And now we have git.

What do you want to see in Armagetron soon? Any new feature ideas? Let's ponder these ground breaking ideas...
User avatar
aP|Nelg
Match Winner
Posts: 586
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 10:22 pm
Contact:

Re: And now we have git.

Post by aP|Nelg »

Z-Man wrote:
Sun Mar 22, 2020 3:52 pm
There now is a fork of bzr called Breezy or brz, ported to Python 3. I noticed all this because Arch replaced bzr with it, breaking my local git-bzr. I don't think it does us any good here, git-bzr would need to be adapted to it.
I've learned that Breezy supports git by itself, so one can `bzr push` to something like `git+ssh://[email protected]/armagetronad/armagetronad.git,branch=master`.

I was able to push a bazaar instance of an Armagetron branch to a Git repository. It also seems to be able to work directly with Git repositories, however I haven't tried pushing one of those to a Bazaar branch on Launchpad.

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11365
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: And now we have git.

Post by Z-Man »

Yeah. Is it merge compatible, though? I could not get it to merge git+ssh://[email protected]/armagetronad/armagetronad.git,branch=master and lp:armagetronad, I tried both directions. Closest probably was merging lp:armagetronad into a local clone of the git one:

Code: Select all

$ brz branch git+ssh://[email protected]/armagetronad/armagetronad.git,branch=master
...
$ cd armagetronad.git
$ brz merge lp:armagetronad
brz: ERROR: Ghost tags not supported by format <breezy.git.branch.LocalGitTagDict object at 0x7f8c44f892b0>.
No clue what ghost tags are. Google gave nothing on that error; some changelog said something about a fetch-ghost brz command. Tried that (maybe ghosts are things not yet locally present and fetch-ghosts fetches them, turning them real?), same result afterwards.

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11365
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: And now we have git.

Post by Z-Man »

Temporary screwup on my part: During the night, one of my automated scripts accidentally merged the entirety of 0.2.9 into 0.2.8.3. github, gitlab and launchpad were all affected. The repository state has since been corrected and I could stop the build pipeline before it made permanent changes, phew.

If you pulled 0.2.8.3 from there in the past couple of hours, you'll need to do a forced/overwrite pull as soon as possible.

Post Reply