Square Zones

Designed a level that creates new, exciting, and challenging Armagetron game play? Or maybe just something funky. Put it right here.
Post Reply
User avatar
INW
Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1950
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 4:10 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC, USA

Square Zones

Post by INW »

How to get square zones instead of circular....i heard it is possible.

Is this what one would do?:

Code: Select all

<ShapeCircle radius="40">
               <Point x="250" y="450" />
</ShapeCircle>
To

Code: Select all

<ShapeSquare radius="40">
               <Point x="250" y="450" />
</ShapeSquare>
But instead of putting "radius", what would go there? length?
User avatar
sinewav
Graphic Artist
Posts: 6413
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 3:37 am
Contact:

Re: Square Zones

Post by sinewav »

I may be wrong about some of this but... I don't think Zones V2 supports different shapes yet. However, this document is a bit old, so maybe it does.

You can change the shape of zones on your client using the following commands:

Code: Select all

ZONE_ALPHA                   Transparency factor for zone rendering. 1.0 gives full strength.
ZONE_ALPHA_TOGGLE            This is XORd with ALPHA_BLEND to determine the way to draw zones
ZONE_BOTTOM                  Where to put the zone along the Z axis. Default is 0.0
ZONE_HEIGHT                  The zone segments' height. Default is 5.0
ZONE_SEGMENTS                How many segments the zone is formed with. Default is 11
ZONE_SEG_LENGTH              The rendered percentual of every segment. Default is .5
For instance, try setting ZONE_SEGMENTS 4 and ZONE_SEG_LENGTH 1 for a square zone. Only you can see it though. No map support yet.

Anyone else want to fill us in on the Zones V2 progress? :)
User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11585
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: Square Zones

Post by Z-Man »

Zones 2.0 supports polygonal shapes and therefore squares.

The quoted settings only change the way zones are rendered. They're still perfect circles internally even if they look like squares.
User avatar
INW
Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1950
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 4:10 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC, USA

Re: Square Zones

Post by INW »

so i can alter the look of the zones in a map but it is still s circle shape? If so, how would this be done?

Which segment of the xml woul di change?
User avatar
kyle
Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1876
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 3:33 pm
Location: Indiana, USA, Earth, Milky Way Galaxy, Universe, Multiverse
Contact:

Re: Square Zones

Post by kyle »

in a map you should have to use zones v2 which means you would need to use the trunk(0.3 currently) with zones v2 enabled
Image
User avatar
INW
Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1950
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 4:10 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC, USA

Re: Square Zones

Post by INW »

well i am using the newest trunk version to play on tron and my server is the newest as well...are u saying if i have zones v2 enabled...only people with the newest trunk version would see the square zones?
User avatar
Van-hayes
Round Winner
Posts: 398
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 1:15 am
Location: The Maritimes

Re: Square Zones

Post by Van-hayes »

I think there is a separate branch that has Zones V2 in it. Could be wrong though.
You've gone too far, turn back!
epsy
Adjust Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 2003
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 6:02 pm
Location: paris
Contact:

Re: Square Zones

Post by epsy »

Nope, it's entirely in trunk.
User avatar
sinewav
Graphic Artist
Posts: 6413
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 3:37 am
Contact:

Re: Square Zones

Post by sinewav »

Can someone point me to the Zones v2 DTD? I'd like to take a look at it.
User avatar
kyle
Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1876
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 3:33 pm
Location: Indiana, USA, Earth, Milky Way Galaxy, Universe, Multiverse
Contact:

Re: Square Zones

Post by kyle »

Image
Post Reply