Making a cockpit

For all the help you need with Armagetron!
User avatar
xtrapoint
Average Program
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 10:11 pm

Making a cockpit

Post by xtrapoint »

I've made this cockpit file that i want to be a mix between skypit and playroom specifically the enemies vs friends bar from playground and all the rest from skypit. Every time I try to test it the 3.0 version shuts down on me! (very aggravating) I'm guessing that there's something wrong with the way i pieced together the codes. Someone tell me what I've done wrong? Or better yet if someone wouldn't mind helping me make this CTF-special cockpit (a mixture of essential remix 3.6 and the friends vs enemies bar I would appreciate it :D .
--They say nobody is perfect, then they say practice makes perfect. I wish they would make up their minds.
--The less people speak of their greatness, the more we think of it.
--Dealing with backstabbers, there was one thing I learned. They're only powerful when you got your back turned.
--I don't have to attend every argument I'm invited to.
--The dumber people think you are, the more surprised they're going to be when you kill them.
--There are two types of people - those who come into a room and say, "Well, here I am!" and those who come in and say, "Ah, there you are."
--It doesn't matter what temperature a room is, it's always room temperature.
--You can't have everything in the world, where would you put it?
User avatar
compguygene
Adjust Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 2342
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:09 pm
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Contact:

Re: Making a cockpit

Post by compguygene »

Could you please post the XML file? Perhaps just using the bbcode Code tags?
Armagetron: It's a video game that people should just play and enjoy :)
https://bit.ly/2KBGYjvCheck out the simple site about TheServerPharm
nux
Round Winner
Posts: 206
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 11:20 pm

Re: Making a cockpit

Post by nux »

Use 0.4, specially if you are making a cockpit, as 0.3 is unstable and out of date.
There's a difference between knowing your shit, and knowing you're shit. Grammar does matter.
User avatar
xtrapoint
Average Program
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 10:11 pm

Re: Making a cockpit

Post by xtrapoint »

nux wrote:Use 0.4, specially if you are making a cockpit, as 0.3 is unstable and out of date.
Is there a 0.4 version for mac? I haven't seen it.
compguygene wrote:Could you please post the XML file? Perhaps just using the bbcode Code tags?
Sure

Code: Select all

<Resource type="aacockpit" name="CTF" version="1.0" author="xtrapoint" category="">
	<Cockpit version="0.3.0">
		<!--
			TOGGLE KEY 1 = Toggle between Fastest/FPS & Time/Max Speed/Max Rubber (Default: On)
		-->
		<!-- TOGGLE KEY 2 = Show/Hide Minimap. (Default: off) -->
		<!-- RUBBER METER -->
		<BarGauge camera="all">
			<Position x="0" y="-1"/>
			<Size height="0.03" width="0.45"/>
			<ShowCurrent value="true"/>
			<ShowMaximum value="false"/>
			<ShowMinimum value="false"/>
			<DataSet>
				<AtomicData field="source" source="player_rubber"/>
				<AtomicData field="maximum" source="cycle_rubber"/>
				<AtomicData field="minimum" source="0"/>
			</DataSet>
			<Background>
				<Gradient orientation="value">
					<Color r="1." g="1." b="1." alpha=".2" at="0."/>
					<Color r="1." g="1." b="1." alpha=".2" at="1."/>
				</Gradient>
			</Background>
			<Foreground>
				<Gradient orientation="value">
					<Color r="0." g="1." b="0." alpha=".7" at="0."/>
					<Color r="0." g="1." b="0." alpha=".7" at=".3"/>
					<Color r="1." g="1." b="0." alpha=".7" at=".6"/>
					<Color r="1." g="0." b="0." alpha=".7" at=".8"/>
					<Color r="1." g="0." b="0." alpha=".7" at="1."/>
				</Gradient>
			</Foreground>
		</BarGauge>
		<!-- RUBBER METER -->
		<!-- SPEED METER -->
		<BarGauge camera="all">
			<Position x="-0.70" y="-1"/>
			<Size height="0.02" width="0.15"/>
			<ShowCurrent value="true"/>
			<ShowMaximum value="false"/>
			<ShowMinimum value="false"/>
			<Reverse value="true"/>
			<DataSet>
				<AtomicData field="source" source="player_speed"/>
				<AtomicData field="maximum" source="max_speed"/>
				<AtomicData field="minimum" source="0"/>
			</DataSet>
			<Background>
				<Gradient orientation="value">
					<Color r="0." g="0." b="1." alpha=".2" at="1."/>
					<Color r="0." g="0." b="1." alpha=".7" at="0."/>
				</Gradient>
			</Background>
			<Foreground>
				<Solid>
					<Color r="0." g="0." b="1." alpha=".7" at="1."/>
				</Solid>
			</Foreground>
		</BarGauge>
		<!-- SPEED METER -->
		<!-- BRAKE METER -->
		<BarGauge camera="all">
			<Position x="0.70" y="-1"/>
			<Size height="0.02" width="0.15"/>
			<ShowCurrent value="true"/>
			<ShowMaximum value="false"/>
			<ShowMinimum value="false"/>
			<Reverse value="true"/>
			<DataSet>
				<AtomicData field="source" source="player_brakes"/>
				<AtomicData field="minimum" source="0"/>
				<AtomicData field="maximum" source="1"/>
			</DataSet>
			<Background>
				<Gradient orientation="value">
					<Color r="0." g="0." b="1." alpha=".7" at="0."/>
					<Color r="0." g="0." b="1." alpha=".7" at="1."/>
				</Gradient>
			</Background>
			<Foreground>
				<Solid>
					<Color r="0." g="0." b="1." alpha=".2" at="0."/>
				</Solid>
			</Foreground>
		</BarGauge>
		<!-- BRAKE METER -->
		<!-- LABEL: TOP LABELS -->
		<Label camera="all" viewport="top" toggle="1" toggleSticky="true" toggleDefault="on">
			<Position x="0.85" y="0.50"/>
			<Size height="0.04" width="0.02"/>
			<DataSet id="hours">
				<AtomicData source="current_hours" minwidth="2" fill="0"/>
			</DataSet>
			<DataSet id="minutes">
				<AtomicData source="current_minutes" minwidth="2" fill="0"/>
			</DataSet>
			<DataSet id="FPS">
				<AtomicData source="current_framerate"/>
			</DataSet>
			<Face>
				<Table>
					<Row>
						<Cell>
							<GameData data="hours"/>
							<Text value=":"/>
							<GameData data="minutes"/>
						</Cell>
					</Row>
					<Row>
						<Cell>
							<GameData data="FPS"/>
							<Text value=" FPS"/>
						</Cell>
					</Row>
				</Table>
			</Face>
		</Label>
		<!-- LABEL: TOP LABELS -->
		<!-- LABEL: TOP LABELS -->
		<Label camera="all" viewport="top" toggle="1" toggleSticky="true" toggleDefault="off">
			<Position x="0.65" y="0.50"/>
			<Size height="0.04" width="0.02"/>
			<DataSet id="fastest">
				<AtomicData source="fastest_speed_round"/>
			</DataSet>
			<DataSet id="fastestname">
				<AtomicData source="fastest_name_round"/>
			</DataSet>
			<DataSet id="fastestmaxspeed">
				<AtomicData source="max_speed"/>
			</DataSet>
			<DataSet id="maxrubber">
				<AtomicData source="cycle_rubber"/>
			</DataSet>
			<Face>
				<Table>
					<Row>
						<Cell>
							<GameData data="fastestname"/>
						</Cell>
						<Cell>
							<GameData data="fastest"/>
							<Text value="/"/>
							<GameData data="fastestmaxspeed"/>
						</Cell>
					</Row>
					<Row>
						<Cell>
							<Text value="Max Rubber:"/>
						</Cell>
						<Cell>
							<GameData data="maxrubber"/>
						</Cell>
					</Row>
				</Table>
			</Face>
		</Label>
		<!-- LABEL: TOP LABELS -->
		<!-- LABEL: ENEMY & FRIEND -->
				<Label camera="all">
			<DataSet id="enemies">
				<AtomicData field="source" source="enemies_alive"/>
			</DataSet>
			<DataSet id="friends">
				<AtomicData field="source" source="friends_alive"/>
			</DataSet>
			<DataSet id="enemiescolor">
				<Conditional field="source" lvalue="enemies_alive" rvalue="friends_alive" operator="eq">
					<IfTrue>
						<AtomicData source="0x0000ff"/>
					</IfTrue>
					<IfFalse>
						<Conditional lvalue="enemies_alive" rvalue="friends_alive" operator="gt">
							<IfTrue>
								<AtomicData source="0x00ff66"/>
							</IfTrue>
							<IfFalse>
								<AtomicData source="0xff0000"/>
							</IfFalse>
						</Conditional>
					</IfFalse>
				</Conditional>
			</DataSet>
			<DataSet id="friendscolor">
				<Conditional field="source" lvalue="enemies_alive" rvalue="friends_alive" operator="eq">
					<IfTrue>
						<AtomicData source="0x0000ff"/>
					</IfTrue>
					<IfFalse>
						<Conditional lvalue="enemies_alive" rvalue="friends_alive" operator="gt">
							<IfTrue>
								<AtomicData source="0xff0000"/>
							</IfTrue>
							<IfFalse>
								<AtomicData source="0x00ff66"/>
							</IfFalse>
						</Conditional>
					</IfFalse>
				</Conditional>
			</DataSet>
			<Position x="0.6" y="-0.65"/>
			<Size height="0.06" width="0.017"/>
			<!-- Size would be the font size in this case -->
			<Caption location="off">
				<Text value="Player Status"/>
			</Caption>
			<Face>
				<Table>
					<Row>
						<Cell>
							<GameData data="enemiescolor"/>
							<Text value="Enemies:"/>
						</Cell>
						<Cell>
							<GameData data="enemiescolor"/>
							<GameData data="enemies"/>
						</Cell>
					</Row>
					<Row>
						<Cell>
							<GameData data="friendscolor"/>
							<Text value="Friends:"/>
						</Cell>
					</Row>
				</Table>
			</Face>
		</Label>
		<Map camera="all" toggle="2" toggleSticky="true" toggleDefault="off">
			<Position x="0.70" y="-0.70"/>
			<Size height="0.25" width="0.25"/>
		</Map>
		<!-- MAP -->
	</Cockpit>
</Resource>
--They say nobody is perfect, then they say practice makes perfect. I wish they would make up their minds.
--The less people speak of their greatness, the more we think of it.
--Dealing with backstabbers, there was one thing I learned. They're only powerful when you got your back turned.
--I don't have to attend every argument I'm invited to.
--The dumber people think you are, the more surprised they're going to be when you kill them.
--There are two types of people - those who come into a room and say, "Well, here I am!" and those who come in and say, "Ah, there you are."
--It doesn't matter what temperature a room is, it's always room temperature.
--You can't have everything in the world, where would you put it?
User avatar
Phytotron
Formerly Oscilloscope
Posts: 5041
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 10:06 pm
Location: A site or situation, especially considered in regard to its surroundings.
Contact:

Re: Making a cockpit

Post by Phytotron »

Nope, no 0.4 for Mac, yet. It's looking like Mac users might have to wait for the official stable (it's only in alpha still), though one would hope not. I mean, who's going to test it before then?
User avatar
vov
Match Winner
Posts: 568
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 8:40 pm

Re: Making a cockpit

Post by vov »

Phytotron wrote:Nope, no 0.4 for Mac, yet. It's looking like Mac users might have to wait for the official stable
Lies! <-- even though it's not that easy to find ;)

About the cockpit, have you got 2 lines on top which look like those?:

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no"?>
<!DOCTYPE Resource SYSTEM "AATeam/cockpit-0.3.1-c.dtd">
It's what xml needs to get loaded properly. Copy-pasting those above the stuff you posted there should work if you don't have those.
User avatar
Phytotron
Formerly Oscilloscope
Posts: 5041
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 10:06 pm
Location: A site or situation, especially considered in regard to its surroundings.
Contact:

Re: Making a cockpit

Post by Phytotron »

News to me, and not because it's buried. Because Z-Man said there wasn't one. Eh?

Also, there haven't been any snapshots since that first one.

Also, please don't link directly to an active download page. And don't shout "lies!" about something like that. FFS.
User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11587
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: Making a cockpit

Post by Z-Man »

I said no 0.4 snapshots exist? I'm pretty sure I only said no current ones exist and that I can't build them. Err. I may have forgotten to point you to those that do exist, so my bad either way. Oops.
User avatar
xtrapoint
Average Program
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 10:11 pm

Re: Making a cockpit

Post by xtrapoint »

vov wrote:About the cockpit, have you got 2 lines on top which look like those?:
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no"?>
<!DOCTYPE Resource SYSTEM "AATeam/cockpit-0.3.1-c.dtd">
It's what xml needs to get loaded properly. Copy-pasting those above the stuff you posted there should work if you don't have those.
derp, /me facepalms, I knew i forgot something but my mind was drawing blanks lol.
vov wrote:Lies! <-- even though it's not that easy to find
I was surprised when it took me directly to the dl lol
--They say nobody is perfect, then they say practice makes perfect. I wish they would make up their minds.
--The less people speak of their greatness, the more we think of it.
--Dealing with backstabbers, there was one thing I learned. They're only powerful when you got your back turned.
--I don't have to attend every argument I'm invited to.
--The dumber people think you are, the more surprised they're going to be when you kill them.
--There are two types of people - those who come into a room and say, "Well, here I am!" and those who come in and say, "Ah, there you are."
--It doesn't matter what temperature a room is, it's always room temperature.
--You can't have everything in the world, where would you put it?
User avatar
Phytotron
Formerly Oscilloscope
Posts: 5041
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 10:06 pm
Location: A site or situation, especially considered in regard to its surroundings.
Contact:

Re: Making a cockpit

Post by Phytotron »

Z-Man wrote:...I can't build them. Err. I may have forgotten to point you to those that do exist....
I guess that's what it was. I definitely remember you saying you couldn't build them. But I can't even find the thread where you first introduced 0.4.

Anyway, correction for me to make....
User avatar
xtrapoint
Average Program
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 10:11 pm

Re: Making a cockpit

Post by xtrapoint »

Also if I might add a suggestion, could you make the map zoom-able? What I mean is when you defend a flag or zone it'd be helpful if you could have a map that can focus on the area around the flag to identify holes and such. I suggest something like a console option like "hud_map_zoom <x -coordinate> <y-coordinate> <magnitude of zoom> " or something :)
--They say nobody is perfect, then they say practice makes perfect. I wish they would make up their minds.
--The less people speak of their greatness, the more we think of it.
--Dealing with backstabbers, there was one thing I learned. They're only powerful when you got your back turned.
--I don't have to attend every argument I'm invited to.
--The dumber people think you are, the more surprised they're going to be when you kill them.
--There are two types of people - those who come into a room and say, "Well, here I am!" and those who come in and say, "Ah, there you are."
--It doesn't matter what temperature a room is, it's always room temperature.
--You can't have everything in the world, where would you put it?
User avatar
delinquent
Match Winner
Posts: 760
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 3:07 am

Re: Making a cockpit

Post by delinquent »

I got one too:
While 0.4 is in alpha and 0.3 is almost unplayable on my PC (I have yet to look at it, probably just some configs) is there any way to incorporate a map into 0.2?
User avatar
compguygene
Adjust Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 2342
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:09 pm
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Contact:

Re: Making a cockpit

Post by compguygene »

The changes that allow the mini-map to exist cannot be easily backported to .2.x. It was a complete re-design of how things work. This has been asked many times before. Although the changes in what is .4 may appear to be only cosmetic, many of them are changes in the code to make things better that just cannot be easily backported and therefore won't be.
Armagetron: It's a video game that people should just play and enjoy :)
https://bit.ly/2KBGYjvCheck out the simple site about TheServerPharm
nux
Round Winner
Posts: 206
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 11:20 pm

Re: Making a cockpit

Post by nux »

compguygene wrote:The changes that allow the mini-map to exist cannot be easily backported to .2.x. It was a complete re-design of how things work.
Not only it cant be backported to 0.2, even if it was possible, it would never be accepted by the dev team. The 0.2 version of arma is stable, meaning that no new features are added, only changes allowed are bug fixes and improvements of already existing features.
There's a difference between knowing your shit, and knowing you're shit. Grammar does matter.
User avatar
Lucifer
Project Developer
Posts: 8640
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 3:32 pm
Location: Republic of Texas
Contact:

Re: Making a cockpit

Post by Lucifer »

nux wrote: Not only it cant be backported to 0.2, even if it was possible, it would never be accepted by the dev team. The 0.2 version of arma is stable, meaning that no new features are added, only changes allowed are bug fixes and improvements of already existing features.
I seem to recall it was originally written for 0.2 but wasn't accepted in the 0.2 branch, and got redesigned for 0.3. Someone please tell me I'm not on crack.... Anyway, if I'm right, then somewhere there's a patch you can apply to 0.2 and build a version with the map. It's not nearly as featureful as the 0.4 version, but then that's why the redesign happened, so the map would be so much better.
Image

Be the devil's own, Lucifer's my name.
- Iron Maiden
Post Reply