Sound Initialisation failed.

For all the help you need with Armagetron!
Post Reply
Count_JJ
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2019 6:30 pm

Sound Initialisation failed.

Post by Count_JJ » Sat Nov 09, 2019 7:09 pm

I am new to this fantastic game and community, so forgive my ignorance if this is something that is considered stupid to need support for. I can't seem to get sound to work for my installation of the game. I know for a fact my computer (MacBook Pro 15'' mid 2014, Running MacOS Sierra Version 10.12.6) has perfectly functional sound, I can play sound files and other games just fine. I've tried every combination of sound setting, and every time, the game gives me an error: "Sound Initialisation failed" (yes it was spelled with an s) . If anyone can please help, Its so eerie with no sound, I feel like I've gone deaf. Also I'd love to post a recording of today's sumo match on youtube, and It just doesn't sound right with...well, no sound.[img]https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/ ... 02f820.gif[/img]

User avatar
delinquent
Match Winner
Posts: 658
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 3:07 am

Re: Sound Initialisation failed.

Post by delinquent » Sun Nov 10, 2019 11:22 am

I wonder if Arma uses libSDL? I think it does, IIRC. Perhaps this might be of use to you: https://github.com/FrozenSand/UrbanTerror4/issues/295

A different game, but conceivably a similar problem.

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11220
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne, Jabber: [email protected]
Contact:

Re: Sound Initialisation failed.

Post by Z-Man » Sun Nov 10, 2019 11:39 am

delinquent wrote:I wonder if Arma uses libSDL? I think it does, IIRC.
It does.

Post Reply