help diagnosing problem running armagetron on gentoo

For the help you need with the old versions, 0.2.6.1 and down.
Post Reply
User avatar
SuPeRTaRD
Round Winner
Posts: 300
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 11:53 pm
Location: bedlam
Contact:

help diagnosing problem running armagetron on gentoo

Post by SuPeRTaRD » Sat Nov 20, 2004 12:49 am

my buddy runs gentoo,.. he says he has no soundcard installed at the moment.. would that make it say:

Fatal signal: Segmentation Fault (SDL Parachute Deployed)

when a-tron crashes?

he's not got that firewall stuff, & um.. er.. uh that um er.. other thing/misc/

anways, is there some like trick to getting it to run on gentoo, or..

is it crashing cuz he dont have a soundcard..

it compiles ok, & then imidiately he gets that error when he tries to run it ^

i know this isnt really a programming question, but i looked in general forum & nobody was asking tech questions.. & my other favorite tron forum was down so...

User avatar
Tank Program
Forum & Project Admin, PhD
Posts: 6698
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 7:03 pm

Post by Tank Program » Sat Nov 20, 2004 10:47 am

Moved to armagetron support. Miss this part did you?

Have him check that his hostname is setup properly.
Image

User avatar
SuPeRTaRD
Round Winner
Posts: 300
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 11:53 pm
Location: bedlam
Contact:

Post by SuPeRTaRD » Sat Nov 20, 2004 3:25 pm

yes, thank you! i will get the hang of this eventually.

User avatar
philippeqc
Long Poster - Project Developer - Sage
Posts: 1526
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2004 8:55 am
Location: Stockholm
Contact:

Re: help diagnosing problem running armagetron on gentoo

Post by philippeqc » Sun Nov 21, 2004 12:19 pm

SuPeRTaRD wrote:my buddy runs gentoo,.. he says he has no soundcard installed at the moment..

...snip....

anways, is there some like trick to getting it to run on gentoo, or..


I'm using gentoo. I havent configured alsa to work with many sources (ie: only one application can send sound at any time). I also get the SDL parachute when I try to launch a/aa without stopping or at least pausing the music from my favorite mp3 player.

So my guess is: install the sound card drivers.

-ph

My distro is better than yours because I get to compile everything just to get a few lousy % of improvement so I can compile all the *bleep* junk in a reasonnable time.

But I just love it!
Canis meus id comedit.

User avatar
klax
Project Developer
Posts: 481
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 3:51 pm
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Contact:

Post by klax » Mon Nov 22, 2004 8:26 am

Try doing this in a terminal:

export SDL_AUDIODRIVER=#audiodriver#; armagetronad

and try changing #audiodriver# to one of these (or in the worst case u could try 'disk' that writes the output to a file):
dsp, alsa, artsc, esd, dma

There must be an option to disable sound in SDL... I will try to find it ;)

ishAdmin
Match Winner
Posts: 625
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 12:11 am
Contact:

Post by ishAdmin » Mon Nov 22, 2004 2:55 pm

Can you not turn down the volume?
Image

User avatar
klax
Project Developer
Posts: 481
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 3:51 pm
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Contact:

Post by klax » Mon Nov 22, 2004 3:22 pm

ishAdmin wrote:Can you not turn down the volume?

He has no soundcard installed ;p

ishAdmin
Match Winner
Posts: 625
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 12:11 am
Contact:

Post by ishAdmin » Mon Nov 22, 2004 7:11 pm

ok then, turn the sound all the way up!
Image

User avatar
SER
Average Program
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 7:14 pm
Contact:

Post by SER » Mon Nov 22, 2004 7:58 pm

rofl

User avatar
/dev/null
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 820
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 6:28 pm
Location: Chicago-ish

Post by /dev/null » Mon Dec 20, 2004 10:35 am

Strange that it wont start, even with only one available sound source and it being in use it shouldnt crash n burn, it should just work with no sound. Its is possible that not having ran alsaconf, /dev/dsp and its friends arnt properly linked which is causing the error.

Post Reply