missing some commands?

Post here if you need help setting up your server, etc.
Hellion
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 2:16 am
Contact:

missing some commands?

Post by Hellion »

Hey, sorry to bother you guys, but in my server, I've noticed that i dont have certain commands, such as rename. It says this when i try to use it.

Code: Select all

[0] Command RENAME unknown.
im running the alpha mac unix dedicated.
Working on it

User avatar
ivantis
Round Winner
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 2:33 pm
Contact:

Post by ivantis »

where did you get this alpha mac unix dedicated? if you compiled it from source, you might have to enable something, like

Code: Select all

./configure --enable-something
Image
Image
Image

Hellion
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 2:16 am
Contact:

Post by Hellion »

i grabbed it from the beta site
Working on it

User avatar
ivantis
Round Winner
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 2:33 pm
Contact:

Post by ivantis »

well, bummer, guess you cant do that then
Image
Image
Image

Hellion
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 2:16 am
Contact:

Post by Hellion »

ya...any ideas as to why my server is like this?
Working on it

User avatar
ivantis
Round Winner
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 2:33 pm
Contact:

Post by ivantis »

maybe whoever compiled the alpha for mac didnt enable whatever. do you have armathentication? try the command GID and see what it puts out
Image
Image
Image

epsy
Adjust Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 2006
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 6:02 pm
Location: paris
Contact:

Post by epsy »

Hellion wrote:i grabbed it from the beta site
link ?

User avatar
ivantis
Round Winner
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 2:33 pm
Contact:

Post by ivantis »

im looking at the beta site ( http://beta.armagetronad.net ) and i only see 0.2.8 and 0.2.7 servers for mac os x
??
Image
Image
Image

Hellion
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 2:16 am
Contact:

Post by Hellion »

the 2.8 was the alpha
eidt*
the GID command came unknown also
Working on it

epsy
Adjust Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 2006
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 6:02 pm
Location: paris
Contact:

Post by epsy »

can you please give the exact link ?

Hellion
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 2:16 am
Contact:

Post by Hellion »

http://beta.armagetronad.net/fetch.php/ ... versal.dmg
there is the exact link..
EDIT*
May someone provide a link to the 3.0 beta server?
Working on it

User avatar
ivantis
Round Winner
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 2:33 pm
Contact:

Post by ivantis »

idk what to tell you. rename works on my server (0.2.8-armagetronad-sty compiled under ubuntu hardy 8.04)
Image
Image
Image

Hellion
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 2:16 am
Contact:

Post by Hellion »

idk either, it seems that only a select few have this command working, one that i would like (people come in with F**k as their name on occasion) is there any way that someone could enable this on a 2.8.0alpha mac unix dedicated?
Working on it

epsy
Adjust Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 2006
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 6:02 pm
Location: paris
Contact:

Post by epsy »

ah right, the change including the RENAME command happened after that build

zoidberg
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 2:45 am

Post by zoidberg »

Yeah, some of the versions have the command some don't. A simple comparison:

wild west fort shootout won't do rename or slap or any of that fun stuff, it's listed as version 0.2.8_alpha 2007 0719
and capture the flag shooting does do all that and is version
0.2.8_alpha 2008 0512

Post Reply