1v1 SB Sumo Thread(Post Scores + No Shows + Server Problems)

A place for threads related to tournaments and the like, and things related too.

Moderator: Light

Post Reply
Cody
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 959
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 6:43 am

1v1 SB Sumo Thread(Post Scores + No Shows + Server Problems)

Post by Cody »

This will be the last time I will be hosting the 1v1 Single Binding Sumo Tournament. So lets make it a good one :)

Website:http://1v1sb.weebly.com
Sign-ups:http://1v1sb.weebly.com/sign-up.html
Rules:http://1v1sb.weebly.com/rules.html
Brackets:http://wiki.armagetronad.net/index.php? ... 1v1Bracket


~Official Times~
Opening Round Round 1

Code: Select all

GMT: 17:00PM(5PM)
EDT: 1:00PM
CDT: 12:00PM(Noon)
MDT: 11:00AM
PDT: 10:00AM
MST: 10:00AM (Important if you live in some parts of AZ)
Opening Round Round 2

Code: Select all

GMT: 17:35PM(5:35PM)
EDT: 1:35PM
CDT: 12:35PM(Noon)
MDT: 11:35AM
PDT: 10:35AM
MST: 10:35AM (Important if you live in some parts of AZ)

Round 2 Starting Time

Code: Select all

GMT: 18:05PM(6:05PM)
EDT: 2:05PM
CDT: 1:05PM
MDT: 12:05PM(Noon)
PDT: 11:05AM
MST: 11:05AM
Last edited by Cody on Sun Sep 25, 2011 3:44 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
INW
Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1950
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 4:10 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC, USA

Re: 1v1 SB Sumo Tournament September 25th

Post by INW »

So we got the ladle, mega team sumo, 1v1SB, and FFCUP?

I feel tired already!

Cody
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 959
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 6:43 am

Re: 1v1 SB Sumo Tournament September 25th

Post by Cody »

it will be fine! this will be 10x easier then the 1v1 64, we only got 8 servers to look out for.

User avatar
Kijutsu
Match Winner
Posts: 676
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 6:37 pm

Re: 1v1 SB Sumo Tournament September 25th

Post by Kijutsu »

Put a server up so we can practice?

Cody
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 959
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 6:43 am

Re: 1v1 SB Sumo Tournament September 25th

Post by Cody »

BUMP sign-up, 12 spots left.

User avatar
sinewav
Graphic Artist
Posts: 6258
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 3:37 am
Contact:

Re: 1v1 SB Sumo Tournament September 25th

Post by sinewav »

Since we've had yet another question about transparency, and your last event was the catalyst, can you please take some time to be forthcoming about your methods for running the tournament? Those last few slots might be hard to fill if people still feel burned by your previous comments.

Cody
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 959
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 6:43 am

Re: 1v1 SB Sumo Tournament September 25th

Post by Cody »

Um i don't think anyone is burned by my defending comments.... I think its a little harsh to say that. This tournament is a small tournament that a selective group of people play. I'm not making this tournament unfair by any means. I do randomize the brackets. I then(if needed) seed to make a best out come of a final, but that doesn't mean people get free rides. I don't want durka vsing olive or xyron in the opening round. I want my finals to be worth it in this tournament. The two tronners that make it to the finals in this tournament DESERVE to be in the final. Cause it indeed is not an easy ride.

Besides so what if i seed a couple people, you're going have to face them eventually(if you win and they win of course but just saying, there is a chance)

I don't think what im doing is rigging, its randomizing + seeding to make the best out come of a final. Also again its not a free ride, you have to work to make it to the finals in this tournament.

I'm not being mean by any means, but some people don't like this method, and that's okay. they don't have to sign-up, i'm not going to get a pitch fork and go ballistic, then there are people who do like my method. I for one wouldn't mind if tournaments were randomized then seeded for a best out come for a final makes me wanna win harder. In fact Ladle pops in to my mind. Thats basically what im doing. just randomizing ALL teams first and seeing what the outcome is.(i guess its easier to go ahead and put them in the bracket and randomize the rest of the teams.
Last edited by Cody on Mon Sep 12, 2011 8:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Cody
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 959
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 6:43 am

Re: 1v1 SB Sumo Tournament September 25th

Post by Cody »

9 spots left.

Post a reply
Your message contains 13 characters. The minimum number of characters you need to enter is 21.

User avatar
ppotter
Match Winner
Posts: 450
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 12:45 am

Re: 1v1 SB Sumo Tournament September 25th

Post by ppotter »

You should seed them before randomising the others.

Cody
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 959
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 6:43 am

Re: 1v1 SB Sumo Tournament September 25th

Post by Cody »

ppotter wrote:You should seed them before randomising the others.
its what im going to start doing. ^ :)

dariv
Round Winner
Posts: 316
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 2:24 pm

Re: 1v1 SB Sumo Tournament September 25th

Post by dariv »

Yeah I get that you didn't want the two finalists playing in the first round but it sucks for the guys you moved to replace them.
pLxDari - Challenge us!

User avatar
dreadlord
Match Winner
Posts: 585
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 12:26 am
Location: Germany

Re: 1v1 SB Sumo Tournament September 25th

Post by dreadlord »

Don't you think that there will be a good final match-up anyway, even if you let the brackets be as they are? I mean, the probability that there is one "good" player in the upper and one "good" player in the lower bracket is very high. Well, I do not really mind because I will play in this tournament in any case, yet it would possibly be a solution so there is noone complaining furthermore.

Gonzap
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 916
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 3:08 pm

Re: 1v1 SB Sumo Tournament September 25th

Post by Gonzap »

so if you are not skilled then just don't sign up right cody? Because if you move durka or olive you have to move them somewhere. Probably to some poor noob in one of the sides of brackets that could have gone further and have more fun, but he faces durka or xyron and then he loses in the first round. This really suck.

Cody
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 959
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 6:43 am

Re: 1v1 SB Sumo Tournament September 25th

Post by Cody »

Gonzap wrote:so if you are not skilled then just don't sign up right cody? Because if you move durka or olive you have to move them somewhere. Probably to some poor noob in one of the sides of brackets that could have gone further and have more fun, but he faces durka or xyron and then he loses in the first round. This really suck.
Well in this tournament yeah, don't sign up if you can't single bind well(its kind of like signing up for a basket ball game and yet you don't know how to play basket ball)


Also gonzap, your argument is invalid, SOMEONE ALWAYS HAS to play durka or olive or xyron in ANY tournament.

Since you're all about having fun how about next ladle,CT loses to ID or uNa or hey even DpG! so they can go further and have fun :)

User avatar
Slov
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 934
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 12:32 pm

Re: 1v1 SB Sumo Tournament September 25th

Post by Slov »

liar.. why would you put Durka with you in the first round, if you want to make the most interesting finals?
.pG (only like, the best clan ever)

my mixtape fire tho

Post Reply