Server hung that was built from the fortress-ai branch

Help test release candidates for the next release
Post Reply
User avatar
compguygene
Adjust Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 2337
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:09 pm
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Contact:

Server hung that was built from the fortress-ai branch

Post by compguygene »

Last night, I built new server binaries for servers of mine in Virginia, Kansas, and Germany that were built from the current fortress-ai branch on Launchpad. This morning, as Compguygene's German Sumobar began to fill up, the server hung. Notice, I did not say crashed, that does happen sometimes, but then the script restarts the server. This time when I checked the server console, it was literally hung, or stuck. So, I manually killed the process and restarted the server. I didn't see anything in the logs that might help. Would you like me to start making server recordings in the 3 affected servers? If so, if you could point me to the directions for it, I think there is a wiki page, but I couldn't find it. I have never made a server recording before.
Armagetron: It's a video game that people should just play and enjoy :)
https://bit.ly/2KBGYjvCheck out the simple site about TheServerPharm

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11427
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: Server hung that was built from the fortress-ai branch

Post by Z-Man »

http://wiki.armagetronad.net/index.php? ... _Recording I recently merged from 0.4 to the branch, so best to bzr pull. I don't know how useful a recording would be, especially with AIs, they tend to break.

User avatar
compguygene
Adjust Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 2337
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:09 pm
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Contact:

Re: Server hung that was built from the fortress-ai branch

Post by compguygene »

Well, there were no AI's in the server at the time. I will bzr pull it and rebuild the server binary. I didn't know that would be the wisest choice.

Thanks for the link. I didn't realize it was just making a recording. For some silly reason I cannot fathom, I thought it was a different command to make a recording for the dedicated server.
Armagetron: It's a video game that people should just play and enjoy :)
https://bit.ly/2KBGYjvCheck out the simple site about TheServerPharm

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11427
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: Server hung that was built from the fortress-ai branch

Post by Z-Man »

You can leave the server running normally for a bit, I guess. I just remembered all the bugs we fixed since the branch was last updated, among them the freeze bug when very old commands are sent by clients.

User avatar
compguygene
Adjust Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 2337
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:09 pm
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Contact:

Re: Server hung that was built from the fortress-ai branch

Post by compguygene »

Thanks for the information.
Armagetron: It's a video game that people should just play and enjoy :)
https://bit.ly/2KBGYjvCheck out the simple site about TheServerPharm

User avatar
Jip
Round Winner
Posts: 397
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 5:32 pm

Re: Server hung that was built from the fortress-ai branch

Post by Jip »

I experienced the same with our fortress server. It doesnt run the fortress-ai branch but the latest 0.4 from launchpad.
I am recording right now and will upload it when it happened again.

User avatar
Jip
Round Winner
Posts: 397
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 5:32 pm

Re: Server hung that was built from the fortress-ai branch

Post by Jip »

Server hung again.
No sign of an error in the logfiles but I got a recording (attached).

Code: Select all

$ ./armagetronad-dedicated --versioninfo
[0] Command HISTORY_SIZE_CONSOLE unknown.
[0]
[0] Command MOTION_BLUR_TIME unknown.
[0]
Program Name                 : Armagetron Advanced
Version                      : 0.4_alpha_z1836
Parent branch                : 0.4
Parent branch's URL          : bzr+ssh://bazaar.launchpad.net/%2Bbranch/armagetronad/0.4/
Tag                          :
Revision number              : r1261(z1836)
Revision ID                  : [email protected]
Ancestor                     : r1261(z1836)
Source changed               : No
Build date                   : Thu, 10 Nov 2011 17:05:44 +0100
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11427
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: Server hung that was built from the fortress-ai branch

Post by Z-Man »

Got it. An inverse Heisenbug, the provisions made to make it observable caused it. Much friendlier creature.
And fixed in both branches. The originally reported fortress AI freeze should NOT have been this bug, so it may still be in there.

User avatar
Jip
Round Winner
Posts: 397
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 5:32 pm

Re: Server hung that was built from the fortress-ai branch

Post by Jip »

That was fast. Thx.

Post Reply