Arma keeps crashing

For all the help you need with Armagetron!
User avatar
ConVicT
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 1004
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 2:33 am

Arma keeps crashing

Post by ConVicT »

So, Armagetron keeps crashing on me for no apparent reason.
What happens is: I'm playing, I crash, there's no armagetron in my taskbar anymore; I've crashed, right?
But, I'm still in the server as far as everyone else is concerned.

Sometimes I can't get in because "max_clients_same_ip_soft" is 1. I get a server message saying "server full". Other times, I can get in but I will be called "ConVicT2" because apparently, I'm still there. Then the server kicks the old me.

An admin was on when this happened, and I was looking on another laptop and he says "I guess ConVicT just disconnected again". I asked him how he knew (because as far as everyone is concerned, I'm still in the server...)

He gave me these logs and told me this happens every time I crash and that it seems to be the only time it happens:

Code: Select all

Timeout! Reason:

Notice: Uninitialized string offset: 3 in /var/www/logs/serverlogs.php on line 107
User 1 does not know about netobject 356 ( gCycle nr. 356 owned by ePlayerNetID nr. 11721, name loc ).

Notice: Uninitialized string offset: 3 in /var/www/logs/serverlogs.php on line 107
User 1 does not know about netobject 355 ( gCycle nr. 355 owned by ePlayerNetID nr. 10875, name magick ).

Notice: Uninitialized string offset: 3 in /var/www/logs/serverlogs.php on line 107
User 1 does not know about netobject 354 ( gCycle nr. 354 owned by ePlayerNetID nr. 11779, name goy ).

Notice: Uninitialized string offset: 3 in /var/www/logs/serverlogs.php on line 107
User 1 does not know about netobject 353 ( gCycle nr. 353 owned by ePlayerNetID nr. 4808, name klep ).

Notice: Uninitialized string offset: 3 in /var/www/logs/serverlogs.php on line 107
User 1 does not know about netobject 352 ( gCycle nr. 352 owned by ePlayerNetID nr. 12624, name blur ).

Notice: Uninitialized string offset: 3 in /var/www/logs/serverlogs.php on line 107
User 1 does not know about netobject 351 ( gCycle nr. 351 owned by ePlayerNetID nr. 13100, name CDBubb ).

Notice: Uninitialized string offset: 3 in /var/www/logs/serverlogs.php on line 107
User 1 does not know about netobject 350 ( gCycle nr. 350 owned by ePlayerNetID nr. 8970, name kezza ).

Notice: Uninitialized string offset: 3 in /var/www/logs/serverlogs.php on line 107
User 1 does not know about netobject 349 ( gCycle nr. 349 owned by ePlayerNetID nr. 14562, name Old Goat ).

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11427
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: Arma keeps crashing

Post by Z-Man »

If it's not a display driver issue, a client side debug recording could reproduce the crash here. You're around long enough to know how they're done, right? I think there's a start menu entry for that, placing the finished recording neatly on the desktop. Hmm, Haven't really checked how our start menu looks on Windows 10.

User avatar
ConVicT
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 1004
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 2:33 am

Re: Arma keeps crashing

Post by ConVicT »

Yes, I can do a recording.
But it could be an more than an hour before it even happens lol.

I'll start recording now since I'm playing.

Edit: Just realised that obviously the crash will happen at the end of the recording :lol:

User avatar
ConVicT
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 1004
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 2:33 am

Re: Arma keeps crashing

Post by ConVicT »

Z-Man wrote:I think there's a start menu entry for that, placing the finished recording neatly on the desktop. Hmm, Haven't really checked how our start menu looks on Windows 10.
Sorry, Z-Man, but I don't get any recordings when I'm on win10.
Usually (on any other windows) it would appear on my desktop like you said but this time there's nothing at all.
As for what you get in the start menu. Only "Armagetron Advanced Benchmark" seems to be there. I have to right click it and open file location for "Armagetron Advanced Record".
I got the crash on a recording. I have no idea where it could be, since it's not on the desktop. Any ideas?

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11427
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: Arma keeps crashing

Post by Z-Man »

Oh yeah, the desktop location gets resolved at installation time, so under admin rights; for me it went to C:\Users\Public\Desktop. That bit changed to Windows 10. The file never appeared there, I suppose my regular user lacks write rights. We'll have to replace that. In the meantime....
Open the start menu, "All Apps", Armagetron Experimental, (where you started the recording link), right click on any of the launchers, pick "More", then "Open Path" or "Open File Location", dunno what they call it in Englisch.
That should open the start menu directory with all the lauch links.
There, right click on "Armagetron Experimental Record", "Properties". In the MUCH TOO SMALL Target edit field, change
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Armagetron Experimental\ArmagetronAd.exe" --record "C:\Users\Public\Desktop\ArmagetronAdvancedDebugRecording.aarec"
; remove the Public and replace it with your username. For me,
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Armagetron Experimental\ArmagetronAd.exe" --record "%USERPROFILE%\Desktop\ArmagetronAdvancedDebugRecording.aarec"
also just worked. I suppose we'll use that from now on.

User avatar
ConVicT
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 1004
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 2:33 am

Re: Arma keeps crashing

Post by ConVicT »

Okay, I'm able to record again. Thanks!
I've been recording for a couple of hours with no crashes (typical).

Get back to you when it happens.

Monkey
Match Winner
Posts: 744
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 12:36 am
Location: England, UK

Re: Arma keeps crashing

Post by Monkey »

Exactly the same bug happens to me regularly. Here is a backtrace from GDB (I'm on OpenBSD btw):

Code: Select all

(gdb) bt 
#0  0x000019e70134426d in tListItemBase::Remove () from /usr/local/bin/armagetronad
#1  0x000019e70116bcdd in gNetPlayerWall::~gNetPlayerWall () from /usr/local/bin/armagetronad
#2  0x000019e70128b241 in nNetObject::Release () from /usr/local/bin/armagetronad
#3  0x000019e701298e2a in std::_Rb_tree<unsigned short, std::pair<unsigned short const, nDeletedInfo>, std::_Select1st<std::pair<unsigned short const, nDeletedInfo> >, std::less<unsigned short>, std::allocator<std::pair<unsigned short const, nDeletedInfo> > >::_M_erase () from /usr/local/bin/armagetronad
#4  0x000019e701298e0f in std::_Rb_tree<unsigned short, std::pair<unsigned short const, nDeletedInfo>, std::_Select1st<std::pair<unsigned short const, nDeletedInfo> >, std::less<unsigned short>, std::allocator<std::pair<unsigned short const, nDeletedInfo> > >::_M_erase () from /usr/local/bin/armagetronad
#5  0x000019e701298e0f in std::_Rb_tree<unsigned short, std::pair<unsigned short const, nDeletedInfo>, std::_Select1st<std::pair<unsigned short const, nDeletedInfo> >, std::less<unsigned short>, std::allocator<std::pair<unsigned short const, nDeletedInfo> > >::_M_erase () from /usr/local/bin/armagetronad
#6  0x000019e70128b55b in nNetObject::ClearAllDeleted () from /usr/local/bin/armagetronad
#7  0x000019e7010f901f in gGame::StateUpdate () from /usr/local/bin/armagetronad
#8  0x000019e7010e83aa in GameLoop () from /usr/local/bin/armagetronad
#9  0x000019e7010e8bea in sg_EnterGameCore () from /usr/local/bin/armagetronad
#10 0x000019e7010ea02f in sg_EnterGame () from /usr/local/bin/armagetronad
#11 0x000019e7010f470a in ConnectToServerCore () from /usr/local/bin/armagetronad
#12 0x000019e7010f4c0c in ConnectToServer () from /usr/local/bin/armagetronad
#13 0x000019e701172016 in sg_ConnectFavorite () from /usr/local/bin/armagetronad
#14 0x000019e7012fdb3b in uMenu::HandleEvent () from /usr/local/bin/armagetronad
#15 0x000019e7012f7cc7 in uMenu::OnEnter () from /usr/local/bin/armagetronad
#16 0x000019e701172e80 in sg_FavoritesMenu () from /usr/local/bin/armagetronad
#17 0x000019e7012fdb3b in uMenu::HandleEvent () from /usr/local/bin/armagetronad
#18 0x000019e7012f7cc7 in uMenu::OnEnter () from /usr/local/bin/armagetronad
#19 0x000019e7010eabdb in net_game () from /usr/local/bin/armagetronad
#20 0x000019e7012fdb3b in uMenu::HandleEvent () from /usr/local/bin/armagetronad
#21 0x000019e7012f7cc7 in uMenu::OnEnter () from /usr/local/bin/armagetronad
#22 0x000019e7012fdb3b in uMenu::HandleEvent () from /usr/local/bin/armagetronad
#23 0x000019e7012f7cc7 in uMenu::OnEnter () from /usr/local/bin/armagetronad
#24 0x000019e7011023f5 in MainMenu () from /usr/local/bin/armagetronad
#25 0x000019e7010b7484 in main () from /usr/local/bin/armagetronad
(gdb) 
Would a debug recording provide some more useful information?
Is there anything else you'd like me to do?
Playing since December 2006

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11427
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: Arma keeps crashing

Post by Z-Man »

Monkey wrote:Would a debug recording provide some more useful information?
Yes! From the callstack, this pretty much looks like a reference counting error, the only way to catch those is to track reference operations over the lifetime of the object. Or it could be a problem with the horrible tList data structure. Man, we really should get rid of that crap ASAP, STL has so much better tools ready to use now.

User avatar
ConVicT
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 1004
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 2:33 am

Re: Arma keeps crashing

Post by ConVicT »

It happened right away today.
ArmagetronAdvancedDebugRecording.rar
(367.63 KiB) Downloaded 98 times

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11427
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: Arma keeps crashing

Post by Z-Man »

Thanks. First attempt to playback with the release version of 0.2.8.3.3 on Linux failed to reproduce the crash. I'll try Windows and debug builds too, obviously.

Monkey
Match Winner
Posts: 744
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 12:36 am
Location: England, UK

Re: Arma keeps crashing

Post by Monkey »

I've got a debug recording of a crash but even when compressed using gzip or bzip2 the file size is just over 5 MiB (the maximum allowed size for file uploads here).
I'll try to get a shorter recording of a crash unless you can think of another solution?
Playing since December 2006

User avatar
aP|Nelg
Match Winner
Posts: 593
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 10:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Arma keeps crashing

Post by aP|Nelg »

Monkey wrote:I've got a debug recording of a crash but even when compressed using gzip or bzip2 the file size is just over 5 MiB (the maximum allowed size for file uploads here).
I'll try to get a shorter recording of a crash unless you can think of another solution?
Have you tried .tar.gz ?

User avatar
ConVicT
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 1004
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 2:33 am

Re: Arma keeps crashing

Post by ConVicT »

Monkey wrote:crash unless you can think of another solution?
Upload it to mediafire or something.

Monkey
Match Winner
Posts: 744
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 12:36 am
Location: England, UK

Re: Arma keeps crashing

Post by Monkey »

aP|Nelg wrote:Have you tried .tar.gz ?
".tar.gz" would be the same size as just using gzip because tar is just a file archiver; it doesn't compress files (well, you can call a compression utility from within it but the point remains).

Anyway, I've come up with a simple plan. Seeing as the recording is, at least according to file, just a plain ASCII file, I've split it into two parts, both compressed with gzip. All Z-Man, or whoever, needs to do is to cat the two files together after gunziping them.

BTW, I'm using the most recent armagetronad 0.4 client on 64 bit OpenBSD on a regular 64 bit PC.
Attachments
client_0.4_crashes_while_playing_bug.aarec.part1.gz
Part 1
(2.99 MiB) Downloaded 76 times
client_0.4_crashes_while_playing_bug.aarec.part2.gz
Part 2
(3.25 MiB) Downloaded 120 times
Playing since December 2006

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11427
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: Arma keeps crashing

Post by Z-Man »

Convict: Sorry, the other two scenarios also play back your recording fine, get to the point of the crash, then don't crash. It's a driver problem :( I can't take the time to fix those on 0.2.8, sorry. What you can do:
1. Go do System Settings/Display Settings/Performance Tweaks and set Display Lists to Off.
2. Install a recent alpha from the 0.2.8 branch, that has a chance to not crash as much and in Display Settings/Detail Settings, it has the new option "Simple Trails" you can activate. Does not look as good, but is also potentially less crashy.
3. Of course, using 0.4 may also help you.

Monkey: Same :( Plays back fine, gets to the point of the crash, does not crash. I ran it through valgrind, a memory management checker, it found nothing. So it's probably BSD specific. I'm installing OpenBSD into a virtual machine right now, but I'm not sure whether I get to fully test and debug things there before our vacation.

Post Reply