff about Armagetron, That doesn't belong anywhere else...
Cosmic Dolphin
Round Winner

Been a long time, and I have a really stupid idea.

Post by Cosmic Dolphin »

So, uh, hey. I wonder how many years it's been since I really actively played. And yes, I have been on the discord for a while now.

This game took up so much of my childhood/teen years, and I love it dearly. I will always remember it.

So, you might be wondering what my stupid idea is.
Basically, after college, I got really into speedrunning video games. Heck, I've been doing that for nearly 10 years now. A side project of that that I help with is setting up a blind tournament for speedrunners where they have an hour to do something in a game they have never seen before. It's called Kusogrande - and as you may gather from that name, it's for bad games. Armagetron Advanced is a terrific game, but I still wanted to make folks think about it again.

So, I had a wild idea pop up in my mind - why not get a collection of the worst racing maps ever made, make some of my own maps from hell, and make complete strangers to the concept of Armagetron play them for an hour since everyone who signs up for these tournaments already love pain.

This is just something in my head that I am messing with. It would be quite a while off to actually realize this. If anyone has any suggestions for bad maps or has the arena design tool still, hit me up please. I'll probably be bugging folks about how to set up a server for this idea as well. Thanks all!

Edit: Holy cow, Vectron is so much easier for making maps than what I remember using way back in the day. Glad I found that.
" Wise men talk because they have something to say; fools, because they have to say something."
-Plato
Ok, but why did I add this signature? I was like 15 and thought I was smart? What a brat.
Z-Man
God & Project Admin

Re: Been a long time, and I have a really stupid idea.

Post by Z-Man »