DNS Resolve Error

Post here if you need help setting up your server, etc.
Post Reply
User avatar
INW
Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1950
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 4:10 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC, USA

DNS Resolve Error

Post by INW »

I have apache installed and running on my vps.

I have a webpage up and would like to host a cfg file from a subdirectory.

Lets say at /var/www/tron

I have the file tron.cfg saved in /var/www/

And I also have the correct virtual host files saved in /etc/apache2/sites-available and /etc/apache2/sites-enabled with the lines

Code: Select all

	
	DocumentRoot /var/www/
	<Directory />
		Options FollowSymLinks
		AllowOverride None
	</Directory>
	<Directory /var/www/>
edited to

Code: Select all

ServerName tron.cfg
	
	DocumentRoot /var/www/tron
	<Directory />
		Options FollowSymLinks
		AllowOverride None
	</Directory>
	<Directory /var/www/tron>
I am able to visit server_ip/tron.cfg and view the file through an internet web browser.

But when i try and rinclude the file in tron, I get this error:

Code: Select all

[1] Remote admin command by INW@forums: rinclude tron.cfg(server_ip/tron.cfg)
[1] Resource tron.cfg not found in cache. Downloading it, please be patient...
[1] Downloading server_ip/tron.cfg ...
error : Unknown IO error
[1] ERROR: Impossible to reach host of URI server_ip/tron.cfg. This may be caused by a DNS resolving issue, please report to http://forums.armagetronad.net/ if this happens with the main resource repository(http://resource.armagetronad.net/resource/).
[1] Downloading http://resource.armagetronad.net/resource/tron.cfg ...
[1] ERROR: Return value 404 : File not found.
I replaced the true web server's IP with "server_ip" and the true cfg file with "tron.cfg" for the purpose of this post and confidentiality of my project.

I am very new to this stuff and I am sure I did something wrong.
User avatar
dlh
Formerly That OS X Guy
Posts: 2035
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2004 12:05 am
Contact:

Re: DNS Resolve Error

Post by dlh »

Try including the http:// prefix in your rinclude line:

Code: Select all

rinclude tron.cfg(http://server_ip/tron.cfg)
User avatar
INW
Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1950
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 4:10 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC, USA

Re: DNS Resolve Error

Post by INW »

dlh wrote:Try including the http:// prefix in your rinclude line:

Code: Select all

rinclude tron.cfg(http://server_ip/tron.cfg)
Solved my problem.

Thanks very much.
Post Reply