C programming language discussion

Everything todo with programming goes HERE.
Monkey
Match Winner

C programming language discussion

Post by Monkey »

I'm currently learning to program in C (I'm teaching myself). I know that C++ is probably more widely used nowadays and that Arma is written in C++, however I'm starting to feel that C is the way forward for me. I studied C++ at university, even though I didn't fully learn/use all features of the language. I used to believe that C++ was brilliant, however, now I'm starting to think that C is better because it's a much smaller and simpler language and I've become a big fan of the KISS (keep it simple stupid) philosophy. Also, the programmers, in the world, that I look up to, all seem to prefer C too, which does influence my decision as well. Note that I'm far from an expert in programming and I know that C has known issues. However, some say that C++ has even more issues.

Does anyone else program in C? What are your opinions on C vs C++ vs other languages?
Playing since December 2006
kyle
Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
Location: Indiana, USA, Earth, Milky Way Galaxy, Universe, Multiverse

Re: C programming language discussion

Post by kyle »

I think nowadays picking a language it is more practical to pick a language for what you are working on. C is a good language to teach you about pointers and memory management, and has a lot of application in micro-controllers. C++ adds in Classes, winch are extremely useful , sure you can make a struct in c that does similar, but it still misses scoping. According to the stackoverflow 2016-2018 developers survey, rusty is the most loved language. I've not used it, but it is on my languages to try list. but it's syntax is similar to c/c++.

I am working on a small android application. I've used java on and off for 10 years, I've seen lots of changes to it, but I am using this app as an opportunity to try Kotlin.
Lucifer
Project Developer

Post by Lucifer »