trunk_cmake_win32_test (trunk_alpha_z951_20100324): Windows!

Help test release candidates for the next release
epsy
Adjust Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 2006
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 6:02 pm
Location: paris
Contact:

trunk_cmake_win32_test (trunk_alpha_z951_20100324): Windows!

Post by epsy »

This is a test release and good news for windows users using trunk. It was cross-built on linux with CMake as build system. This is not part of a release process, so doesn't even qualify as an alpha. Use at your own risk! :)
From last windows build you will notably see protobuf and unicode support.

Known issues:
  • Packager nitpick: the installer should be named with "win32" and not "Windows" at the end
  • Title screen is blank.
  • Shortcuts aren't being created.
  • Sound is broken.
Excuse the unusual download location, we will update this post as soon as it gets on sourceforge/aabeta.
armagetronad-trunk_alpha_z951_20100324-Windows.exe
GPG Signature (How to use this signature to verify your download?)

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11427
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: trunk_cmake_win32_test (trunk_alpha_z951_20100324): Windows!

Post by Z-Man »

Good news indeed!

User avatar
locutus
Match Winner
Posts: 662
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2004 10:28 pm
Location: MST [Quotation: "No Good Deed Ever Goes Unpunished.."]
Contact:

Re: trunk_cmake_win32_test (trunk_alpha_z951_20100324): Windows!

Post by locutus »

so can i use this on win xp? or should i wait for a final release? I dont know what 'window susing trunk means' , got here from facebook btw..
Image

epsy
Adjust Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 2006
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 6:02 pm
Location: paris
Contact:

Re: trunk_cmake_win32_test (trunk_alpha_z951_20100324): Windows!

Post by epsy »

"trunk" is where the 0.3.x test releases come from. This is a test release too.

User avatar
INW
Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1950
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 4:10 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC, USA

Re: trunk_cmake_win32_test (trunk_alpha_z951_20100324): Windows!

Post by INW »

im currently using the version now at my "won risk" and it is working fine...it seems to work better than the "older" .3 version but there is one minor problem.

In the team menu where u can select a team...the words being highlighted are hard to see...in other words; when i have "team blue" highlighted...it is hard to tell if it is highlighted. The blinking of the words "team blue" are not distinct enough to tell which team i have highlighted.

If you understand what im saying. lol

But so far, the version works great.

Luke-Jr
Dr Z Level
Posts: 2246
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2005 4:03 pm
Location: IM: [email protected]

Re: trunk_cmake_win32_test (trunk_alpha_z951_20100324): Windows!

Post by Luke-Jr »

Alphas are just snapshots, so I don't see why this wouldn't be an alpha... I guess the build itself is experimental, but so is 0.3 in general. ;)

Motion to rename it to 0.3.2?

XzL.Smart
Round Winner
Posts: 216
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2006 4:21 am
Location: Arizona

Re: trunk_cmake_win32_test (trunk_alpha_z951_20100324): Windows!

Post by XzL.Smart »

When I alt tab out of the game, the mouse pointer gets stuck in the top left corner, and I can't move it. I'm on windows xp.
Image

epsy
Adjust Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 2006
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 6:02 pm
Location: paris
Contact:

Re: trunk_cmake_win32_test (trunk_alpha_z951_20100324): Windows!

Post by epsy »

Luke-Jr wrote:Motion to rename it to 0.3.2?
When OSX builds and .rpm/.deb packages work :)
XzL.Smart wrote:When I alt tab out of the game, the mouse pointer gets stuck in the top left corner, and I can't move it. I'm on windows xp.
Hmm, did this happen on other versions?
INW wrote:If you understand what im saying.
Yeah, I see what you mean. Will be fixed on the mainline rather than on this branch though, so it probably won't be in the next package in this series.

XzL.Smart
Round Winner
Posts: 216
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2006 4:21 am
Location: Arizona

Re: trunk_cmake_win32_test (trunk_alpha_z951_20100324): Windows!

Post by XzL.Smart »

epsy wrote:
XzL.Smart wrote:When I alt tab out of the game, the mouse pointer gets stuck in the top left corner, and I can't move it. I'm on windows xp.
Hmm, did this happen on other versions?
In other versions, when I alt tab out of a game, I can move my mouse around, but when I click on stuff, it sometimes jumps up to the top left corner, but I could still move it.
Image

ZURD101
Core Dumper
Posts: 154
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:02 am

Post by ZURD101 »

same problem as smart here, i have .2.8.3.0 and this trunk build, only on the trunk build did it do that, both fullscreen on windows 7.
Image

User avatar
Van-hayes
Round Winner
Posts: 398
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 1:15 am
Location: The Maritimes

Re: trunk_cmake_win32_test (trunk_alpha_z951_20100324): Windows!

Post by Van-hayes »

Not a huge problem but for some reason when you go into team menu it doesn't start with any of the options highlighted/selected, you have to press down to select create new team. On the old 0.3, and the other versions iirc, it starts with create new team selected. I hope that makes sense. Other than that and the lack of shortcuts/menus I haven't noticed any differences good or bad. I wouldn't have known about the sound if you hadn't mentioned it.
You've gone too far, turn back!

Word
Reverse Adjust Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 4196
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 6:13 pm

Re: trunk_cmake_win32_test (trunk_alpha_z951_20100324): Windows!

Post by Word »

i have all of these problems as well

and the font is a bit too small for my taste when i play with a low resolution

Word
Reverse Adjust Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 4196
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 6:13 pm

Re: trunk_cmake_win32_test (trunk_alpha_z951_20100324): Windows!

Post by Word »

double post! :)

i noticed that whenever i have minimized it (doesn't matter if i use alt+tab) and go back to fullscreen, the lagometers are nearly as big as the arena, every movement seems to be constantly interrupted. it's gone when a new round starts.

sorry if that wasn't a helpful description; i'll make a recording later :P

XzL.Smart
Round Winner
Posts: 216
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2006 4:21 am
Location: Arizona

Re: trunk_cmake_win32_test (trunk_alpha_z951_20100324): Windows!

Post by XzL.Smart »

Weird, I was just about to post about that. ^
For me, I usually have to close the game, because they will never go away...
Image

Word
Reverse Adjust Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 4196
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 6:13 pm

Re: trunk_cmake_win32_test (trunk_alpha_z951_20100324): Windows!

Post by Word »

font bugs:
Image
(the \n thing shouldn't be displayed like that, right?)

the "ß"-bug (Ai doesn't see that as well...the full server name is 0x66ccßßCross0x669933eyed 0xff9933& 0xcc0000Pain0x990033less )
Image
(AI uses the old 0.3 and he hasn't got the problem...the server name is:

Post Reply