moving static electricty walls.

Got something that makes Armagetron look shiny? Post it here.
User avatar
RYON
Average Program
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2010 7:54 am
Location: OREGON U.S
Contact:

moving static electricty walls.

Post by RYON »

to make your walls move like electicity do this

1- use this rim_wall in your textures. (in the game the walls will look nothing like the rim_wall you see)

2- use note pad and click open, look at all file types, then open settings_visual.cfg. (in config folder which is in armagetron advanced folder.)

3- now change RIM_WALL_STRETCH_X to .05 (RIM_WALL_STRETCH_X .05) then click save not save as.

4- then finaly change your display settings/detail settings/ wall texture to bilinear or nearest.
your walls should now move and look like electricity. i think that it looks coolest with low rimwalls and infinite on.
Attachments
rim_wall.png

User avatar
RYON
Average Program
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2010 7:54 am
Location: OREGON U.S
Contact:

Re: moving static electricty walls.

Post by RYON »

the moving electric walls look like this. except it moves like electricity of course
Attachments
rytron2.JPG

User avatar
Hailme
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 7:08 am
Location: Milky Way>Virgo Super Cluster>Orions Arm>World>North America
Contact:

Re: moving static electricty walls.

Post by Hailme »

Nice What prog did you use to get your pic liek that?
In the beginning God created the heaven and the earth.
And the earth was without form, and void.
And darkness was upon the face of the deep.
And the Spirit of God moved upon the face of the waters. And God said, Let there be light. And there was light. And God saw the light that it was good and God divided light from the darkness.

User avatar
Jonathan
A Brave Victim
Posts: 3392
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 12:50 am
Location: Not really lurking anymore

Re: moving static electricty walls.

Post by Jonathan »

It's called aliasing.
ˌɑrməˈɡɛˌtrɑn

User avatar
Phytotron
Formerly Oscilloscope
Posts: 5041
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 10:06 pm
Location: A site or situation, especially considered in regard to its surroundings.
Contact:

Re: moving static electricty walls.

Post by Phytotron »

...and spamming your screenname on a wall texture.

LucK
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 861
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 8:04 pm

Re: moving static electricty walls.

Post by LucK »

I can't find that file. Where is it located?

User avatar
RYON
Average Program
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2010 7:54 am
Location: OREGON U.S
Contact:

Re: moving static electricty walls.

Post by RYON »

Hail...my avatar? i use photoshop cs2.

Jonathan...ya

Phytotron....your talking about the rim_wall, i guess its spaming, but in the game it looks nothing like that, it distorts and becomes a light fuzzy static...kinda like a tv that gets no reception. and the rim walls at the base and top are pretty sick in the game if you ask me.

Luck...which file? settings_vissual is in armagetron advanced/config
rim_wall file? make sure you know where your saving it.
i realy dont even know what file your talking about. be more specific.
but if you have a mac...i cant help you

LucK
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 861
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 8:04 pm

Re: moving static electricty walls.

Post by LucK »

settings_visual.cfg

User avatar
RYON
Average Program
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2010 7:54 am
Location: OREGON U.S
Contact:

Re: moving static electricty walls.

Post by RYON »

its in armagetron advanced folder, then in config folder. if you cant find armagetron advanced folder then your burnt. so i guess just go to the little start button buttom left, click on a the search thing, and search for file settings_visual.cfg it should then show you where it is. hope that works for you.

User avatar
RYON
Average Program
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2010 7:54 am
Location: OREGON U.S
Contact:

Re: moving static electricty walls.

Post by RYON »

Last edited by RYON on Sun Nov 07, 2010 11:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

LucK
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 861
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 8:04 pm

Re: moving static electricty walls.

Post by LucK »

RYON wrote:its in armagetron advanced folder, then in config folder. if you cant find armagetron advanced folder then your burnt. so i guess just go to the little start button buttom left, click on a the search thing, and search for file settings_visual.cfg it should then show you where it is. hope that works for you.
kk ty I found it.

User avatar
RYON
Average Program
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2010 7:54 am
Location: OREGON U.S
Contact:

Re: moving static electricty walls.

Post by RYON »

this zip file has the new tron legacy bike, comes with settings_visual file. the floors are tron legacy floors but not so white and distracting, the floors are mirrord alittle more, lights in the sky, tron legacy dir_wall and moving electric rim_wall and moving fire_wall comes with it. basicaly looks like mine. looks best with low rim walls and infinite on.

REMEMBER TO SET WALL DETAIL TO BILINEAR for the moving walls to work
Attachments
tronlegacyalive.zip
(606.09 KiB) Downloaded 143 times

User avatar
Clu42
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 8:23 pm

Re: moving static electricty walls.

Post by Clu42 »

mine looks exactly like it does in the pic. no movement. Help?

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11333
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: moving static electricty walls.

Post by Z-Man »

RYON wrote:REMEMBER TO SET WALL DETAIL TO BILINEAR for the moving walls to work

User avatar
Clu42
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 8:23 pm

Re: moving static electricty walls.

Post by Clu42 »

Thx Z man that helped, in the sense that they move, but only part of the walls move (the very top and bottom) The rest is black

Post Reply