Good game but "bad" Players?

For all the help you need with Armagetron!
schmaila

Good game but "bad" Players?

Post by schmaila »

Hey there,

So I started playing Armagetron couple of days ago. Its very entertaining and I really enjoy the multiplayer BUT one thing kinda dampens the fun. Very VERY unfriendly player community, especially all those players who seem to belong to groups/clans (whatever you call it in Armagetron). One lil mistake as a noob and my a** gets booted from the server. Immediately! So disappointing to see that kind of elitist behaviour on a regular basis. So to all those pro's out there: plz show some patience with other players. Every ingame vote to kick me, makes me wanna deinstall the game and go back to my FPS and MMO's. Should I?

Anyhow,

Greetings from Germany
ed
Match Winner

Post by ed »

You have a very good point that has been brought up before.

There is no denying that armagetron has very aggressive style of play. Unless you are very good you need to be aggressive in order to win.
This doesn't mean players have to be rude, but I guess they often go hand in hand.

If you're being kicked from the server I'm guessing you are playing fortress in one shape or another which makes you part of a team. That team may have a player(s) who would prefer to win than to try to introduce new players to the game of fortress. This I disagree with, unless they are clearly unwilling to learn. And I believe it is the main reason the fortress game has has taken a decline in recent months.
Athough the ladle 16 seems to have reawakened many players. Bravo!

I remember when the cvs test fortress (fortress's first incarnation) first arrived on the scene. No one know what they were doing, mostly non grinders, probably delving into their own zones to see what would happen. There was no kick vote. We all evolved. Many still play today.