Windows Vista Server Troubles, Please Help

Post here if you need help setting up your server, etc.
Limitless

Windows Vista Server Troubles, Please Help

Post by Limitless »

Hi guys I am looking to setup a server on my Windows Vista computer (Dell XPS Studio 16 not sure if this helps) but I can only get it to appear on the Master List sometimes and when I do it will not let me connect to it. However it is always available under LAN. I am not sure what I am doing wrong since i port forwarded port 4534 and 4535 (because when it does appear on the Master Server list it always shows port 4535 after my IP) and I typed TALK_TO_MASTER 1. Also I do not fully understand how to setup authentication and admin privileges on a server. I am not very good with technology but I would like to have a server that I can experiment on, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Some things that may help are:
My firewall is MSE (Microsoft Security Essentials)
Im on Windows Vista 2007
My IP is 68.56.250.118
My version of the game client and dedicated are both 0.2.8.3.1

Thank You in advance for any help given.
Z-Man
God & Project Admin

Re: Windows Vista Server Troubles, Please Help

Post by Z-Man »

Is the server running all the time? I can't reach it right now, but the masters don't see a problem. They're not the quickest to notice when a server goes down, sadly. Anyway, if it wasn't up when I tested: the masters say the server and port forward are OK. That you can't see it yourself sometimes is normal. Just connect via LAN.

For authentication, you may be fine just adding

Code: Select all

GLOBAL_ID 1
TRUST_LAN 1
USER_LEVEL Limitless@forums 1
to your configuration and you should be good.
Limitless

Post by Limitless »

I had taken it down because I thought it wasnt working but Im going to put it back up right now. Also in order to setup a password do i just to ADMIN_PASS Password and then login to Limitless@forums with my regular password?
Limitless

Post by Limitless »