Modifying Model import code

For developmental things relating to the graphics of the game.
earthdragon

Modifying Model import code

Post by earthdragon »

Hey, I didn't know where to put this, so I figured I would put it in the most recently updated area. Anyways, What I am wondering is how to make it so that the wheel placements for the lightcycles are dependent on information from the .mod files, rather than being hardcoded into the program. I am very new to programming, but I know enough to know that the current hard-coded numbers can be replaced with user-defined (ie .mod-file defined) numbers. I looked through the gCycle and rModel files, and it seems like it should be easy enough to get the program to read for another variable (such n for node, in addition to "v" and "f" which it already looks for.)Anyways, thanks for putting up with me, I look forward to the completed 3.0!
earthdragon

Post by earthdragon »

One thing I forgot, the reason for not having hardcoded attachment point is so that it is easier for people to make custom models with moving wheels. If there is a way to make the .ase models have moving parts, that would work as well.
Thanks
wrtlprnft
Reverse Outside Corner Grinder

Post by wrtlprnft »

I'd suggest storing an additional set of numbers inside the individual wheels' models that specify where the wheel should be located, a rotation axis and a rotation factor. That way you could abuse the wheels for other things like rotating turrets, too :)
There's no place like ::1
Lucifer
Project Developer

Post by Lucifer »

That depends entirely on how much work you want to do. :) A quick hack would be fairly trivial, throw some settings in moviepack.cfg that specify where the files should be placed and you're pretty much done (after updating the renderer with the information, of course).