Wild West CTF bug

Topics and posts about all other servers...
Word
Reverse Adjust Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 4181
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 6:13 pm

Re: Wild West CTF bug

Post by Word »

kyle wrote:My problem with running it is getting that exact 0.4 version.
0.4_alpha_z2069
http://sourceforge.net/projects/armaget ... pha_z2069/

Word
Reverse Adjust Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 4181
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 6:13 pm

Re: Wild West CTF bug

Post by Word »

Hey, Magi and I were just playing in Ww CTF Texas and the bug still occurs. I'm even using the newest 0.4 version I found on sourceforge now.

User avatar
Magi
Match Winner
Posts: 632
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 9:35 pm

Re: Wild West CTF bug

Post by Magi »

Word wrote:Hey, Magi and I were just playing in Ww CTF Texas and the bug still occurs. I'm even using the newest 0.4 version I found on sourceforge now.
I'm also using the mot recent 0.4 version, we went over some things that we thought were potential triggers, too many binds didn't seem to cause it by itself. We tried another time where a player died a lot and we kept respawning them, then it went to the deathzone spawn and we crashed on the following round. I've seen this crash happen in servers that don't have respawns or death zone timers. So a possible thought might be some sort of maxed out memory per round or something, not sure just throwing out ideas.
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image

bye

User avatar
kyle
Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1859
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 3:33 pm
Location: Indiana, USA, Earth, Milky Way Galaxy, Universe, Multiverse
Contact:

Re: Wild West CTF bug

Post by kyle »

Word wrote:I played Ww CTF Texas and the bug still occurs. Debug recording here (recorded with 0.4, you should be able to fastforward at least 6 minutes):
https://www.dropbox.com/s/hm393yiwpzji7 ... aarec?dl=0
Finally watched it. ( about 860 seconds into it ) I wish you would have played the round with the bug, but the only thing I noticed in particular was that you picked up the flag after the round had been won. Really at the last few seconds before the grid was cleared.

Also that server does not use RESPAWN_TIME at all, it is just respawned by base zone entry. I did not apply any patches to the logic on that, so maybe preventing flag pickup after there is a winner. Finally i should apply the limitations the the base zone respawn after a winner has been set, may also be something that would be useful.
Image

Word
Reverse Adjust Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 4181
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 6:13 pm

Re: Wild West CTF bug

Post by Word »

Then I'm gonna make another one where I stay until that round is over.

User avatar
ConVicT
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 1004
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 2:33 am

Re: Wild West CTF bug

Post by ConVicT »

As I've mentioned, I've only experienced this bug in HFT.
Kyle wrote:Also that server does not use RESPAWN_TIME at all
I don't remember this bug ever happening before the CTF map was added in HFT, and HFT had RESPAWN_TIME (but then again it would happen when the ctf map wasn't even loaded).

Magi, it can't have anything to do with "too many binds"... I have people in my server that have customised their bot to do 1000 turns per second, (it won't get through them all, but how much quicker can it get). Point being, it's never happened in my server with no respawn_time, and damn that's a sh!t load of binds.
Stop sticking to your gun when your gun is stuck!

User avatar
kyle
Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1859
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 3:33 pm
Location: Indiana, USA, Earth, Milky Way Galaxy, Universe, Multiverse
Contact:

Re: Wild West CTF bug

Post by kyle »

Z-Man wrote:Sounds like you may be on the right track. I never got that far.
Maybe not, there is also still the possibility that the server created the cycles, sends them, but those packets get lost.

And reading this and that thread, I am wondering if that is the case, since the server knows about the cycle, the client does not, it just like you said on that thread, did the server send it? Did the client receive, did the the client fail to process it?
Image

User avatar
ConVicT
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 1004
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 2:33 am

Re: Wild West CTF bug

Post by ConVicT »

I think that could be the problem.
Ever tried to connect to server and your client just crashes (for no apparent reason)?

Could it just be a persons' connection at a particularly crucial time?

User avatar
kyle
Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1859
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 3:33 pm
Location: Indiana, USA, Earth, Milky Way Galaxy, Universe, Multiverse
Contact:

Re: Wild West CTF bug

Post by kyle »

My brawl server has some extra debugging enabled, so if you want to try to have it happen there, let me know a time and I can check it out.
Image

Word
Reverse Adjust Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 4181
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 6:13 pm

Re: Wild West CTF bug

Post by Word »

Let's all go there today 19 pm GMT?

User avatar
kyle
Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1859
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 3:33 pm
Location: Indiana, USA, Earth, Milky Way Galaxy, Universe, Multiverse
Contact:

Re: Wild West CTF bug

Post by kyle »

I cannot make it at the time, but I'll check the logs then.
Image

Word
Reverse Adjust Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 4181
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 6:13 pm

Re: Wild West CTF bug

Post by Word »

Er, I just noticed that the CTF brawl starts just 45 minutes later. Then you can just take that data, I guess. That should suffice, shouldn't it? I guess the other server owners can use the Brawl to gather data on this as well.

User avatar
Magi
Match Winner
Posts: 632
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 9:35 pm

Re: Wild West CTF bug

Post by Magi »

Black screened every round that went to time and the deathzone spawned, rounds that the deathzone didn't spawn I didn't crash, although that was only like once.
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image

bye

User avatar
kyle
Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1859
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 3:33 pm
Location: Indiana, USA, Earth, Milky Way Galaxy, Universe, Multiverse
Contact:

Re: Wild West CTF bug

Post by kyle »

all of the brawl server that were used were compguys, so there was not any extra debugging information on them.

mine is
nyc.armatourney.net:4550

currently named
CTF BRAWL 48 ( Kyle's NYC )
but within the next day or 2 I will probably change it to
Kyle's CTF Bugfarm and use the same settings as WW

But either say bug or post a time here and I'll take a look.
Image

User avatar
Renegade
Core Dumper
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 7:44 pm

Re: Wild West CTF bug

Post by Renegade »

I'll hop on there tomorrow, and hopefully get a game going, need me to do a debug recording too? Any specific client I should use?
Image

Post Reply