MoniTron v1.0-beta

Something else for Armagetron? Goody!
User avatar
Alien
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 10:48 pm

MoniTron v1.0-beta

Post by Alien »

Hi all,

I programmed an Armagetron Monitor. There you can see fastly who is online. MoniTron is in the tray. So you don't lose space on your desktop. You can add easily server and player favourites. When you choose a server or player you can connect directly to this server. But you need Armagetron 0.3.0. In MoniTron.ini you can set all the features.

But this is just the beta-Version. I will add few more features.

You need "Java SE Runtime Environment (JRE) 6 Update 11" to use MoniTron.
download

greetz
Alien :wink:

... you will love it :star:

PS: You get updates on DS-Clan-Page
Attachments
MoniTron.zip
MoniTron
(82.29 KiB) Downloaded 235 times

User avatar
Tank Program
Forum & Project Admin, PhD
Posts: 6709
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 7:03 pm

Post by Tank Program »

I see this is written in Java. Will it work correctly under Linux? Other than that, very cool.
Image

User avatar
Alien
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 10:48 pm

Post by Alien »

I didn't test MoniTron on Linux but I think, that Java will support it. This JRE is available for Linux, too. So.. try it :wink:

User avatar
Tank Program
Forum & Project Admin, PhD
Posts: 6709
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 7:03 pm

Post by Tank Program »

It's just that it uses the system tray under Windows. In Linux, that sort of interface is a bit more varied depending, but usually there's something called the notification area. Are you using any 3rd party library which would handle that transparently, or have you hooked into the tray yourself? (Or is there something built into Java for it now?)
Image

User avatar
Alien
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 10:48 pm

Post by Alien »

This tray function is new in Java and that is the reason, why the transparent icons make trouble (more). But I found a solution for it. I saved the icon image as 8-Bit-PNG. In Paint.NET you can set by saving the Dithering-Level and transparently strength there. In Java "trayIcon.setImageAutoSize(false)" has to be false! Other way it works wrong.

This is the Linux version
Image
http://java.sun.com/developer/technical ... ystemtray/

I use this library.

User avatar
Tank Program
Forum & Project Admin, PhD
Posts: 6709
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 7:03 pm

Post by Tank Program »

Looks like it might be cross platform capable then. I'll try it out when I get home.
Image

K-Yo
Round Winner
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 4:20 pm

Post by K-Yo »

Very nice and useful app, thanks a lot!

heh, what kind of expression does the favourite stuff match?
can we use RegExp or something like that?

A little problem occured: when going on favourite -> <server> -> <player>, it opens as many aa windows as the number of players on the server...
10 windows of aa tried to join wild fort :P
K-Yo

User avatar
Alien
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 10:48 pm

Post by Alien »

@K-Yo

You can set the favourite list in the MoniTron.ini

DS G5 got the same problem. I ll fix it. You get the update then on DS-Clan-Page.

Do you use MAC, too?

btw: MAC user need Java JRE 1.6.0_07

greetz Alien

K-Yo
Round Winner
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 4:20 pm

Post by K-Yo »

No, i'm on windows vista
I'll watch your clan home page closely ;)

I know how to set up the ini file.
but I wanted to know if we could match some regexp (or anything else, for example, pearl has PCRE) for the se and the pl

it's easy to match all the DSers, no one has ~|DS|~ in the middle of its name, but for CTers, it's not that easy, I see everyone that has "ct" in its name :/
that's why I wondered about the expression :)
K-Yo

User avatar
sol
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 10:43 pm
Location: United Banks of Switzerland
Contact:

Post by sol »

What about Mac OS X?

User avatar
Alien
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 10:48 pm

Post by Alien »

@ K-Yo

For CT-Players it is difficult. CT has to decide for one expression.
For your servers is this filtering easy
se:Crazy Tronners

I would say, you ve to talk with ct-players and discuss about
pl:$CT$ <= take this as your clan-tag ;)

or add every player name
pl:K-Yo

atm is an other solution not possible.

btw: on DS-Page is a new MoniTron-Version

User avatar
Alien
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 10:48 pm

Post by Alien »

sol wrote:What about Mac OS X?
MAC OS X is supported, too.
You need JRE 1.6.0_07
(JRE 1.6.0_11 is not available for MAC atm)

DS G5 use MoniTron on MAC OS 10.5.6
Attachments
MAC OS X 10.5.6
MAC OS X 10.5.6
Last edited by Alien on Sun Jan 11, 2009 6:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
sol
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 10:43 pm
Location: United Banks of Switzerland
Contact:

Post by sol »

Actually CT tag is defined clearly at beginning of everyone's name. yeye... :lol:

User avatar
sol
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 10:43 pm
Location: United Banks of Switzerland
Contact:

Post by sol »

A "getting started" guide for Mac OS X would be nice...

How exactly to start - from console (javaws?) or directly within finder?
Do I have to change some Java security settings? Other preferences?
Do I have to put the files to some specific place?
In MoniTron.ini do I have to set path to Armagetron.app or directly to the binary inside *.app?

User avatar
Alien
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 10:48 pm

Post by Alien »

Here do you get the current JRE version for Mac OS X.

Probably you should start MoniTron.jar with a double click. I don't know, because i never used Mac OS X! Usually it should works without problems, because G5 has't complications to getting started.

That is how G5 sets the path to the game.
li:/Volumes/Program files/Games/Armagetron Advanced/Armagetron Advanced.app/Contents/MacOS/Armagetron Advanced

You don't need a specific place for MoniTron!

Try it and give me a reply please, whether it works.

greetz
Alien :wink:

edit:
btw: an update is available on DS-Page

Auto-Update is coming soon ;-)

Post Reply