The Story of CMS

Everything todo with programming goes HERE.
Lucifer
Project Developer

The Story of CMS

Post by Lucifer »

Ok, before continuing the discussion in the other thread about building a CMS system, I thought it would be helpful to Luke specifically if I told hiim a story that contained as many of the lessons I've learned as possible. :)

As some of you are aware, no doubt, for the last 4 years or so I've put food on the table by making money on the web. Right now I'm a contract programmer with one customer, and that customer builds a web-based CRM (that's Customer Relationship Management). From December to July my whole life was building a Mambo portal to their CRM package, and in doing so I became intimately familiar with Mambo (thus qualifying my rant on the subject). Right now I'm hacking on gForge, the project that was started by the same guy who wrote most of the code that drives sourceforge, which he forked right before VALinux closed up the source to sourceforge. (Having only recently learned about it, I've only recently begun to withdraw from sourceforge myself) Mambo, gForge, and the CRM package I mentioned are all responsible for taking content out of a database and generating web pages from it.

Now, then, is the story of how I came to be doing this. Part of the story which I will not tell includes my own rather emotional journey that wound up with me eradicating MS Windows from my home.