Very glitchy graphics and Low FPS

For all the help you need with Armagetron!
Post Reply
User avatar
Loor
Average Program
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 11:54 pm
Location: ∞
Contact:

Very glitchy graphics and Low FPS

Post by Loor »

Hello,

I recently purchased a new computer and today I installed Armagetron on it.

Upon launching the game and selecting my language settings, I proceeded to join a game. Yellow Submarine if I remember correctly, though that is regardless.

First off, the menu background was very slow and jumpy, and was having trouble displaying itself behind the server names (not any other text...colours maybe?).

One I joined, I experienced extremely low FPS and very glitchy graphics.

When I say Glitchy I mean the wall texture was flashing geometric shapes(Not the coloured ones on the walls, I mean, glitchy stuff), the floor was quite similar. I couldn't see the grid except quite near my cycle. In fact, it was really quite horrible and unplayable.

I have 4GB of Ram, and 2.5GhZ Intel Core two Duo CPU, a NVidia 9800GT Graphics (Very very good, I can run powerful games like Call of Duty on full settings smoothly - It gets a 5.9 in the Graphics Aero and 5.9 in the Gaming Graphics).
I'm running Windows 7 RC 64-bit. (Built 7100).

Any help or ideas would be great.
Thanks :)

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11258
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne, Jabber: [email protected]
Contact:

Re: Very glitchy graphics and Low FPS

Post by Z-Man »

Get a proper graphics driver directly from NVidia, and potentially ditch W7Beta.

User avatar
Loor
Average Program
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 11:54 pm
Location: ∞
Contact:

Re: Very glitchy graphics and Low FPS

Post by Loor »

As far as I know I have the latest driver. I'm downloading it again now, I'll let you know how it goes.

And why ditch Windows 7? It works fine for me :roll:

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11258
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne, Jabber: [email protected]
Contact:

Re: Very glitchy graphics and Low FPS

Post by Z-Man »

Loor wrote:And why ditch Windows 7? It works fine for me :roll:
Obviously not :) The main thing here is the driver issue. Remember the early days of Vista or even the beta phase? No proper OpenGL supporting driver was available then. The same may be true now, and we do need OpenGL. If you want to see whether it's a pure AA issue, just try other pure OpenGL games. glTron or any QuakeX engine game (Jedi Knight 2, Star Trek Elite Force, of course the Quakes themselves) will do.

User avatar
!TX!Ubunturocks
Average Program
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 5:35 pm

Re: Very glitchy graphics and Low FPS

Post by !TX!Ubunturocks »

NVidia has always seemed good at having there drivers opengl ready. Remember, windows 7 is very new, and bugs are going to be here and there. If you do not want to forget about windows 7, you could set up a multi operating system computer and install linux or something if you were desperate. lol I am sure windows 7 will keep getting better and updated, then we will be able to play armagetron advance on windows 7 without a problem. At least I hope so.
Linux is the future, do not fight it, go with it. If your computer is fast or slow Linux is the way to go.
ImageImageImage

Hoax
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 892
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 5:24 pm
Location: UK

Re: Very glitchy graphics and Low FPS

Post by Hoax »

Can't you emulate xp in 7?

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11258
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne, Jabber: [email protected]
Contact:

Re: Very glitchy graphics and Low FPS

Post by Z-Man »

It can, but I'd guess it's only for the programs. That doesn't help if the graphics driver doesn't work properly.

But hey, maybe emulation is ON and that's what's causing the problems?

Word
Reverse Adjust Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 4168
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 6:13 pm

Re: Very glitchy graphics and Low FPS

Post by Word »

i have an nvidia too, my fps used to be 60 but when i found out how to change the priority i gained 300 more :)

go to system settings--->nvidia setup and change the priority from "performance" to "quality"

you should also take a look at this topic:
http://forums3.armagetronad.net/viewtop ... 47&t=18595

Post Reply