Going through walls?

General Stuff about Armagetron, That doesn't belong anywhere else...
Mistacool

Going through walls?

Post by Mistacool »

Hello everyone. I am pretty new to Armagetron, and I have witnessed a few wierd things happening. What I am most confused about is, i have seen lots of people go through walls. I heard on some severs, that if you go really fast you can go through, but these guys were doing it at any speed. So I asked them how they did it. One of them replied that he was using a bind. Another said he was using a glitch to get through walls. So is this a fair tactic, or are these guys hacking or cheating in some way?
Lucifer
Project Developer

Re: Going through walls?

Post by Lucifer »

Mistacool wrote:Hello everyone. I am pretty new to Armagetron, and I have witnessed a few wierd things happening. What I am most confused about is, i have seen lots of people go through walls. I heard on some severs, that if you go really fast you can go through, but these guys were doing it at any speed. So I asked them how they did it. One of them replied that he was using a bind. Another said he was using a glitch to get through walls. So is this a fair tactic, or are these guys hacking or cheating in some way?
It's officially cheating under most circumstances. The going through walls tricks takes advantage of a bug in the program that you'll find more often referred to as bouncing.

Here's what happens when you bounce. To bounce, you're right next to a wall. Then you make two really quick turns, one towards the wall and then one away from it. As a result of the first turn, the one towards the wall, your cycle is turned sideways. Then the rubber stuff kicks in. During this time, it appears that your position on the grid "drifts" somewhat. So the second turn, the one away from the wall, places you in a different place than you intended.