Hello, new here, cople questions..

General Stuff about Armagetron, That doesn't belong anywhere else...
Post Reply
skYrth
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 11:43 pm

Hello, new here, cople questions..

Post by skYrth »

Hello all, I just got into armagetron, but I have a few questions.

1. Lag. We all know it's there, and lag is usually do to a higher ping right? is there any way to get rid of it or have a lower ping? Is there something in the computer that makes low ping? graphics card? video card? orjust a bad connection?

2. This may be a dumb question, but how are you guys so good?? I may of been playing for just a few weeks (acutally a month) and I don't htink I've improved at all. Is there any way for improving?

3. Clans. I've noticed theres |MBC| and ~*SP*~, how do you join a clan?

thanks in advance,

skYrth[/b]

EDIT: oh i forgot to mention that we have multiple computers, thus sometimes my ssiblings play on a LAN game.. but there seems to be a bug, somtimes you can go thru the wall and sometimes even others' rubber. And occasionally theres a giant hole in the arena..

is there a way to fix it?
Last edited by skYrth on Sat Aug 26, 2006 9:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
skYrth

skEErth

Sky-Earth

User avatar
kyle
Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1830
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 3:33 pm
Location: Indiana, USA, Earth, Milky Way Galaxy, Universe, Multiverse
Contact:

Re: Hello, new here, cople questions..

Post by kyle »

skYrth wrote:1. Lag. We all know it's there, and lag is usually do to a higher ping right? is there any way to get rid of it or have a lower ping? Is there something in the computer that makes low ping? graphics card? video card? orjust a bad connection?
Most of the time that is connection high ping == high lag
but there are others that do involve GPU and stuff
http://forums.armagetronad.net/viewtopic.php?t=6301 for more
skYrth wrote:2. This may be a dumb question, but how are you guys so good?? I may of been playing for just a few weeks (acutally a month) and I don't htink I've improved at all. Is there any way for improving?
just practice a lot
learn the tricks of how to play
maybe you are not good at rubber and good at fortress
try Bugfarm fortress(if it is up)
also recommend reading this before going to fortreses
http://wiki.crazy-tronners.com/index.php/How_to_play

skYrth wrote:3. Clans. I've noticed theres |MBC| and ~*SP*~, how do you join a clan?
You get good and go to their sites to join

User avatar
Lucifer
Project Developer & Local Moonshiner
Posts: 8610
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 3:32 pm
Location: Republic of Texas
Contact:

Post by Lucifer »

THere is more extensive how-to-play documentation here:

http://wiki.armagetronad.net/index.php/Playing_the_Game
Image

Be the devil's own, Lucifer's my name.
- Iron Maiden

skYrth
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 11:43 pm

Post by skYrth »

alright thanks guys, helped alot
skYrth

skEErth

Sky-Earth

skYrth
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 11:43 pm

Post by skYrth »

oh i forgot to mention that we have multiple computers, thus sometimes my ssiblings play on a LAN game.. but there seems to be a bug, somtimes you can go thru the wall and sometimes even others' rubber. And occasionally theres a giant hole in the arena..

is there a way to fix it?
skYrth

skEErth

Sky-Earth

User avatar
EagleEye
Average Program
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 3:27 am
Location: Philadelphia

Re: Hello, new here, cople questions..

Post by EagleEye »

Welcome :)
skYrth wrote: 2. This may be a dumb question, but how are you guys so good?? I may of been playing for just a few weeks (acutally a month) and I don't htink I've improved at all. Is there any way for improving?
I learned by watching other better players. Try doing that and see if you cant pick up a few things. Different things like double and triple binding work in different servers.
skYrth wrote: 3. Clans. I've noticed theres |MBC| and ~*SP*~, how do you join a clan?
Well, there are pretty much 2 types of clans, High Rubber and Fortress
Higher Rubber:
~"XzL.
~*SP*~
-{E}-
|MBC|
~}SD{~
=(S)=
~|DS|~
and maybe one or 2 others but those are the big ones.
Fortress:
~*SP*~
CT
LoD
|AST|
SL
there may be a few more there, i dont play fortress so i dont know
To get in i guess find out one of their sites and go and ask for a try out
Image

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11233
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne, Jabber: [email protected]
Contact:

Post by Z-Man »

skYrth wrote:somtimes you can go thru the wall and sometimes even others' rubber. And occasionally theres a giant hole in the arena..

is there a way to fix it?
I don't know what you mean by "going through the other player's rubber", but the thing that blew giant holes into the outer rim wall was called the rip bug and it was fixed in version 0.2.7.1. You seem to be using 0.2.7 or 0.2.6. If that's correct, just upgrade.

skYrth
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 11:43 pm

Post by skYrth »

alright.. i'll do that :D

because we were once again playingLAN and every time one of the AI's died (excel, to be exact) i would blow up and die out of nowere and it owuld say "skYrth has commited suicide"
skYrth

skEErth

Sky-Earth

skYrth
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 11:43 pm

Post by skYrth »

okay got the new version :)

it's looks cooler two, no buds :D
skYrth

skEErth

Sky-Earth

skYrth
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 11:43 pm

Post by skYrth »

ooooh new question..

how do you get your server actually up on the servers list?

like i could host a server but nobody actually joins.. and when i go on my other computer, i cna't find it on the list..


is there a place to register your server name and stuff?

also, I know a fwe basic programming into the thing like cycle_rubber x, or cycle_speed x and stuff like that, but how do you program it to make your turns like 45degree angles or even 15 degree angles?

thanks,

skYrth
skYrth

skEErth

Sky-Earth

User avatar
DDMJ
Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1881
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 12:15 am
Location: LA, CA, USA, NA
Contact:

Post by DDMJ »

skYrth wrote:ooooh new question..

how do you get your server actually up on the servers list?

like i could host a server but nobody actually joins.. and when i go on my other computer, i cna't find it on the list..


is there a place to register your server name and stuff?

also, I know a fwe basic programming into the thing like cycle_rubber x, or cycle_speed x and stuff like that, but how do you program it to make your turns like 45degree angles or even 15 degree angles?

thanks,

skYrth
Read this it might help for running your server: http://wiki.armagetronad.net/index.php/ ... nistration

You also need to learn how to use the console.

Code: Select all

TALK_TO_MASTER 1
makes your server show up on the master list.

For crazy turns you need to change the axes.

Code: Select all

ARENA_AXES 4
is the default. This means 90 degree turns.

Code: Select all

ARENA_AXES 8
makes 45 degree turns and so on.

You need to enter these codes in the console. All the console commands are found here: http://wiki.armagetronad.net/index.php/Console_Commands

User avatar
wrtlprnft
Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1679
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 4:42 am
Location: 0x08048000
Contact:

Post by wrtlprnft »

The problem won't be any of these if you used the "Host Game" entry on the server list, as TALK_TO_MASTER is set to 1 automatically.

You need to get your router to forward UDP port 4534 to your computer, though. Search the forums, there's tons of people who had the same problem.
There's no place like ::1

skYrth
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 11:43 pm

Post by skYrth »

ooookay now a new-new question :D

last one i swear ( i hope )

how do you make it a fortress game with the two zones?
skYrth

skEErth

Sky-Earth

User avatar
wrtlprnft
Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1679
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 4:42 am
Location: 0x08048000
Contact:

Post by wrtlprnft »

on the console type

Code: Select all

INCLUDE examples/cvs_test/fortress_complete.cfg
There's no place like ::1

Post Reply