Fort players looking for a home

For things that have to do with those crazy test servers... and yeah. By request of z-man, and, of course, you gotta obey...

Moderator: Z-Man

Post Reply

Whats you favourite fortress server?

Legit's Regular Fortress
1
4%
Wild West - Fortress
2
9%
2020 team challenge
12
52%
LoD - Tron World Cup Server
1
4%
AST Server - Fortress
1
4%
LoD - Fortress Server
4
17%
Dubki.Ru - Fortress Server
0
No votes
°°ps arena
0
No votes
...other...
2
9%
 
Total votes: 23

Luke-Jr
Dr Z Level
Posts: 2246
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2005 4:03 pm
Location: IM: [email protected]

Post by Luke-Jr »

2020 wrote:business connection, eh? how much does that cost?
because rather than each of us spending money on individual servers, we could contribute to a single, kick-a**, low ping, no lag spike fortress server
That's already what you get with my hosting ;)

wrtl: admins can use any config they want, fortress or other-- I personally prefer the deathmatch/CTF ones ;)

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11377
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Post by Z-Man »

One more thing: I think you should concentrate on a fun to play server and don't care about the BUG cries. Fact is, it's horribly hard to analyse BUG cry recordings even in the best circumstances, when you have full control over the server and can comfortably debug on the server itself. Moving the recording from the server to a debug machine risks breaking the recording. The more popular a server is, the bigger the recordings get; it's better for debugging if the server is less popular. A usable BUG cry absorbing server needs to run bleeding edge SVN code all of the time. Well, that's broken often enough.

So I suggest you leave running bug catching servers to the developers; the general community will be served better if the rest of you just run good servers.

User avatar
Rain
Round Winner
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 2:59 pm
Location: a random empty server playing with bots

Post by Rain »

Ok, after these many ideas, Im going to synthetize how the project is going on.

1) A fortress server for the community hosted by luke. We have to think about how to pay it.

2) Another fortress server used for analize bugs and train newbies.

3) We expect a better behaviour from players treating with newbies in any server.

Do you all agree?

Luke-Jr
Dr Z Level
Posts: 2246
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2005 4:03 pm
Location: IM: [email protected]

Post by Luke-Jr »

Rain wrote:1) A fortress server for the community hosted by luke. We have to think about how to pay it.
I could setup a donation button for you all to use and keep track of the balance. That would solve the technical side of it, at least.
Rain wrote:2) Another fortress server used for analize bugs and train newbies.
It'd be nice if we could mark players as benign-- make their walls just a line on the floor instead, for newbies to follow. After that, people can start writing trainer AIs (using scripting, when that's supported).
Rain wrote:3) We expect a better behaviour from players treating with newbies in any server.
That requires moderators to enforce.

User avatar
2020
Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1310
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2005 9:21 pm
Location: the present, finally

Post by 2020 »

Rain wrote: 1) A fortress server for the community hosted by luke. We have to think about how to pay it.
i've put in already
and this should cover the slack
until regular notations come in...
Rain wrote: 2) Another fortress server used for analize bugs and train newbies.
sounds ok
though sounds like zman is suggesting developers take care of bug analysis
and i am happy to train newbies
Rain wrote: 3) We expect a better behaviour from players treating with newbies in any server.
i remember coming upon three players in a fortress once
gave them basic ideas about grinding
which they appreciated
maybe an hour if that

later that day
he happened in on a full game at zmans
and he requested help
poor guy
no idea if he came back from that experience

fortress can be a harsh environment
unless there's only a few players
in which case it is a little lame...
hold the line

User avatar
Rain
Round Winner
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 2:59 pm
Location: a random empty server playing with bots

Post by Rain »

We just started and all disappeared. LOL!

1) 2020 team challenge seems a little laggy. Where is it hosted? Can somebody else offer to host the server? What about costs, bandwith and locaton?

2) developers, where art thou? Did someone think what server to use for experiments and newbie's training?

3) In another topic (this) about "respect in tron" I talked about to make some different "community servers". What do you think? Could it solve our behaviour problems?

Luke-Jr
Dr Z Level
Posts: 2246
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2005 4:03 pm
Location: IM: [email protected]

Post by Luke-Jr »

Rain wrote:1) 2020 team challenge seems a little laggy. Where is it hosted?
Germany. US hosting is also available.
Rain wrote:What about costs, bandwith and locaton?
http://lightfoot.dashjr.org -- I have yet to see lower cost for Arma hosting (and doubt it's practical/possible; IIRC, one host was charging about $60/mo for 16-slot)

User avatar
2020
Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1310
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2005 9:21 pm
Location: the present, finally

Post by 2020 »

guys
the cost doesn't matter
if there are enough people who contribute

we want the lowest ping server possible
with low latency
to avoid lag spikes
probably in europe

who can provide this service?

once we know that
and the costs involved
then we can start moving ahead
hold the line

User avatar
Jonathan
A Brave Victim
Posts: 3392
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 12:50 am
Location: Not really lurking anymore

Post by Jonathan »

2020 wrote:we want the lowest ping server possible
with low latency
to avoid lag spikes
The idea of a spike is that it's different from normal conditions. A small difference in normal latency probably doesn't mean much.
ˌɑrməˈɡɛˌtrɑn

User avatar
Rain
Round Winner
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 2:59 pm
Location: a random empty server playing with bots

Post by Rain »

Luke: I see 32$ for 32 slots. If we play with 16 players should be good. Is it possible to setup this kind of server for a test? So we can decide. We could use it for the ladle. Do you agree, luke, to host it just for few hours to let us see how it works?

Right 2020. Whos ready to pay?
I am. 1 or 2 euros a mounth are not a problem for me and the change is good from euros to dollars.

http://www.xe.com

[EDIT] ermmm.. luke, check the change in your webpage. Actually 32$ are 25.0861€

User avatar
2020
Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1310
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2005 9:21 pm
Location: the present, finally

Post by 2020 »

Rain wrote:Luke: I see 32$ for 32 slots. If we play with 16 players should be good. Is it possible to setup this kind of server for a test? So we can decide. We could use it for the ladle. Do you agree, luke, to host it just for few hours to let us see how it works?
we already have this...
2020 team challenge

this is the best luke-jr has come up with
unless i am missing something....?
hold the line

User avatar
Rain
Round Winner
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 2:59 pm
Location: a random empty server playing with bots

Post by Rain »

I understood 2020's server was 16 slots, is it 32?

User avatar
Jonathan
A Brave Victim
Posts: 3392
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 12:50 am
Location: Not really lurking anymore

Post by Jonathan »

What do additional slots mean for the connection?
ˌɑrməˈɡɛˌtrɑn

User avatar
Rain
Round Winner
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 2:59 pm
Location: a random empty server playing with bots

Post by Rain »

A slot is supposed to be the medium bandwith required for one player. In this way 16 slots = 16 players, 32 slots = 32 players.
The idea is to give double bandwith to each player, hoping this will help with lags.

User avatar
ed
Match Winner
Posts: 613
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 12:34 pm
Location: UK

Post by ed »

I thought it was the max number of players on the server.
0.3 is capable of 32, whereas 0.2.8 is limited to 16.
So, if you wanted run a 0.3 only, 32 player server, you could.
Nothing to to with allocated bandwidth.

Post Reply