multiplayer issue

For all the help you need with Armagetron!
Post Reply
suicidaltendencies
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 7:36 pm

multiplayer issue

Post by suicidaltendencies » Wed Jul 10, 2013 10:00 am

http://i1118.photobucket.com/albums/k60 ... f54c87.png

soo thats a thing apparently.
it was working fine a day ago but now i get this or a similar message every time

im in japan so that might be it but itd still be kinda nice to be able to play

also while im here, is there a way i can change the console key to something else for tron?

thanks

User avatar
Bytes
Round Winner
Posts: 220
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:13 pm

Re: multiplayer issue

Post by Bytes » Wed Jul 10, 2013 11:29 am

You can change the cosole key in the global keys section, can't remember where it is without looking though...
Image

User avatar
delinquent
Match Winner
Posts: 658
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 3:07 am

Re: multiplayer issue

Post by delinquent » Wed Jul 10, 2013 11:42 am

I suspect your own system to be at fault here. Any chance you can run a live disk of something and try it out from there?

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11220
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne, Jabber: [email protected]
Contact:

Re: multiplayer issue

Post by Z-Man » Wed Jul 10, 2013 1:28 pm

delinquent wrote:I suspect your own system to be at fault here.
Your system, your ISP, or no-ip. Or anything in between.
Is there an actual problem beyond this message? For a while now, experimental builds should not overly hang themselves up on those kind of errors and just ignore the servers with faulty DNS entries. What version is this exactly?

User avatar
Light
Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1638
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 2:11 pm

Re: multiplayer issue

Post by Light » Wed Jul 10, 2013 6:48 pm

You really need to update your cached list of servers. I left that account active for a month after I switched to lightron.tk, but it may have finally expired.

The SERVER_DNS is updated on all servers I host, and has been since the day of the switch. So, a list update should fix all of these problems.

Also, you can view the list of servers here:
http://lightron.tk/Servers

And click the server title to join, or go to custom connect and type in the information to the right.

-- After a quick ping, the no-ip host is no longer pointing to me. I added it for another month, but please update your list so this no longer happens.

suicidaltendencies
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 7:36 pm

Re: multiplayer issue

Post by suicidaltendencies » Thu Jul 11, 2013 9:42 am

mm dunno wat a live disk is, but tron just stops responding at thsi screen and crashes after a while

this should be the experimental 0.4 version which was in the 2013 folder

also how would i update the cached serverlist?

User avatar
Light
Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1638
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 2:11 pm

Re: multiplayer issue

Post by Light » Thu Jul 11, 2013 9:44 am

suicidaltendencies wrote:also how would i update the cached serverlist?
Just go into multiplayer option of the main menu, and let it go.

Do you have this problem on all servers?

suicidaltendencies
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 7:36 pm

Re: multiplayer issue

Post by suicidaltendencies » Thu Jul 11, 2013 9:49 am

what do u mean by all servers?

it goes like: play game>multiplayer>online multiplayer>crash
basically. i dont get to see the serverlist or anything

User avatar
Light
Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1638
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 2:11 pm

Re: multiplayer issue

Post by Light » Thu Jul 11, 2013 10:01 am

suicidaltendencies wrote:what do u mean by all servers?

it goes like: play game>multiplayer>online multiplayer>crash
basically. i dont get to see the serverlist or anything
Oh, I didn't pay enough attention to your screenshot. Sorry.

I don't know if this will do anything for you, but it's just a thought. Try going to your clients var directory, and delete (or rename) the frommaster.srv file.

If that does nothing ..
http://browser.hashpickup.net/

You can set the links to open up directly to the server using the --connect parameter. Until you can grab the list, at least you would be able to view and play the servers I guess.

Hopefully the first option works, but that's about all I got at the moment. Good luck.

suicidaltendencies
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 7:36 pm

Re: multiplayer issue

Post by suicidaltendencies » Thu Jul 11, 2013 10:20 am

http://i1118.photobucket.com/albums/k60 ... 605c1b.png

heh sooo close but it crashes there every time.

the custom connect works great though thanks for the help light

User avatar
Light
Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1638
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 2:11 pm

Re: multiplayer issue

Post by Light » Thu Jul 11, 2013 10:23 am

What version of the client are you using? If you're on the latest 0.4_alpha_z2069, then could you try a recording? I'm not sure if it would contain what I'm thinking, but it's worth a shot, and may help Z-Man or someone help you if I can't.

In case you're not sure how to make a recording.
http://wiki.armagetronad.org/index.php/Debug_Recording

I'm going to bed, so I'll check back when I wake up unless someone else has helped ya solve it already.

suicidaltendencies
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 7:36 pm

Re: multiplayer issue

Post by suicidaltendencies » Thu Jul 11, 2013 11:00 pm

ah i went to sleep too. il try it out later

suicidaltendencies
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 7:36 pm

Re: multiplayer issue

Post by suicidaltendencies » Sun Jul 14, 2013 12:07 pm

so, the debug recording doesnt seem to work for me, maybe because the game always ends by crashing.

however, although i dont know the reason why, i think i know whats causing it now.

tron was working fine a few days ago, but i then decided to download itunes in order for my computer to recognize my iphone as a modem(so i can use internet on my comp when im outside). now, it seems that if i only use my phone internet tron works fine, but as soon as i connect to my actual internet the game crashes.

dunno if that helps but any ideas?

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11220
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne, Jabber: [email protected]
Contact:

Re: multiplayer issue

Post by Z-Man » Sun Jul 14, 2013 1:11 pm

Well, at least that means a debug recording would also be useless. If the crash is something obviously only triggered for a specific environment, the debug recording will not reproduce the crash.

For actual troubleshooting, ergh, dunno. Anyone know a way to get at least a stack trace on a Windows machine? Obviously, installing the dev tools, compiling the thing yourself and debugging the result would work, but I would not put anyone through that without good reason.

Post Reply