Armagoshdarns server settings

Here you can discuss Armagoshdarn, settings specific to it, what you think about it, etc.

Moderator: Verement

User avatar
Lucifer
Project Developer & Local Moonshiner
Posts: 8610
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 3:32 pm
Location: Republic of Texas
Contact:

Re: Armagoshdarns server settings

Post by Lucifer »

I have servers to work with.

But keep yours in the running when we start talking official servers again.
Image

Be the devil's own, Lucifer's my name.
- Iron Maiden

User avatar
Lucifer
Project Developer & Local Moonshiner
Posts: 8610
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 3:32 pm
Location: Republic of Texas
Contact:

Re: Armagoshdarns server settings

Post by Lucifer »

I have Breakfast in Austin setup to run these settings.

It needs a lot of tweaks, but please provide feedback. I guess here is a good place.
Image

Be the devil's own, Lucifer's my name.
- Iron Maiden

User avatar
vov
Match Winner
Posts: 562
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 8:40 pm

Re: Armagoshdarns server settings

Post by vov »

I can't find it on the master list right now, does it have a different name? (I assumed "Breakfast in Austin", maybe I'm blind/stupid)

User avatar
Lucifer
Project Developer & Local Moonshiner
Posts: 8610
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 3:32 pm
Location: Republic of Texas
Contact:

Re: Armagoshdarns server settings

Post by Lucifer »

No, ive been having problems getting it public.

Z-man: do the master server logs say anything helpful?
Image

Be the devil's own, Lucifer's my name.
- Iron Maiden

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11381
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: Armagoshdarns server settings

Post by Z-Man »

That's the hits in full on one of your last IPs:

Code: Select all

[2015/02/22 06:19:04] [33] Received new server: 66.68.48.14:4534
[2015/02/22 06:19:06] [2] Received login from 66.68.48.14:4534 via socket *.*.*.*:4533, network version: 0.2.8.3.X (ID: 16).
[2015/02/22 06:19:06] [33] Updated server: 66.68.48.14:4534
[2015/02/22 06:19:07] [2] Acknowledged server: 66.68.48.14:4534, name: "Breakfast in Austin"
[2015/02/22 06:19:07] [33] Updated server: 66.68.48.14:4534
[2015/02/22 06:19:07] [33] Updated server: 66.68.48.14:4534
[2015/02/22 06:19:09] [2] Updated server: 66.68.48.14:4534
[2015/02/22 06:19:09] [2] Killing user 2, ping 0.490754, IP 66.68.48.14:4534: You logged out regularly.
[2015/02/22 06:25:56] [1] Received login from 66.68.48.14:45443 via socket *.*.*.*:4533, network version: unknown (ID: 22).
[2015/02/22 06:26:05] [2] Received login from 66.68.48.14:4534 via socket *.*.*.*:4533, network version: 0.2.8.3.X (ID: 16).
[2015/02/22 06:26:08] [2] Updated server: 66.68.48.14:4534
[2015/02/22 06:26:08] [2] Killing user 2, ping 0.491396, IP 66.68.48.14:4534: You logged out regularly.
[2015/02/22 06:27:06] [1] Killing user 1, ping 0.238267, IP 66.68.48.14:45443: Server list transfer complete.
[2015/02/22 06:29:28] [2] Received login from 66.68.48.14:4534 via socket *.*.*.*:4533, network version: 0.2.8.3.X (ID: 16).
[2015/02/22 06:29:32] [2] Updated server: 66.68.48.14:4534
[2015/02/22 06:29:32] [2] Killing user 2, ping 0.350791, IP 66.68.48.14:4534: You logged out regularly.
[2015/02/22 06:52:38] [33] Updated server: 66.68.48.14:4534
[2015/02/22 07:57:20] [33] Updated server: 66.68.48.14:4534
[2015/02/22 07:57:25] [0] Starting to lose contact with server: 66.68.48.14:4534, name "Breakfast in Austin"
[2015/02/22 07:57:25] [33] Acknowledged server: 66.68.48.14:4534, name: "Breakfast in Austin"
[2015/02/22 07:57:25] [33] Updated server: 66.68.48.14:4534
[2015/02/22 11:43:19] [0] Starting to lose contact with server: 66.68.48.14:4534, name "Breakfast in Austin"
[2015/02/22 13:43:32] [0] Lost contact with server: 66.68.48.14:4534
So it was up and reachable. But your IP has changed since and no contact came from the new one; if your IP is highly dynamic, you either need to set a reasonably short DEDICATED_IDLE time (like 1) or set up a dynamic DNS and set SERVER_DNS to that (that will also make server bookmarks work).

Also, when you're done with the game server and have dynamic DNS, set up another master :) Right now, I run three of our four registered ones, and at least one of them is going to go away soon.

User avatar
Lucifer
Project Developer & Local Moonshiner
Posts: 8610
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 3:32 pm
Location: Republic of Texas
Contact:

Re: Armagoshdarns server settings

Post by Lucifer »

I'll see about that.

As for a master server, neal has already offered for me to run one on his server. So, i guess I'll get that setup. ;)
Image

Be the devil's own, Lucifer's my name.
- Iron Maiden

User avatar
Lucifer
Project Developer & Local Moonshiner
Posts: 8610
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 3:32 pm
Location: Republic of Texas
Contact:

Re: Armagoshdarns server settings

Post by Lucifer »

I have one running. Haven't tested to see if I can connect to it, but it's at armagetron.davefancella.com. If you point DNS at it, you should do it as a redirect to that host.

I'll see about testing it in a bit. Dinner's ready. ;)
Image

Be the devil's own, Lucifer's my name.
- Iron Maiden

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11381
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: Armagoshdarns server settings

Post by Z-Man »

Feeding the new master with the current server list; I'll install the CNAME dns tomorrow when it is full.

There seems to be a silly bug where the master does not close the connection if not enough servers are on the list (at least I assume that's the reason). I'll fix that.

Edit: And done; you'll need to rebuild the master with the fix. It wasn't the underpopulated list, it was leftover code from the old, old days where the KRAWALL network would have run the master server; they insisted on authentication. There was old code for that in an inopportune place, conditionally compiled only if armathentication is enabled: Clients would not be disconnected while they have not authenticated yet. And since the real world clients don't authenticate to the master, that never happened.
The fix is in 0.2.8. You should use that for the master; with 0.4, users get a "YOU SHOULD UPGRADE" console message. Also, propagating the fix typically takes a day or two.
(My masters are all compiled with authentication disabled.)

User avatar
Lucifer
Project Developer & Local Moonshiner
Posts: 8610
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 3:32 pm
Location: Republic of Texas
Contact:

Re: Armagoshdarns server settings

Post by Lucifer »

I'll do that when i get home.
Image

Be the devil's own, Lucifer's my name.
- Iron Maiden

User avatar
Phytotron
Formerly Oscilloscope
Posts: 5041
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 10:06 pm
Location: A site or situation, especially considered in regard to its surroundings.
Contact:

Re: Armagoshdarns server settings

Post by Phytotron »

Lucifer wrote:There's another thread to find, the one where the admin posted the settings when he took down the server.

That server ran in 0.2.5.something. IshAdmin never posted the settings for Armagoshdarnish in 0.2.6, which is the server I started on, so this is where we have to start.

This is probably a job for Phytotron.
<<<<SWOOOSHES IN>>>>


So, already posted this in another thread, but on the subject of Armagoshdarn, you may want to note my comments here (which in a totally meta fashion links back to this very thread). You can probably just search my posts for "goshdarn" and find other stuff. There was a period there when I was looking into doing a recreation of Armagoshdarn in 0.2.8.x, but never actualized it. I'm trying to catch up on the forum right now, but I'll try to dig around a little more later.


EDIT: Oh, just noticed the Verement thread. :P

User avatar
/dev/null
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 820
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 6:28 pm
Location: Chicago-ish

Re: Armagoshdarns server settings

Post by /dev/null »

I can bring world of hate back if anyone has a socket 775 laying around they dont need. I figured out why my server kept crashing, my motherboard was a piece of shit. Thats what you get when you dumpster dive for parts it seems.

I cant put it on my employers machines, they are kind of dicks about letting me use thier unused cpu/bandwidth

The only other option left to me is to put it on an ancient amd thunderbird. and its motherboard is pretty shaky too. Half the time it doesnt even post when you turn it on.

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11381
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: Armagoshdarns server settings

Post by Z-Man »

Lucifer's master seems to work fine now, so I CNAMEd it. It's master4.armagetronad.org.

Post Reply