Creating a Dedicated Server

Post here if you need help setting up your server, etc.
noodles
On Lightcycle Grid

Creating a Dedicated Server

Post by noodles »

Hello all, i am Australian and as some of you might have realized, there aren't any Australian servers out there. I wish to create an Aussie server BUT i have zero experience in setting up a dedicated server.

i have downloaded the dedicated server for mac and have the newest version of tron. if anyone can direct me to a page with codes for rubber, speed, acceleration ect; or a step by step introduction on creating a dedicated server i would greatly appreciate it.
Z-Man
God & Project Admin

Post by Z-Man »

A good starting point is the guide on the wiki.
noodles
On Lightcycle Grid

Post by noodles »

thankyou, im only 16 and i know nothing about programing so i hope this wont be too complex for me =s
noodles
On Lightcycle Grid

Post by noodles »

also looking at this wiki site, can i just ask a straight forward question.

Will i be able to host a dedicated server from my computer without paying anyone.

And do i have any hope at getting this server up and running XD.
Z-Man
God & Project Admin

Post by Z-Man »

noodles wrote:Will i be able to host a dedicated server from my computer without paying anyone.
Depends. You'll still have to pay your ISP for the internet connection, and probably very much if you don't have a flat fee. But assuming you do have a flat feel, you don't have to play extra for the server. You'll also produce extra cost for the electricity bill if you want to have the server up all of the time. Depending on the price of electricity where you live and your machine (MacBooks and Powerbooks are good, IMacs are in between, MacPros are very bad), that can range between 1$ per month and 20$ per month. If you tell us the data (machine type, electricity cost, intended server uptime), we can give you an estimate, so you can ask whoever pays this bill for permission.