new armagetron sound scheme

Made a pack that makes Armagetron sound like a rock concert? Hook us up!
paniq303
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 10:03 pm

new armagetron sound scheme

Post by paniq303 » Sun Nov 20, 2005 10:05 pm

made a new small pack of handcomposed sounds for armagetron.

http://downloads.paniq.org/paniq-armagetron-sounds.zip

let me know what you think :)

User avatar
iceman
Reverse Adjust Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 2448
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2004 9:54 am
Location: Yorkshire, England. Quote: Its the fumes, they make one want to play
Contact:

Post by iceman » Sun Nov 20, 2005 10:30 pm

good to see people experimenting with addons 8)
Image He who laughs last, probably has a back-up
Image
Image
sorry about the large animated gif

User avatar
philippeqc
Long Poster - Project Developer - Sage
Posts: 1526
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2004 8:55 am
Location: Stockholm
Contact:

Post by philippeqc » Sun Nov 20, 2005 10:53 pm

Wow

I've had some great fun trying to give cycle_speed_sound different values to try your cycle sound.

the crash sound is very original! I'd never have thought of that
the turn sound pass very well. Is it just me, or is there a small delay between the turn and the moment I hear it. Maybe I've just never noticed it before, but I guess it's volontary and I like it.

Very neat

-ph
Canis meus id comedit.

User avatar
iceman
Reverse Adjust Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 2448
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2004 9:54 am
Location: Yorkshire, England. Quote: Its the fumes, they make one want to play
Contact:

Post by iceman » Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:01 pm

ive just checked the .wav file and theres no gap at the start so maybe its your sound card or something else ?

theres some huge clipping (fuzz) applied to the cycle run wav, nice
Image He who laughs last, probably has a back-up
Image
Image
sorry about the large animated gif

paniq303
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 10:03 pm

Post by paniq303 » Mon Nov 21, 2005 12:05 am

i'm playing with this soundscheme. deaths are much more entertaining and the cycle sound itself has more overtones and sounds more "cycling". i did it using jeskola buzz, its basically handcomposed.

the cycle sound feels best when playing the fortress game mode.

i'm playing online as "Tesafilm" :)

User avatar
iceman
Reverse Adjust Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 2448
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2004 9:54 am
Location: Yorkshire, England. Quote: Its the fumes, they make one want to play
Contact:

Post by iceman » Mon Nov 21, 2005 12:09 am

lol tesafilm its you :D , still trying to kill clients with lag ?

btw ive played in servers with cycle_accel 30 without any problems so I dont think it was your cycle_accel 40 causing the lag more probably my distance from your server :D
Image He who laughs last, probably has a back-up
Image
Image
sorry about the large animated gif

paniq303
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 10:03 pm

Post by paniq303 » Mon Nov 21, 2005 12:12 am

i also have this trouble with people who have ping values of >= 70. it also seems the server is occasionally just "stalling", that is, all packages are blocked for a short period of time, which results in sudden game jumps and inexplainable explosions.

dont know how to fix it. i guess thats what you get when you have a cheap hoster :/

paniq303
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 10:03 pm

Post by paniq303 » Mon Nov 21, 2005 12:13 am

besides i think that the armagetron network code is a RPOS. in quake, when there have been server lags, the game was _paused_ by the client until a new stream of packets arrived. this way you could tell easier if there was a general connection problem.

User avatar
iceman
Reverse Adjust Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 2448
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2004 9:54 am
Location: Yorkshire, England. Quote: Its the fumes, they make one want to play
Contact:

Post by iceman » Mon Nov 21, 2005 12:48 am

yeah thats the problem I was having, huge pauses with no position updates so bike were jumping in random locations every few seconds making the game unplayable :(
Image He who laughs last, probably has a back-up
Image
Image
sorry about the large animated gif

User avatar
Phytotron
Formerly Oscilloscope
Posts: 5041
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 10:06 pm
Location: A site or situation, especially considered in regard to its surroundings.
Contact:

Post by Phytotron » Mon Nov 21, 2005 2:09 am

You know, I've been meaning to ask about this. I've downloaded moviepacks and found sound files for actions I don't recognize. (I forget the names, but things like cycle turn, and intro and outro.) Is it just that the Mac version only supports cyclrun and expl? Not that it really matters, or is something that needs to be changed if this is so—those two sounds are sufficient alone. I'm just curious.

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11220
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne, Jabber: [email protected]
Contact:

Post by Z-Man » Mon Nov 21, 2005 9:03 am

Those extra sounds need to go into a "moviesounds" folder inside the data directory. On the same level as the "sounds" folder.

My laptop doesn't have sound most of the time (breaks on suspend), so no judgment by me yet :)

User avatar
Phytotron
Formerly Oscilloscope
Posts: 5041
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 10:06 pm
Location: A site or situation, especially considered in regard to its surroundings.
Contact:

Post by Phytotron » Mon Nov 21, 2005 9:33 am

Ah, so would someone mind listing the names for all the "moviesounds" for me?

Also, in the Mac version, the cycle turning sound is accomplished by playing the "expl" sound really fast. Would that be overridden, then, if I had a separate "cycturn" sound?

Also, if I were to leave one of the sounds out, would it cause the client to crash in the same manner that leaving out a texture would?

Also, shouldn't there be a little thing in the wiki about sounds?

Also...just kidding, no more ankle-biting. :)

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11220
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne, Jabber: [email protected]
Contact:

Post by Z-Man » Mon Nov 21, 2005 6:34 pm

paniq303 wrote:besides i think that the armagetron network code is a RPOS. in quake, when there have been server lags, the game was _paused_ by the client until a new stream of packets arrived. this way you could tell easier if there was a general connection problem.

Thanks for the *cough* constructive *cough* criticism, but stopping the game when there are network problems (which can't be avoided in the real world) is not an option. This is a lightcycle game. Lightcycles can't be stopped. We cannot change the laws of physics, you know :) So if the game on the client was paused, the cylce on the server would go on happily (unlike your quake player, who can usually just stand still and get killed), so when you resume, your position would be even wronger than it is with the current code.

Cool sounds, though! Remind me a bit of emerald mine, I just miss the yam-yam's :)

paniq303
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 10:03 pm

Post by paniq303 » Mon Nov 21, 2005 7:59 pm

well add a marker somewhere that at least proves that there is lag.

have you also thought about switching to udp?

User avatar
Walking Tree
Match Winner
Posts: 641
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 9:14 am
Location: Bavaria, Germany
Contact:

Post by Walking Tree » Mon Nov 21, 2005 8:29 pm

paniq303 wrote:have you also thought about switching to udp?

ever heard of something called a firewall ?
afaik, udp only has a chance if BOTH SIDES OPEN A PORT, which you just can't expect from ppl these days...
on the grid as ~free::zombie~
Get Nuxified

http://zombiehq.jollybox.de/zhq/undead-blog
jabber:[email protected]
irc: free-zombie, freezombie or similar on FreeNode & OFTC

Post Reply