I made my map with Armabell. How do i fregging play it!!

Designed a level that creates new, exciting, and challenging Armagetron game play? Or maybe just something funky. Put it right here.
User avatar
Dehato
Average Program
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Im On Armabell making anotha map :D

Re: I made my map with Armabell. How do i fregging play it!!

Post by Dehato »

OMFG I CANT BELIEVE I NEVER NOTICED SOMETHING LIKE THAT!!! MY BRO COMES UP GOES INTO SOME FILE LOCATION AND SOME BUNCH OF LETTERS POP UP!!!!!
YAY I GOT THE PREVIEW

:ghost: :sdot: :sdot: :pacman: (ok that took my anger out for a sec lol.. i got some weird file that showed the spawn points and wall points but the resource and all that stuff is 100% different of the file. it was called abmap and the course was racetrack, the aurthor was Danny G wtf so i tried previewing it an well well hehe... FAILED... but this time other letters came out, i kinda cant paste it atm cuz im typing all this from my nintendo wii Haha clikin and movin to every letter my hands are sore >.>.. so can someone help me :S
ImageImage
I dont like having a wall in my face
Grid Name: SayChez
TronLight Cycle FTW!!!

User avatar
Dehato
Average Program
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Im On Armabell making anotha map :D

Re: I made my map with Armabell. How do i fregging play it!!

Post by Dehato »

kk here it is.


Your Map Preview
There was an error creating your map preview.
REXML::ParseException: Missing end tag for 'wall' (got "Field")
Line:
Position:
Last 80 unconsumed characters:






/usr/lib/ruby/1.8/rexml/parsers/baseparser.rb:330:in `pull'
/usr/lib/ruby/1.8/rexml/parsers/streamparser.rb:16:in `parse'
/usr/lib/ruby/1.8/rexml/document.rb:202:in `parse_stream'
/home/ed/tron/map-preview/trunk/lib/map_preview/parser.rb:80:in `initialize'
/var/www/maptools/map-preview.rhtml:31:in `new'
/var/www/maptools/map-preview.rhtml:31
(eval):117
/usr/lib/ruby/1.8/apache/eruby-run.rb:116:in `eval_string_wrap'
/usr/lib/ruby/1.8/apache/eruby-run.rb:116:in `run'
/usr/lib/ruby/1.8/apache/eruby-run.rb:72:in `handler'


I wanna see something. Someone please try to mae me the map and show me the preview to see if im getting the course right.
Attachments
Racetrack-0.0.2.aamap.xml
dang i cant see where im going wrong...
(10.65 KiB) Downloaded 111 times
ImageImage
I dont like having a wall in my face
Grid Name: SayChez
TronLight Cycle FTW!!!

User avatar
Dehato
Average Program
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Im On Armabell making anotha map :D

Re: I made my map with Armabell. How do i fregging play it!!

Post by Dehato »

Lol im gunna go make another course get my spirits down a bit
ImageImage
I dont like having a wall in my face
Grid Name: SayChez
TronLight Cycle FTW!!!

User avatar
ed
Match Winner
Posts: 613
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 12:34 pm
Location: UK

Re: I made my map with Armabell. How do i fregging play it!!

Post by ed »

You had some walls in there that had only one point, that is a no no.
Also the heading was incorrect (damn that armabell!)
Here's a slightly cleaned up version, take into account I just deleted those single point walls, they may have been there with a reason in mind.

Image
Attachments
Racetrack-0.0.2.aamap.xml
(13.71 KiB) Downloaded 111 times

User avatar
Dehato
Average Program
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Im On Armabell making anotha map :D

Re: I made my map with Armabell. How do i fregging play it!!

Post by Dehato »

err i just made a ginormus course and i used like 10 single point walls DANGIT
btw i like ur moviepack i use it :>
hmm ill see what comes up(EDIT) nice one but still.... I dont get were u get the god dang previewwwww TT-TT
Took out wall points but still messin up on something haha
Any of u people want a super long super huge class a (as in super hard) Race course take a look at this :]
Attachments
Sweet Begesuz!.xml
(29.03 KiB) Downloaded 112 times
ImageImage
I dont like having a wall in my face
Grid Name: SayChez
TronLight Cycle FTW!!!

User avatar
sinewav
Graphic Artist
Posts: 6334
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 3:37 am
Contact:

Re: I made my map with Armabell. How do i fregging play it!!

Post by sinewav »

Dehato wrote:btw i like ur moviepack i use it :>
:D BTW, wrong ed! You want to thank edd keefe for his excellence in moviepack-making. But also feel free to thank the above "ed" for his excellence in scripting and utility-making... such as this tool used to preview your map.

As ed memntioned, you need to watch out for those single-point walls. I had to comment out 4 of them before I could generate a preview (lines 167, 277, 313, 428).

Also, your <resource> tag is totally, totally wrong again. I suggest you refresh your memory on the importance of the resource tag. Take a look at the file name of the image below. That's what the name of your map really is; not "Sweet Begesuz!.xml". (...and I don't want to nit-pick, but it's a good idea to keep names strictly alpha-numeric.)

:wink: I hope you get the hang of this, because I really like to look of this map you have here. It reminds me of something I've seen before...
Attachments
abmap-1.0.1.png

User avatar
sinewav
Graphic Artist
Posts: 6334
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 3:37 am
Contact:

Re: I made my map with Armabell. How do i fregging play it!!

Post by sinewav »

More on this map...

I tried it out in a local game. Look how clever you are with a winzone inside a deathzone!
Image

But the actual winzone, you can't get too...
Image

...because there is a wall in the way:
Image

And I noticed you have more than one wall sharing the same points near the winzone.
It's easy to see because the rim_wall texture will flicker strangely.
Image

Also, I had to move the spawn point because I started outside the map:

Code: Select all

<Resource type="aamap" name="sweetBegesuz" version="1" author="Dehato" category="racing">
 <Map version="0.2.8">
  <World>
   <Field>
   <Axes number="8"/>
	<Spawn x="592" y="-966" xdir="0" ydir="1"/>
-966 works better than -976. Also, notice the "improved" resource tag. ;)

I didn't do any more editing to your map because, well, that's your job. And, I don't feel like going through uncommented code. But it's a great start man. The only thing I might change is the HUGE maze in the middle. It's a little bit much. That's something I learned making the AoT maps... As soon as a racer gets significantly lost, they'll lose interest completely and never come back.

User avatar
ed
Match Winner
Posts: 613
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 12:34 pm
Location: UK

Re: I made my map with Armabell. How do i fregging play it!!

Post by ed »

sinewav wrote:But also feel free to thank the above "ed" for his excellence in scripting and utility-making... such as this tool used to preview your map.
I can take no credit for any of those tools either. I just put them all together in one place.

Interesting looking map Dehato :)

User avatar
theroze
Match Winner
Posts: 596
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 7:30 am
Location: 47 72 69 64

Re: I made my map with Armabell. How do i fregging play it!!

Post by theroze »

Interesting Map! As Sine already said, you cant reach the winzone.With these coordinates you can get it.

Code: Select all

Line 146-150

   <Zone effect="win">
    <ShapeCircle radius="24" growth="0">
     <Point x="608" y="1520"/>
    </ShapeCircle>
   </Zone>
apparition wrote:You being able to kill so many players that quickly and efficiently is evidence that the community skill level must be dropping... Sad :/
Reigning champion of: Sir-spam-a-lot 2011

User avatar
Dehato
Average Program
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Im On Armabell making anotha map :D

Re: I made my map with Armabell. How do i fregging play it!!

Post by Dehato »

Yeah thanks on complementing the map, it is the best one ive made so far and its freaking crazy i get dizzy just looking at that thing lol.. I got the idea from some other mega map called chasm (Haha sry sine :>) and i also noticed the "you cant get to this place so your never gunna win" winzone i kinda fixed it lol but i cud paste what u put there since i didnt know u wud start out of the map...
The single point walls idk were they come from they just appear im just new in map making and as u can see i still fail in previewing i dont know what file to put in the previewer. And once i downloaded the map, got the preview but something was missing.... Where was the MAP_FILE etc. o.o
ImageImage
I dont like having a wall in my face
Grid Name: SayChez
TronLight Cycle FTW!!!

User avatar
theroze
Match Winner
Posts: 596
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 7:30 am
Location: 47 72 69 64

Re: I made my map with Armabell. How do i fregging play it!!

Post by theroze »

Dehato wrote:The single point walls idk were they come from they just appear
There is a way to avoid this problem:

For example, there is a wall:

Code: Select all

  <Wall>

        <Point x="415" y="730"/>
        <Point x="415" y="890"/>

        </Wall>
You want to remove the first point, and remove it to the 2nd point, like that:

Code: Select all

        <Point x="415" y="890"/>
        <Point x="415" y="890"/>
And you take again at the

Code: Select all

 <Point x="415" y="730"/> 
, a one-point-wall appears. I hope that helps you in the future.
apparition wrote:You being able to kill so many players that quickly and efficiently is evidence that the community skill level must be dropping... Sad :/
Reigning champion of: Sir-spam-a-lot 2011

User avatar
Dehato
Average Program
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Im On Armabell making anotha map :D

Re: I made my map with Armabell. How do i fregging play it!!

Post by Dehato »

hmm ok thanks
ImageImage
I dont like having a wall in my face
Grid Name: SayChez
TronLight Cycle FTW!!!

User avatar
theroze
Match Winner
Posts: 596
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 7:30 am
Location: 47 72 69 64

Re: I made my map with Armabell. How do i fregging play it!!

Post by theroze »

Np, are you gonna make some more maps soon?
apparition wrote:You being able to kill so many players that quickly and efficiently is evidence that the community skill level must be dropping... Sad :/
Reigning champion of: Sir-spam-a-lot 2011

User avatar
Dehato
Average Program
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Im On Armabell making anotha map :D

Re: I made my map with Armabell. How do i fregging play it!!

Post by Dehato »

Hmm i noticed more than like 50 of those things
<Point x="560" y="-464"/>
<Point x="560" y="-464"/>
<Point x="560" y="-464"/>
this would be a good example. But since sine said he only saw those other 6 i didnt do anything cuz i would probly do something wrong and screw up the course.
ImageImage
I dont like having a wall in my face
Grid Name: SayChez
TronLight Cycle FTW!!!

User avatar
Dehato
Average Program
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Im On Armabell making anotha map :D

Re: I made my map with Armabell. How do i fregging play it!!

Post by Dehato »

Yeah but first i gotta learn to use em
ImageImage
I dont like having a wall in my face
Grid Name: SayChez
TronLight Cycle FTW!!!

Post Reply