Pig Sty Patch

The Sty server, let us know your thoughts, suggestions...

Moderator: the pig

User avatar
Ratchet
Match Winner
Posts: 780
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 5:55 am
Contact:

Post by Ratchet »

Wow, this topic is in 2006, well I have a question. I am learning C++, and was wondering, are these patches in c++ lol?
Image
"Dream as if you'll live forever,
Live as if you'll die today." -James Dean

User avatar
wrtlprnft
Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1679
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 4:42 am
Location: 0x08048000
Contact:

Post by wrtlprnft »

The entire game is C++, so the patches are, too.
There's no place like ::1

superkikim
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 1:40 pm

Fast Track CTF

Post by superkikim »

Hi,

I would like to make a CTF server hosted in europe.

I can't find the SVN source, and I'm not sure I will be able to do all what needs to be done.

Can anyone help me ? compile it for me ? or tell me step by step where to find the files and how to do it on Fedora Core 4 ?

I would mostly appreciate your help.

User avatar
ivantis
Round Winner
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 2:33 pm
Contact:

Post by ivantis »

well, i had this same problem.
do the Linux command "bzr branch http://bazaar.launchpad.net/~armagetron ... tronad-sty";
cd into the new folder named 0.2.8-armagetronad-sty ("cd 0.2.8-armagetronad-sty");
do "./bootstrap.sh";
do "./configure --prefix=$prefix --disable-glout --enable-automakedefaults --disable-sysinstall --disable-etc --disable-useradd --disable-initscripts" and replace $prefix with the full path to where you want it installed;
do "make";
do "make install";
and you are done! cd to what you put as $prefix and from there cd to ./bin, do ./armagetronad-dedicated and the server will start! config is kept in $prefix/etc, resource and language in $prefix/share/games/armagetronad-dedicated or something
Image
Image
Image

superkikim
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 1:40 pm

Post by superkikim »

Thank you.

the bzr command gives me the followin result:

bzr: ERROR: Unknown branch format: 'Bazaar Branch Format 6 (bzr 0.15)\n'

Any idea why ?

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11262
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne, Jabber: [email protected]
Contact:

Post by Z-Man »

Yes, your version of bzr is too old. Try to get hold of 1.0 to 1.5, whatever is easiest for you to get. 1.5 is the official current stable version.

superkikim
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 1:40 pm

Post by superkikim »

Bazaar installation drive me crazy...

bzr is version 0.9 on Fedora Core 4, installed with yum install bzr. So I removed it (yum remove bzr).

With yum install bazaar, I get version 1.4.2 but it doesn't run. Here is the result of YUM:

Code: Select all

Installed: bazaar.i386 0:1.4.2-7.fc4
Dependency Installed: gnupg2.i386 0:1.9.22-8.fc4 gpgme.i386 0:1.1.2-4.fc4 libksba.i386 0:0.9.15-2.fc4 pinentry.i386 0:0.7.1-4 pth.i386 0:2.0.6-1.fc4
Complete!
But when I try to run bazaar or bzr, it says command not found...

When I try to find bazaar or bzr (find / -name "bazaar" or find / -name "bzr"), it can't find anything... So.... I don't get it...

EDIT: I finally installed it from source



PS: That's why I still use windows at home :-( Unfortunatelly ... I love Linux, but there are always problems like that. That is an incovenient of the great linux flexibility.

superkikim
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 1:40 pm

Post by superkikim »

Hard to work with linux :-D

I have installed it successfully. But in parrallel I have the normal armagetronad server. So I used as prefix /etc/armactf.

It makes a full tree with etc, bin, and so on.... Bit haevy.

But whatever, it is now compiled and installed.

I launched it. The server runs. But now, how can I get a CTF ? Is it just a map question ?

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11262
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne, Jabber: [email protected]
Contact:

Post by Z-Man »

superkikim wrote:Is it just a map question ?
Yep. Look at the included sample configuration files, there should be one with a basic CTF map.

User avatar
ivantis
Round Winner
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 2:33 pm
Contact:

Post by ivantis »

yes, nicely done, took less time to figure it out than me.
i would also suggest maybe using sty+ct, its mighty cool, developed mainly by ct~voodoo. although if you just want to run CTF, i wouldnt suggest it, a few more bugs.
Image
Image
Image

superkikim
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 1:40 pm

Post by superkikim »

Can't find a CTF example in the folder. Only fortress.

Can anyone provide me a CTF set of setting files ?

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11262
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne, Jabber: [email protected]
Contact:

Post by Z-Man »

You do have the bzr version, right? Lots of example config files there:

Code: Select all

[email protected]:~/Tron/bzr/sty/armagetronad$ ls config/examples/
breakfast_in_hell.cfg           settings_pig_sty_ctf_1flag.cfg
cvs_test/                       settings_pig_sty_ctf.cfg
death_zone.cfg                  settings_pig_sty_htf.cfg
fortress_soccer.cfg             settings_pig_sty_shooting.cfg
health_is_wall_length.cfg       single_use_turbo.cfg
settings_pig_sty_ball.cfg       teamsumo.cfg

superkikim
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 1:40 pm

Post by superkikim »

... How can I be sure I have the correct version ?

I don't have the proposed config files. Neither have I the suggested tree

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11262
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne, Jabber: [email protected]
Contact:

Post by Z-Man »

You may have fetched the vanilla source. What, precisely, did you do to get the source?

The correct branch to get is http://bazaar.launchpad.net/%7Earmagetr ... ronad-sty/

superkikim
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 1:40 pm

Post by superkikim »

@ Z-Man
ivantis wrote:well, i had this same problem.
do the Linux command "bzr branch http://bazaar.launchpad.net/~armagetron ... tronad-sty";
cd into the new folder named 0.2.8-armagetronad-sty ("cd 0.2.8-armagetronad-sty");
do "./bootstrap.sh";
do "./configure --prefix=$prefix --disable-glout --enable-automakedefaults --disable-sysinstall --disable-etc --disable-useradd --disable-initscripts" and replace $prefix with the full path to where you want it installed;
do "make";
do "make install";
and you are done! cd to what you put as $prefix and from there cd to ./bin, do ./armagetronad-dedicated and the server will start! config is kept in $prefix/etc, resource and language in $prefix/share/games/armagetronad-dedicated or something
I followed this exact procedure...

Is this the wrong source ?

Question: If I want to get rid of it, if it is the wrong version, can I just delete the files ? I guess there are no special dependencies in other folders ?

Post Reply