Partially missing walls in 0.2.8_alpha20110912

Help test release candidates for the next release
Post Reply
User avatar
dukevin
Round Winner
Posts: 219
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:25 am
Location: Southern California
Contact:

Partially missing walls in 0.2.8_alpha20110912

Post by dukevin »

The client is running on Win Vista Armagetron version 0.2.8_alpha20110912

Sometimes the cycle walls momentarily vanish as seen here:
http://i.imgur.com/HUZYe.png

The user.cfg if needed

This problem is also present in 0.4 but not earlier versions of 0.2.8 (I think that's the right version number, but in ones without the black text overlay)
Image

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11426
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: Partially missing walls in 0.2.8_alpha20110912

Post by Z-Man »

What video card do you have?

And can you go through the builds and find the first one affected? I'm kind of certain about which code change triggered this, but it was really just a reordering of operations, so I want to be sure.

User avatar
dukevin
Round Winner
Posts: 219
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:25 am
Location: Southern California
Contact:

Re: Partially missing walls in 0.2.8_alpha20110912

Post by dukevin »

using Mobile Intel 965 Express Chipset Family.

I don't know how to compile source files on windows so I'm stuck to using only the released binaries (I think 20110912 is the only one in 2011). I'll do some more testing when I get some more time.

EDIT: 0.2.8.3_beta20110815 works
Image

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11426
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: Partially missing walls in 0.2.8_alpha20110912

Post by Z-Man »

And the next one, https://launchpad.net/armagetronad/0.2. ... ha20110826 , is affected?
That's pretty odd, the changes I mentioned were introduced in 0815.

Edit: the linked snapshot doesn't have a Windows build, so of course I mean this one: https://launchpad.net/armagetronad/0.2. ... ha20110829

User avatar
dukevin
Round Winner
Posts: 219
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:25 am
Location: Southern California
Contact:

Re: Partially missing walls in 0.2.8_alpha20110912

Post by dukevin »

Z-Man wrote:Edit: the linked snapshot doesn't have a Windows build, so of course I mean this one: https://launchpad.net/armagetronad/0.2. ... ha20110829
It does not work in that build.

Also tried 0.2.8_alpha20110815 and it didn't work but
0.2.8_alpha20110809 did work

Edit: I don't know why I said it worked in my above post, maybe I ran the wrong version but 20110815 doesn't work.
Image

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11426
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: Partially missing walls in 0.2.8_alpha20110912

Post by Z-Man »

ah, BETA20110815, yeah, that's supposed to be clean. Sorry, didn't read that properly.

And I reproduced the error on our Netbook if I boot that into Windows. Guess that means I'll be able to fix it without hunting you through a cruel testing binge.

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11426
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: Partially missing walls in 0.2.8_alpha20110912

Post by Z-Man »

Fixed it for me. The Windows Intel driver doesn't like mixing glColor3f and glColor4f (not just in the same glBegin/End block, that's known to be a bad idea if only for performance reasons), it kept the alpha=0 setting of the last glColor4f call for rendering the first few wall segments after the beginning. The fix will be in the next snapshots, unless I forget to merge, in which case it will just be in the next 0.2.9 snapshot.

User avatar
dukevin
Round Winner
Posts: 219
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:25 am
Location: Southern California
Contact:

Re: Partially missing walls in 0.2.8_alpha20110912

Post by dukevin »

Nice :) Looking forward to try them out
Image

Post Reply