maps

Post here if you need help setting up your server, etc.
8bitrip

maps

Post by 8bitrip »

I am basically new to hosting a server and I have played around with some settings. I am currently hosting a home server EIGHTBITRIP from a windows pc. I would like to try out a labyrinth map but I'm clueless on how to do it despite reading over all the info I could find about it.
I am almost 40 and I can't brain well sometimes so if anyone thinks they might be able to help me understand how to do this in the simplest step by step way I would be grateful.

What I know about maps so far is that the map I want to use has to be reachable on the internet so it gets loaded each time someone plays.

questions I have... are there map files already reachable in the internet that I can include and use just by adding
MAP_FILE and the location of the map on the web? I used to run a server years ago with someone else helping me and I think we used to run server 0.3.?.? or maybe that was the client version, idk.
Word
Reverse Adjust Outside Corner Grinder

Re: maps

Post by Word »

Hey, here are some links to start (until someone more experienced than me chimes in):

http://resource.armagetronad.net/resource/
http://wiki.armagetronad.org/index.php/Map_Making
https://crazy-tronners.com/maptools.php

(There are lots of other maps floating around on the forums though. To upload your own stuff to the archive above you can go here: http://resource.armagetronad.net/upload/)

There are also a few maps in the game directory (for me it's C:\Program Files (x86)\Armagetron Experimental\resource\included).
To make the server download maps from an internet source, you need the RINCLUDE MAP_FILE command (if I remember correctly). Not sure in which .txt-file you put that, but I'd recommend that you check out the wiki's articles about hosting and playing maps.

And welcome to the forums! :)
ConVicT
Shutout Match Winner

Post by ConVicT »