3d s max help!

Everything todo with programming goes HERE.
Post Reply
User avatar
DrJoeTr0n
"On a Roll. Paper wise."
Posts: 815
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 6:49 am

3d s max help!

Post by DrJoeTr0n »

So yeah, Im sitting here in class, trying to put a backround in to a Scene, I manage to get it to go in to the viewports, but when i try and render it, it doesnt stay. So Imust be going to the wrong place in it. And its giving me a super hard time with the material editor as well. Anyone wanna help me out?

User avatar
SER
Average Program
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 7:14 pm
Contact:

Post by SER »

If you want a steady image in the background just go to "rendering/environment" and set a bitmap on the enviroment map slot... :wink:

User avatar
DrJoeTr0n
"On a Roll. Paper wise."
Posts: 815
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 6:49 am

Post by DrJoeTr0n »

That isnt quite the problem. but I garuntee i will need to keep that information when i get there. But first i need to have it render with the scene. Other wise i get the black backround.

User avatar
SER
Average Program
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 7:14 pm
Contact:

Post by SER »

Well.. u get the black background cos u didnt set any background image to render with the scene... as I said before, go to rendering/environment u'll see there the option to change the black color of the background to any color u want and also a slot that sais "environment map" just check the active box and assign a bitmap shader to the slot and... voila.. next time u render the scene u'll have ur background map instead of the blackness...
Note what u r changing is "Viewport background", this is not rendered with the scene, it's just to help with modeling and match stuff within an image or wateva...
Last edited by SER on Fri Dec 10, 2004 8:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
DrJoeTr0n
"On a Roll. Paper wise."
Posts: 815
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 6:49 am

Post by DrJoeTr0n »

Yeah, That will probably help a lot, I'll let you know if it worked next monday when im back in class.

User avatar
SuPeRTaRD
Round Winner
Posts: 300
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 11:53 pm
Location: bedlam
Contact:

Post by SuPeRTaRD »

or you could put a plane behind it & texturemap the plane

or..

anyways, yeah, its in the render options window ^^^

how'd it go?

User avatar
DrJoeTr0n
"On a Roll. Paper wise."
Posts: 815
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 6:49 am

Post by DrJoeTr0n »

Fan-Tastical!!!!!!!!

User avatar
Tank Program
Forum & Project Admin, PhD
Posts: 6709
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 7:03 pm

Post by Tank Program »

DrJoeTr0n wrote:Fan-Tastical!!!!!!!!
Couldn't help myself with this one... "Fan-Testical!!!!!!!!" ;)
Image

User avatar
DrJoeTr0n
"On a Roll. Paper wise."
Posts: 815
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 6:49 am

Post by DrJoeTr0n »

Alright, Another question is how do I apply my own materials to objects?

User avatar
SER
Average Program
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 7:14 pm
Contact:

Post by SER »

The only thing that will work in arma is a *.png assigned in the diffuse channel. If normal mapping properties doesn't suit you, you can add a UVWMap or Unwrap UVW modifiers.

User avatar
DrJoeTr0n
"On a Roll. Paper wise."
Posts: 815
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 6:49 am

Post by DrJoeTr0n »

Well thats good advice, but I'm working on a project at school just making a 3d scene...

User avatar
SuPeRTaRD
Round Winner
Posts: 300
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 11:53 pm
Location: bedlam
Contact:

Post by SuPeRTaRD »

"The only thing that will work in arma is a *.png assigned in the diffuse channel."

or .bmp or ... .blah

1. make sure the polygons u have selected to texture are using mapping channel 1

2. then choose a mapping style in uvw-map (face/linear/cylendrical/etc.)

3. then "apply material button" with material editor (to selected polygons)

4. then uvw-unwrap as needed (optional)

important to do those in order.

also, if you get a material that works, you can always save it to your material library & pull it back up for any new scene u make

hope that helps!

8)

Post Reply