help with axes

For all the help you need with Armagetron!
Post Reply
Crazy
Core Dumper
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 6:24 am

help with axes

Post by Crazy »

so i know that you can put your axes on angles so that a square would look like this:
Edit: the - are spaces, doesn't view properly if i use spaces so....
|\
|--\
|----\
|------\
-\------|
---\----|
-----\--|
-------\|
but is it possible to set the turning for each direction

ie. have turn left=4 axes or 90 degrees, and turn right=8 axes or 45 degrees?
User avatar
DDMJ
Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1882
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 12:15 am
Location: LA, CA, USA, NA
Contact:

Re: help with axes

Post by DDMJ »

|\
|--\
|----\
|------\
-\------|
---\----|
-----\--|
-------\|
Crazy
Core Dumper
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 6:24 am

Re: help with axes

Post by Crazy »

oh, very clever of you...
duh, why didn't i think of that

but that doesn't answer my question=(
User avatar
sinewav
Graphic Artist
Posts: 6413
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 3:37 am
Contact:

Post by sinewav »

Try HERE

Notice the <Axes> in the map data.

Code: Select all

<Axes number="4" normalize="false">
   <Axis angle="45"/>
   <Axis angle="0"/>
   <Axis angle="225"/>
   <Axis angle="180"/>
</Axes>
Oh, and even though I think it's obvious, please make sure your wall segments fall on the same angles. :wink:
Crazy
Core Dumper
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 6:24 am

Post by Crazy »

no, i know how to that...

i want to know how to make ALL RIGHTS lets say 45 degrees, and ALL LEFTS equal lets say 12 degrees

no you kinda get what i mean?



sorry, i sometimes have troubles communicating clearly what i mean/am trying to ask....
User avatar
kyle
Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1876
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 3:33 pm
Location: Indiana, USA, Earth, Milky Way Galaxy, Universe, Multiverse
Contact:

Post by kyle »

hack the source code :P
Crazy
Core Dumper
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 6:24 am

Post by Crazy »

with all the things i wanna do, i may as well just write a new one.... =P

can someone do it for me?

im alittle short on time =(

exams coming soon, right after holidays



but, is there any other way?
User avatar
Tank Program
Forum & Project Admin, PhD
Posts: 6711
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 7:03 pm

Post by Tank Program »

I don't think there's another way to do it, but it sounds like a very interesting idea. It would require people to pay a tiny bit more attention while playing.
Image
User avatar
Jonathan
A Brave Victim
Posts: 3391
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 12:50 am
Location: Not really lurking anymore

Post by Jonathan »

Maybe allow an axis to specify which axes are on its "left" and "right" and maybe in other directions if you want to go crazy (e.g. four keys corresponding to compass directions). The default would look somewhat like a circularly & doubly linked list.

You could also say that right turns pick the axis x steps to the right while right turns use y. Default would be x=1 and y=-1 or so. This is a subset of the above, and could serve as an intermediate default layer (it itself having default offsets, and being the default of the "linked turns" above). But there shouldn't be too many ways to accomplish the same thing.

I'm just a little worried that, well, <insert Phytotron post here>.
ˌɑrməˈɡɛˌtrɑn
Crazy
Core Dumper
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 6:24 am

Post by Crazy »

hehe, or maybe disable the use of right/left turns (ie. that side =360 or 0 degrees)

this would be for a roulette type server=)

or for tricky racing, confuse players, hehe, 4 rights then a left in the map, then they find out that there left turn doesn't work=P

maybe in future versions of map code, the left=#degrees and right=#degrees could be put in to use instead of the current ways of controlling axes
User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11585
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Post by Z-Man »

You'd definitely need to mod the client for this as well, or there will be ugly prediction errors. And boy, it's going to be tough. Your best approach would be to just let a left turn command trigger two real left turns. Getting them executed on the same spot without generally setting CYCLE_DELAY to 0 would be difficult, too.

And admittedly, I don't get the point. All you're doing is making the controls unintuitive. I can't remember when that ever was a good idea. Now get off ma lawn!
Crazy
Core Dumper
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 6:24 am

Post by Crazy »

yeah, it is ugly, i remember what it looked like when i accidentally changed a 6 axes map's file so the server still said 6 axes, but the one on my computer thought 4...

ok, anyway I could set it up so 1 left triggers 2 (or more)?


hehe, i wanted to give players a challenge, plus, it kinda simulates going on a track that has cross overs, but the players can't shortcut through it...

so they have to do this

instead of taking a shortcut, and doing this [ ]

its my way to compensate for not being able to make 3D maps =)

Bigger versions:

╔═→═╗__----╔═→═╗
_________-___---
╚═←═╬═←═╬═←═╝
_____-_____
╔═→═╬═→ •╠═→═╗
_________-____-
╚═←═╝__----╚═←═╝

_____-╔═←═╗
_____-_____
_____-╚═→ •╠═→═╗
___________-____-
_________----╚═←═╝
Post Reply