Server set-up help

Post here if you need help setting up your server, etc.
Post Reply
<]=Ninja=[>
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 12:40 am

Server set-up help

Post by <]=Ninja=[> »

I think i set it up correctly but wen i launch the armagetron-dedicated command window it works fine but wen i try to connct to my server it doesnt work. Anyone have any idea what i did wrong? i looked on armagetronad.net and the wiki and all that but i cant figure it out. heres whats in my settings_custom.cfg file i made


cycle_rubber 50

cycle_accel_enemy 50

cycle_delay 0.0075

cycle_brake -30

cycle_brake_deplete -1

walls_length 500

explosion_radius 9999

score_kill 1

score_die 0

score_suicide -1

score_win 0

dedicated_idle 0

limit_rounds 100

limit_score 15

max_clients 15

show_own_name 1

server_name TESTING

talk_to_master 1

Moofie
Core Dumper
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 1:36 am
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Re: Server set-up help

Post by Moofie »

Did you port forward correctly?

<]=Ninja=[>
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 12:40 am

Re: Server set-up help

Post by <]=Ninja=[> »

As far as i know. i downloaded a port checker but its not in the multiplayer list, but it is in the lan multiplayer list. so im pretty sure i didnt but i cant figure out how

User avatar
kyle
Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1867
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 3:33 pm
Location: Indiana, USA, Earth, Milky Way Galaxy, Universe, Multiverse
Contact:

Re: Server set-up help

Post by kyle »

Image

User avatar
Magi
Match Winner
Posts: 633
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 9:35 pm

Re: Server set-up help

Post by Magi »

Ah, I think I figured out your problem.
<]=Ninja=[> wrote: cycle_rubber 50
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image

bye

epsy
Adjust Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 2006
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 6:02 pm
Location: paris
Contact:

Re: Server set-up help

Post by epsy »

http://portforward.com/english/routers/ ... rindex.htm

Armagetron uses port 4534 by default, unless you changed with with SERVER_PORT.

<]=Ninja=[>
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 12:40 am

Re: Server set-up help

Post by <]=Ninja=[> »

epsy wrote:http://portforward.com/english/routers/ ... rindex.htm

Armagetron uses port 4534 by default, unless you changed with with SERVER_PORT.
Thanks. Tht was my whole issue in port forwarding. I was forwarding port 80. But now i have another problem xD it wont accept my cycle_walls_length command in the cfg i made and it wont accept any concole commands i give it in game. I cant figure out how to put my name as admin.

epsy
Adjust Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 2006
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 6:02 pm
Location: paris
Contact:

Re: Server set-up help

Post by epsy »

Use WALLS_LENGTH and SP_WALLS_LENGTH. Don't touch CYCLE_WALLS_LENGTH.

As for giving yourself admin this should do:

Code: Select all

LOCAL_USER ninja makeUpAPassword
USER_LEVEL [email protected] 1
You can then log in by writing /login [email protected] in chat.

Otherwise, you can use your forum login/password by using /login <]=Ninja=[>@forums in chat after putting the following in the config instead:

Code: Select all

GLOBAL_ID 1
USER_LEVEL <]=Ninja=[>@forums 1
You can access and change settings with the /admin command. As for saying stuff as the red admin, you're looking for /admin say message.

<]=Ninja=[>
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 12:40 am

Re: Server set-up help

Post by <]=Ninja=[> »

Ok. Thx. Ya a friend helped me set everything up.

User avatar
LOVER$BOY
Match Winner
Posts: 725
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Server set-up help

Post by LOVER$BOY »

And if your planning on running commands in server, use /admin [command] [value]

Good thing we experts are always here to help out if need be :)

It sucks that only sty+ct+ap has the ADMIN_LOG command. That command basically writes down any command issued by any administrator (like yourself) into .../var/adminlog.txt Quite handy if you want to check if your server's been compromised or anything.

Well, good luck with your server :)
Image

User avatar
delinquent
Match Winner
Posts: 728
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 3:07 am

Re: Server set-up help

Post by delinquent »

Am I missing something here, or is "+ap" something new? I thought it was just sty +ct...

User avatar
compguygene
Adjust Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 2337
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:09 pm
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Contact:

Re: Server set-up help

Post by compguygene »

sty+ct+ap is the Alpha project branch that adds some extra goodies to sty+ct.
Armagetron: It's a video game that people should just play and enjoy :)
https://bit.ly/2KBGYjvCheck out the simple site about TheServerPharm

User avatar
LOVER$BOY
Match Winner
Posts: 725
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Server set-up help

Post by LOVER$BOY »

yup :D

There are quite some new stuff I and fman added to it and its turning out quite well. Many includes some additions to the commands and extra :D To be honest, most of the commands were made by me except for

Code: Select all

DECLARE_ROUND_WINNER
which was by fman.

OFC, no one I know is using our server :cry: but oh well... Hopefully someone finds our server useful.

And anyway, you can tell from my signature our project :P
Website: http://vertrex.tk (after my name).

Also, this topic is in the wrong section. Should be in Server Administration/Setup
Image

Post Reply