help with axes
help with axes
so i know that you can put your axes on angles so that a square would look like this:
Edit: the - are spaces, doesn't view properly if i use spaces so....
|\
|--\
|----\
|------\
-\------|
---\----|
-----\--|
-------\|
but is it possible to set the turning for each direction
ie. have turn left=4 axes or 90 degrees, and turn right=8 axes or 45 degrees?
Edit: the - are spaces, doesn't view properly if i use spaces so....
|\
|--\
|----\
|------\
-\------|
---\----|
-----\--|
-------\|
but is it possible to set the turning for each direction
ie. have turn left=4 axes or 90 degrees, and turn right=8 axes or 45 degrees?
- DDMJ
- Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
- Posts: 1882
- Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 12:15 am
- Location: LA, CA, USA, NA
- Contact:
Re: help with axes
|\
|--\
|----\
|------\
-\------|
---\----|
-----\--|
-------\|
|--\
|----\
|------\
-\------|
---\----|
-----\--|
-------\|
Re: help with axes
oh, very clever of you...
duh, why didn't i think of that
but that doesn't answer my question=(
duh, why didn't i think of that
but that doesn't answer my question=(
Try HERE
Notice the <Axes> in the map data.
Oh, and even though I think it's obvious, please make sure your wall segments fall on the same angles.
Notice the <Axes> in the map data.
Code: Select all
<Axes number="4" normalize="false">
<Axis angle="45"/>
<Axis angle="0"/>
<Axis angle="225"/>
<Axis angle="180"/>
</Axes>
- Tank Program
- Forum & Project Admin, PhD
- Posts: 6712
- Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 7:03 pm
- Jonathan
- A Brave Victim
- Posts: 3391
- Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 12:50 am
- Location: Not really lurking anymore
Maybe allow an axis to specify which axes are on its "left" and "right" and maybe in other directions if you want to go crazy (e.g. four keys corresponding to compass directions). The default would look somewhat like a circularly & doubly linked list.
You could also say that right turns pick the axis x steps to the right while right turns use y. Default would be x=1 and y=-1 or so. This is a subset of the above, and could serve as an intermediate default layer (it itself having default offsets, and being the default of the "linked turns" above). But there shouldn't be too many ways to accomplish the same thing.
I'm just a little worried that, well, <insert Phytotron post here>.
You could also say that right turns pick the axis x steps to the right while right turns use y. Default would be x=1 and y=-1 or so. This is a subset of the above, and could serve as an intermediate default layer (it itself having default offsets, and being the default of the "linked turns" above). But there shouldn't be too many ways to accomplish the same thing.
I'm just a little worried that, well, <insert Phytotron post here>.
ˌɑrməˈɡɛˌtrɑn
hehe, or maybe disable the use of right/left turns (ie. that side =360 or 0 degrees)
this would be for a roulette type server=)
or for tricky racing, confuse players, hehe, 4 rights then a left in the map, then they find out that there left turn doesn't work=P
maybe in future versions of map code, the left=#degrees and right=#degrees could be put in to use instead of the current ways of controlling axes
this would be for a roulette type server=)
or for tricky racing, confuse players, hehe, 4 rights then a left in the map, then they find out that there left turn doesn't work=P
maybe in future versions of map code, the left=#degrees and right=#degrees could be put in to use instead of the current ways of controlling axes
You'd definitely need to mod the client for this as well, or there will be ugly prediction errors. And boy, it's going to be tough. Your best approach would be to just let a left turn command trigger two real left turns. Getting them executed on the same spot without generally setting CYCLE_DELAY to 0 would be difficult, too.
And admittedly, I don't get the point. All you're doing is making the controls unintuitive. I can't remember when that ever was a good idea. Now get off ma lawn!
And admittedly, I don't get the point. All you're doing is making the controls unintuitive. I can't remember when that ever was a good idea. Now get off ma lawn!
yeah, it is ugly, i remember what it looked like when i accidentally changed a 6 axes map's file so the server still said 6 axes, but the one on my computer thought 4...
ok, anyway I could set it up so 1 left triggers 2 (or more)?
hehe, i wanted to give players a challenge, plus, it kinda simulates going on a track that has cross overs, but the players can't shortcut through it...
so they have to do this ⌘
instead of taking a shortcut, and doing this [ ]
its my way to compensate for not being able to make 3D maps =)
Bigger versions:
╔═→═╗__----╔═→═╗
↑_____↓____-↑___---↓
╚═←═╬═←═╬═←═╝
_____-↓_____↑
╔═→═╬═→ •╠═→═╗
↑_____↓____-↑____-↓
╚═←═╝__----╚═←═╝
_____-╔═←═╗
_____-↓_____↑
_____-╚═→ •╠═→═╗
___________-↑____-↓
_________----╚═←═╝
ok, anyway I could set it up so 1 left triggers 2 (or more)?
hehe, i wanted to give players a challenge, plus, it kinda simulates going on a track that has cross overs, but the players can't shortcut through it...
so they have to do this ⌘
instead of taking a shortcut, and doing this [ ]
its my way to compensate for not being able to make 3D maps =)
Bigger versions:
╔═→═╗__----╔═→═╗
↑_____↓____-↑___---↓
╚═←═╬═←═╬═←═╝
_____-↓_____↑
╔═→═╬═→ •╠═→═╗
↑_____↓____-↑____-↓
╚═←═╝__----╚═←═╝
_____-╔═←═╗
_____-↓_____↑
_____-╚═→ •╠═→═╗
___________-↑____-↓
_________----╚═←═╝