PPA

Everything todo with programming goes HERE.
Post Reply
User avatar
aP|Nelg
Match Winner
Posts: 593
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 10:22 pm
Contact:

PPA

Post by aP|Nelg »

You guys should update your PPA a little bit more often. The last update for 0.4 (armagetronad-experimental) on there was 2013. There have been lots of changes since then...

Also, here on Linux Mint 18, when using the built in PPA system, I get the message saying that Xenial isn't supported.

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11426
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: PPA

Post by Z-Man »

Right you are. I wanted to first renovate the build system, but that got stuck. I guess it's time to dust off the old one. Also, plans have changed, looks like Docker is now the right tool to do builds in a sandbox. Anyway, I'll try a upload of the previously supported Ubuntu releases first, check which of the intermediate ones are still supported by the system, and the next ppa upload will include those as well.

User avatar
Light
Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1664
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 2:11 pm

Re: PPA

Post by Light »

Z-Man wrote:Right you are. I wanted to first renovate the build system, but that got stuck. I guess it's time to dust off the old one. Also, plans have changed, looks like Docker is now the right tool to do builds in a sandbox. Anyway, I'll try a upload of the previously supported Ubuntu releases first, check which of the intermediate ones are still supported by the system, and the next ppa upload will include those as well.
I know it's not on the SourceForge page, but I have a script building for Windows, and packaging the source for Linux on my site if it's any help.
https://lightron.org/#Download

User avatar
aP|Nelg
Match Winner
Posts: 593
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 10:22 pm
Contact:

Re: PPA

Post by aP|Nelg »

:(

Code: Select all

# apt-get update
Hit:1 http://cosmos.cites.illinois.edu/pub/ubuntu xenial InRelease             
Ign:2 http://mirror.csclub.uwaterloo.ca/linuxmint-packages sarah InRelease     
Hit:3 http://cosmos.cites.illinois.edu/pub/ubuntu xenial-updates InRelease     
Hit:4 http://mirror.csclub.uwaterloo.ca/linuxmint-packages sarah Release       
Hit:5 http://cosmos.cites.illinois.edu/pub/ubuntu xenial-backports InRelease   
Hit:6 http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu xenial InRelease                     
Hit:7 http://ppa.launchpad.net/armagetronad-dev/ppa/ubuntu xenial InRelease    
Get:8 http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu xenial-security InRelease [94.5 kB]
Fetched 94.5 kB in 3s (25.8 kB/s)                              
Reading package lists... Done
# apt-get install  armagetronad-experimental 
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
E: Unable to locate package armagetronad-experimental
It's clearly listed in here ( https://launchpad.net/~armagetronad-dev ... ter=xenial ) and armagetronad alpha is found by the software manager. Experimental, however, is strangely missing, even from apt-get.

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11426
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: PPA

Post by Z-Man »

Light: Thanks, I may check those out. We do have some canonical build script already, though, that usually works unless the build is broken. Which it currently appears to be.

Nelg: Yeah, the last PPA builds I triggered the other day failed for a variety of reasons; very old and very new releases are missing dependencies and the in-between ones stumble over desktop file changes. That is going to take a bit to figure out. Not helping is that Ubuntu have changed the way they host the debian build definitions and bzr branching them fails for me.

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11426
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: PPA

Post by Z-Man »

Grr, can anyone successfully branch one of these bzr branches:
https://code.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/armagetronad

I always get

Code: Select all

bzr: ERROR: Revision {[email protected]} not present in "Graph(StackedParentsProvider(bzrlib.repository._LazyListJoin(([CachingParentsProvider(None)], []))))".
The "Trusty" one works for me, the others I tried did not... let's hope it stays that way. I'll try to keep hold of one of these, they're the basis for our ppa builds.

User avatar
aP|Nelg
Match Winner
Posts: 593
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 10:22 pm
Contact:

Re: PPA

Post by aP|Nelg »

I branched wily:

Code: Select all

$ bzr branch lp:ubuntu/wily/armagetronad
You have not informed bzr of your Launchpad ID, and you must do this to
write to Launchpad or access private data.  See "bzr help launchpad-login".
Most recent Ubuntu Wily version: 0.2.8.3.2-4                                   
Packaging branch version: 0.2.8.3.2-1
Packaging branch status: OUT-OF-DATE
Most recent Ubuntu Wily version: 0.2.8.3.2-4                                   
Packaging branch version: 0.2.8.3.2-1
Packaging branch status: OUT-OF-DATE
Branched 12 revisions.
It did succeed and there's an attachment below of it.
Attachments
armagetronad.tar.bz2
(4.8 MiB) Downloaded 58 times

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11426
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: PPA

Post by Z-Man »

Thanks. PPA builds for Precise to Xenial for 0.4 succeeded right now. Adaptions made: new .desktop file name and location needed to be patched in, and for Precise, the SDL2 dependency had to be taken out again.
Oddly, Yakkety seems to be missing libpng. Does anyone know what's up with that? Oh well, it's out now, so I suppose I'll just have to install it into YET ANOTHER VM.

User avatar
aP|Nelg
Match Winner
Posts: 593
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 10:22 pm
Contact:

Re: PPA

Post by aP|Nelg »

So does this not automatically build on new revisions or...?
EDIT: Not to torture you with stuff, but I noticed there's no icon in the menu for Armagetron Experimental.

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11426
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: PPA

Post by Z-Man »

No, it's not automatic. There's a way to set that up, but I haven't bothered yet. It's another set of boilerplate scripts and metadata files to write, I recon. And... well, they're no fun.
You're talking about the 'start menu' icon, right? Which Ubunutu version do you use?

User avatar
aP|Nelg
Match Winner
Posts: 593
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 10:22 pm
Contact:

Re: PPA

Post by aP|Nelg »

Z-Man wrote:No, it's not automatic. There's a way to set that up, but I haven't bothered yet. It's another set of boilerplate scripts and metadata files to write, I recon. And... well, they're no fun.
You're talking about the 'start menu' icon, right? Which Ubunutu version do you use?
Mint 18.1, bottom left where it says "Menu", then where it says "Armagetron Experimental", there's no icon to the left of it like most of the other menu items have.
Image

User avatar
Light
Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1664
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 2:11 pm

Re: PPA

Post by Light »

aP|Nelg wrote:
Z-Man wrote:No, it's not automatic. There's a way to set that up, but I haven't bothered yet. It's another set of boilerplate scripts and metadata files to write, I recon. And... well, they're no fun.
You're talking about the 'start menu' icon, right? Which Ubunutu version do you use?
Mint 18.1, bottom left where it says "Menu", then where it says "Armagetron Experimental", there's no icon to the left of it like most of the other menu items have.
You should have a .desktop file in /usr/share/applications, probably labelled armagetronad-expierimental.desktop. Edit that file as root and you'll see the path for the icon. Just point it to where your icon is located.

You may also be able to do it through a GUI by using the menu editor, but I'm not very familiar with it. I always just manually edit the menu items.

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11426
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: PPA

Post by Z-Man »

Urgh. Our usual installation procedure (via make install) now is to install the icon using xdg-desktop-icon, after that it can be referenced by name in .desktop files. The debian build files we inherit from 0.2.8 don't do that, they copy files manually to various places, putting the icons into usr/share/pixmaps/armagetronad-experimental instead of usr/share/games/armagetronad-experimental/desktop/icons where the icon registration would look for them. But it doesn't run anyway. I guess the sane way (that is, the way where I get to keep my sanity) is to just patch the desktop file for the .deb to reference the files instead of the icon by name.

Post Reply