Server Does Not Answer

Post here if you need help setting up your server, etc.
Post Reply
Firefox
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 7:23 pm

Server Does Not Answer

Post by Firefox »

When my friends try to join my server from the main screen only my IP is available and when they click on my server they only get that SERVER DOES NOT ANSWER message...
Is there a way i can fix this?
Thanks

nux
Round Winner
Posts: 206
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 11:20 pm

Re: Server Does Not Answer

Post by nux »

Do you have the ports open/redirected?­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­
There's a difference between knowing your shit, and knowing you're shit. Grammar does matter.

Moofie
Core Dumper
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 1:36 am
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Re: Server Does Not Answer

Post by Moofie »

Well, it sounds like this is a client server. Did you start this from the master list?

Firefox
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 7:23 pm

Re: Server Does Not Answer

Post by Firefox »

yes i think it IS a client server. my freinds can see my ip adress in the master list but it says i wont answer. or that i am unreachable

User avatar
Phytotron
Formerly Oscilloscope
Posts: 5041
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 10:06 pm
Location: A site or situation, especially considered in regard to its surroundings.
Contact:

Re: Server Does Not Answer

Post by Phytotron »

If you started a server by choosing "Host Game" in your client, then it's a client server. Use the dedicated server instead.

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11425
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: Server Does Not Answer

Post by Z-Man »

That doesn't help the issue at hand (it helps performance, of course). To solve the connection problems, you need to set up port forwarding.

User avatar
Phytotron
Formerly Oscilloscope
Posts: 5041
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 10:06 pm
Location: A site or situation, especially considered in regard to its surroundings.
Contact:

Re: Server Does Not Answer

Post by Phytotron »

Ah, I thought I had read somewheres along the lines something about the client maybe blocking more than the dedicated server or something.

Or something. :/

Post Reply