64bit TRON FINALLY WORKS

What do you want to see in Armagetron soon? Any new feature ideas? Let's ponder these ground breaking ideas...
User avatar
/dev/null
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 820
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 6:28 pm
Location: Chicago-ish

64bit TRON FINALLY WORKS

Post by /dev/null »

After much dickin around and other annoyances ive managed (with much much much help from charlie, aka grep) to get tron to compile nativly on amd64 running 64bit only. Ill see about posting diffs for 2.6 and 2.7 for all the others out there running 64bit and unable to compile tron. I have no idea if this applies to other 64bit cpus btw, and tron is still owned by gcc 3.4, so make sure not to use it, im workin off of gcc 3.3.4

All I have to say is this, over 1000fps on a geforce 4 mx 440.

User avatar
Lucifer
Project Developer & Local Moonshiner
Posts: 8610
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 3:32 pm
Location: Republic of Texas
Contact:

Post by Lucifer »

How does that compare to when you ran it as a 32-bit app on the same system? I saw recent benchmarks showing that some types of applications actually suffer a 10-20% performance loss by being compiled to native 64-bit code than if they were left as 32-bit code but run on a 64-bit processor.

User avatar
/dev/null
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 820
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 6:28 pm
Location: Chicago-ish

Post by /dev/null »

on the exact same hardware, running the exact same os compiled 32bit (gentoo) i pulled about 350-400 fps

User avatar
subby
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 1199
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 1:18 am
Location: A cave, Melbourne, Australia.

Post by subby »

wow, at what res?

User avatar
/dev/null
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 820
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 6:28 pm
Location: Chicago-ish

Post by /dev/null »

640x480 currently, whatever the default is.

User avatar
subby
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 1199
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 1:18 am
Location: A cave, Melbourne, Australia.

Post by subby »

no one will be outgrinding you nully ;)

User avatar
philippeqc
Long Poster - Project Developer - Sage
Posts: 1526
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2004 8:55 am
Location: Stockholm
Contact:

Re: 64bit TRON FINALLY WORKS

Post by philippeqc »

/dev/null wrote:All I have to say is this, over 1000fps on a geforce 4 mx 440.
Man, got a few fps to spare? It's to buy a coffee!

-ph
Canis meus id comedit.

User avatar
Matrox
Core Dumper
Posts: 181
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 3:51 pm
Location: Yorkshire, England.

Post by Matrox »

I have an amd64 3400+ and i would be very interseted in getting a copy of what youve done.

User avatar
Tank Program
Forum & Project Admin, PhD
Posts: 6709
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 7:03 pm

Post by Tank Program »

hate to burst your bubble, but an FPS of that speed is worthless unless you've got a screen refresh rate of 1000hz or however it lines up... the point is, it's wasted CPU to generate them all if you can't display em all

User avatar
Seeker
Round Winner
Posts: 296
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 8:37 pm
Location: Severna Park, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Post by Seeker »

Tank Program wrote: an FPS of that speed is worthless unless you've got a screen refresh rate of 1000hz
I would bet i could outgrind him if he sets his refresh rate that high :twisted: I can almost smell the diodes melting :P

ishAdmin
Match Winner
Posts: 625
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 12:11 am
Contact:

Post by ishAdmin »

Whoever dies with the most fps wins.
Image

User avatar
subby
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 1199
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 1:18 am
Location: A cave, Melbourne, Australia.

Post by subby »

Tank Program wrote:hate to burst your bubble, but an FPS of that speed is worthless unless you've got a screen refresh rate of 1000hz or however it lines up... the point is, it's wasted CPU to generate them all if you can't display em all
It is true you can't see all those frames, but experinece tells us the higher fps = better ability to grind ..... a bug in the program but I think it's there

User avatar
iceman
Reverse Adjust Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 2448
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2004 9:54 am
Location: Yorkshire, England. Quote: Its the fumes, they make one want to play
Contact:

Post by iceman »

yes this is sad but true the game calculations should be independent of the graphics rendering but its not, im looking into it
Image He who laughs last, probably has a back-up
Image
Image
sorry about the large animated gif

User avatar
CharlieH
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2004 6:56 am
Location: Georgia, USA
Contact:

the diff

Post by CharlieH »

here is the diff of the changes i made to make armagetron compile on an amd64 system

http://dextrocardia.net/armagetron-0.2. ... 4-fix.diff

User avatar
/dev/null
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 820
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 6:28 pm
Location: Chicago-ish

Post by /dev/null »

No bubble burstin here, I know its rather pointless, but it gives me a rather large epenis, hehe.


Also for those of you wanting it for 2.7, its basically the same, the line numbers are prob a bit different so the diff wont work, but if you just open the diff in an editor you can do it manually

Post Reply