Server Settings

For all the help you need with Armagetron!
Crazy
Core Dumper
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 6:24 am

Server Settings

Post by Crazy »

is it possible for me to change default in-game server settings so i don't have to type in the settings over and over?

i can't do dedicated server on the system i'm trying to do this on so.......

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11291
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne, Jabber: [email protected]
Contact:

Post by Z-Man »

Yes, you just use the same techniques as you would with a dedicated server. Write your configuration into autoexec.cfg or settings_custom.cfg.

Crazy
Core Dumper
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 6:24 am

Post by Crazy »

and where, on a mac would i find that?

User avatar
madmax
Round Winner
Posts: 305
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 11:14 pm

Post by madmax »

Crazy wrote:and where, on a mac would i find that?
Right click the game application > Show Package Contents, then put an autoexec.cfg file with your settings in Contents/Resources/config.
You can also put it in ~/Library/Application Support/Armagetron Advanced/config/ and that will be available to all users/executables.
Winner of the How Many Pages Before The Lock® competition and a grand total of 18,93 euros in Euromillions.

Crazy
Core Dumper
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 6:24 am

Post by Crazy »

madmax wrote:
Crazy wrote:and where, on a mac would i find that?
Right click the game application > Show Package Contents, then put an autoexec.cfg file with your settings in Contents/Resources/config.
You can also put it in ~/Library/Application Support/Armagetron Advanced/config/ and that will be available to all users/executables.
hmm, i think it was automatically put in app support....because thats where i found that stuff, and i never put it there.....

settings_custom is under the same directory i assume?

User avatar
[system]
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 2:57 am
Location: I thought you would know...
Contact:

Post by [system] »

Z-Man wrote:Yes, you just use the same techniques as you would with a dedicated server. Write your configuration into autoexec.cfg or settings_custom.cfg.
Whats autoexec.cfg?
Image
http://www.soldiers-of-sin.piczo.comhttp://www.myspace.com/djsystemttl † [- ¡DF! >>>>>>>>>>SOS<<<<<<<<<< !DF¡ -] †

User avatar
ivantis
Round Winner
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 2:33 pm
Contact:

Post by ivantis »

you really should do dedicated. i have done it on a mac, it aint that hard.
download the mac os x dedicated package from http://armagetronad.net/downloads.php
it will be either a zip or a folder, i cant remember.
unzip it if its a zip.
open the terminal utility (Applications/Utilities/Terminal)
type "cd " in the terminal (without the quotation marks, dont forget the space!!)
drag the folder onto the terminal (the folder icon)
press <Return>
open the folder and drag the little black icon onto the terminal
press <Return>

presto! you got a server. in the folder, open config, then open settings_dedicated.cfg (ignore the part about not editing, go wild!)
Image
Image
Image

Crazy
Core Dumper
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 6:24 am

Post by Crazy »

i know how to do dedicated, but i have 2 problems....

1. i can't get to download site, it's been blocked......

so i copied the direct link to the download and e-mailed it to my self at the mac comp.

2. i don't have enough 'privileges' to access/open the dedicated program......

otherwise i've already tried using the dedicated server, it works fine from home(windows) but i can't port forward(don't want to...)

if you know a way i can get around schools blocks, then please tell me:P

User avatar
ivantis
Round Winner
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 2:33 pm
Contact:

Post by ivantis »

thats dumb. try http://webdico.com/red/ http://ijapan.org/red/ http://lemmethru.com/
those are sites that will unblock it. they might be blocked at your school too
Image
Image
Image

Crazy
Core Dumper
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 6:24 am

Post by Crazy »

site within a site type of thing?

User avatar
ivantis
Round Winner
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 2:33 pm
Contact:

Post by ivantis »

yeah
Image
Image
Image

Crazy
Core Dumper
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 6:24 am

Post by Crazy »

and how do i get around the dedicated server not be able to open/use?

i found a way around the download part already;)
1. i can't get to download site, it's been blocked......

so i copied the direct link to the download and e-mailed it to my self at the mac comp.

User avatar
ivantis
Round Winner
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 2:33 pm
Contact:

Post by ivantis »

here is how to access it, it will let you setup the server after you do this.

do you know what the terminal utility is? get it in Applications/Utilities/Terminal.
(1)type "chmod 777 " into it (without the quotes, dont forget the space at the end)
(2)find the dedicated package, and drag its folder into the terminal.
(3)press enter.
(4)press the <Up> arrow key.
(5)type /* after what you see
(6)press enter.
(7)repeat steps 4 through 6 untill it says "file not found" or something

then setup the server
Image
Image
Image

Crazy
Core Dumper
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 6:24 am

Post by Crazy »

i think i understand......i'll try it next time im on the mac.......

is that like the library?

User avatar
ivantis
Round Winner
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 2:33 pm
Contact:

Post by ivantis »

is what like the library?
doing that will give all access to the armagetronad-dedicated stuff. chmod stands for "change mode" in lazytypistese. doing chmod 777 /file makes it so that everyone can read, write, and execute /file. (in your case, the armagetronad-dedicated things)
Image
Image
Image

Post Reply