New to this

Anything about how you get those awesome core-dumps, or why you don't get them...
Jamosup

New to this

Post by Jamosup »

Hey, i'm new to this thing. Just what is waiting for rubber? Is it an excuse for camping? :!: Or is it something else?
Jamosup: Blue
(Still a newbie)
Z-Man
God & Project Admin

Post by Z-Man »

Camping is a very controversial topic :) There is no consensus what it actually is. But waiting for rubber is simply this: you are semi-trapped and want to escape, but your rubber is quite used up. So instead of storming out directly, you wait around a bit (provided you have room) and then try to squeeze out, reasoning your chances for survival are better then. To the casual observer who does not see the trapped player's rubber meter, this looks like trying to survive as long as possible in the bit of space you've got, which is considered camping by some. Opinions vary depending on who you ask, what the server's settings are and how many players are left alive. I don't even think there is perfect consensus on whether waiting for rubber to restore already is camping in itself.
Jonathan
A Brave Victim

Post by Jonathan »

Camping is controversial indeed, and people tend to bend the definition of such words so that it reflects what they (don't) want at that time. In that regard it's similar to lag, a quick-to-type word that has become so ambiguous that it's meaningless. Fortunately it's mostly the degree of campiness in case of camping.
ˌɑrməˈɡɛˌtrɑn
Kanore

Post by Kanore »

z-man wrote: I don't even think there is perfect consensus on whether waiting for rubber to restore already is camping in itself.
Well in that case it would depend on the server's admins then ^^
Formerly known as Kan|mbc|. I'm back.
HEXadecimal
Core Dumper

Post by HEXadecimal »

tell me, what are peoples stance on bieng in a very big box waiting for someone to die and free you.
Z-Man
God & Project Admin

Post by Z-Man »