Servers Down (Temporarily)

Striving for unique and challenging game play.

Moderator: sinewav

User avatar
Phytotron
Formerly Oscilloscope
Posts: 5041
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 10:06 pm
Location: A site or situation, especially considered in regard to its surroundings.
Contact:

Re: Servers Down (Temporarily)

Post by Phytotron » Mon Jan 17, 2011 11:54 pm

Woohoo! Glad to see Original Arcade is back along with'em.

Indeed, the server browser has been in a bleak state. No good servers left. Into it life is breathed.



EDIT: King, I tell you!

User avatar
sinewav
Graphic Artist
Posts: 6199
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 3:37 am
Contact:

Re: Servers Down (Temporarily)

Post by sinewav » Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:44 am

Phytotron wrote:EDIT: King, I tell you!
You do it on purpose. I'm sure of it. :)

User avatar
Phytotron
Formerly Oscilloscope
Posts: 5041
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 10:06 pm
Location: A site or situation, especially considered in regard to its surroundings.
Contact:

Re: Servers Down (Temporarily)

Post by Phytotron » Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:54 am

Heh, I don't even know what effects the page break. Is it number of posts or length of page?

User avatar
INW
Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1949
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 4:10 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC, USA

Re: Servers Down (Temporarily)

Post by INW » Tue Jan 18, 2011 1:42 am

Phytotron wrote:Heh, I don't even know what effects the page break. Is it number of posts or length of page?
Number of posts. I think it is set by default on your profile at 10 posts per page. I think you can change it.

User avatar
Jonathan
A Brave Victim
Posts: 3392
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 12:50 am
Location: Not really lurking anymore

Re: Servers Down (Temporarily)

Post by Jonathan » Tue Jan 18, 2011 3:06 am

15 posts to the page, not normally changeable as far as I know.

One thing I notice is that Phytotron is a 'bursty' kind of poster. One moment he's dormant, and the next moment he can dominate a thread. That won't make a break more likely per post, but it does mean he'll see a break every few times he participates. He might also be more inclined to post on a full page. Also some confirmation bias, I guess. :)
ˌɑrməˈɡɛˌtrɑn

User avatar
Phytotron
Formerly Oscilloscope
Posts: 5041
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 10:06 pm
Location: A site or situation, especially considered in regard to its surroundings.
Contact:

Re: Servers Down (Temporarily)

Post by Phytotron » Wed Jan 19, 2011 12:40 am

Jonathan wrote:Also some confirmation bias, I guess. :)
Yes, I'm sure. It's just idly amusing.

User avatar
Mkay1
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 1146
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 4:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Servers Down (Temporarily)

Post by Mkay1 » Thu Feb 17, 2011 11:15 pm

Should be called Adventures of Inmates. btw this is my normal rim_wall texture. I could not get it to a solid color, so I made due with this.
Attachments
screenshot_91.png

User avatar
sinewav
Graphic Artist
Posts: 6199
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 3:37 am
Contact:

Re: Servers Down (Temporarily)

Post by sinewav » Fri Feb 18, 2011 12:32 am

Looks cool!
Mkay1 wrote:Should be called Adventures of Inmates. btw this is my normal rim_wall texture. I could not get it to a solid color, so I made due with this.
What?! Inmates? Why can't you get your rim_wall a solid color? You need help?

User avatar
Mkay1
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 1146
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 4:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Servers Down (Temporarily)

Post by Mkay1 » Fri Feb 18, 2011 12:40 am

It looks like a penitentiary. All the inmates are given numbers, to feel like they have no significance. :P No, I have got used to it, only reason to change to a solid color would be to increase my fps by 5 or so. In fact, that would be great if it did. btw its filter --> render clouds

User avatar
sinewav
Graphic Artist
Posts: 6199
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 3:37 am
Contact:

Re: Servers Down (Temporarily)

Post by sinewav » Fri Feb 18, 2011 1:35 am

Mkay1 wrote:btw its filter --> render clouds
:roll: Yeah, I know. That filter is probably older than you. It made it's first appearance in Adobe Photoshop 3.0, back in 1994.

User avatar
Phytotron
Formerly Oscilloscope
Posts: 5041
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 10:06 pm
Location: A site or situation, especially considered in regard to its surroundings.
Contact:

Re: Servers Down (Temporarily)

Post by Phytotron » Fri Feb 18, 2011 1:41 am

Er, that shows 106 FPS. That's at minimum 31 frames to spare. And you could probably free up more, depending on what all you've got going on.

What server is that, anyway?

User avatar
sinewav
Graphic Artist
Posts: 6199
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 3:37 am
Contact:

Re: Servers Down (Temporarily)

Post by sinewav » Fri Feb 18, 2011 2:01 am

AI Challenge

User avatar
Phytotron
Formerly Oscilloscope
Posts: 5041
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 10:06 pm
Location: A site or situation, especially considered in regard to its surroundings.
Contact:

Re: Servers Down (Temporarily)

Post by Phytotron » Fri Feb 18, 2011 2:33 am

Oh, ok. I've only gone in there once or twice by myself. Didn't quite get it.

User avatar
Mkay1
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 1146
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 4:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Servers Down (Temporarily)

Post by Mkay1 » Fri Feb 18, 2011 2:35 am

109 with me alone in the server. During ladles I get ~30-40 fps. This is with screen res half of my screen size. Most of my settings are to increase fps, like a blank tail instead of a graphic. For fun I changed the color of the top of the cycle to green. That won't affect fps, however.

User avatar
sinewav
Graphic Artist
Posts: 6199
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 3:37 am
Contact:

Re: Servers Down (Temporarily)

Post by sinewav » Tue Aug 30, 2011 7:24 am

All AoT servers are temporarily down. Should be back on-line in a few days (I think).

Thank you,
Management.

Post Reply