Curve Fever

Anything About Anything...
Post Reply
karas
Average Program
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 3:23 pm

Curve Fever

Post by karas »


User avatar
Magi
Match Winner
Posts: 632
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 9:35 pm

Re: Curve Fever

Post by Magi »

Interesting..I'm surprised that some of the videos for it have as many views as they do, it doesn't seem that far off from tron, maybe it's just the simplicity of the overall design.
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image

bye

Amaso
Core Dumper
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:34 am

Re: Curve Fever

Post by Amaso »

People go for Garbage now Migi. We could get more if someone made a channel

User avatar
pike
Round Winner
Posts: 397
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 6:53 pm
Location: where polar bears walk the streets

Re: Curve Fever

Post by pike »

"curve fever" gives over 25k results on youtube, "armagetron" less than 4k :(

I have a channel and I can actually rename it to "Armagetron Advanced" but that's not enough, we need much more than one, with every event like Ladles, Shovels, Brawls, etc. covered. Twitch streams should be put on Youtube before they get deleted, like Bowl 2 stream: https://youtu.be/Kqj7m9s2r4s (the video is non public as of now, idk if I should put this on my channel since I haven't made this recording)

Word
Reverse Adjust Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 4188
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 6:13 pm

Re: Curve Fever

Post by Word »

I think one video is enough if it's so well-made that people share it.

Amaso
Core Dumper
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:34 am

Re: Curve Fever

Post by Amaso »

Pike why make it as unlisted o_0
Z-Tyrant has all the Ladle recordings

User avatar
pike
Round Winner
Posts: 397
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 6:53 pm
Location: where polar bears walk the streets

Re: Curve Fever

Post by pike »

Amaso wrote:Pike why make it as unlisted o_0
Mostly because these videos are not mine, technically they're Vogue's. Also I thought they will stay on Twitch, but it looks like they're automatically deleted after few weeks.
I also have recording of semifinal from that Bowl: https://youtu.be/u_1_sC5KaH0
Amaso wrote:Z-Tyrant has all the Ladle recordings
All starting from Ladle 18, with the exception of Ladle 47 or 49 iirc. I made a video of full Ladle 18 final two years ago, but I don't think I will do another anytime soon. Creating a smooth and interesting Fortress video is really painful, with 2 zones + 12 or 16 players to watch at the same time. I think I've spent like 2 weeks on making notes and preparations before recording anything :P It might be easier with a custom cockpit, but most/all Ladles are recorded with 0.2.8

User avatar
/dev/null
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 820
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 6:28 pm
Location: Chicago-ish

Re: Curve Fever

Post by /dev/null »

Ive been trying to make a tron supercut for months now, but fraps ***** the fps up terribly even on my powerful machine. I lose a few thousand fps just by recording.

I definately understand about the need for some fresh blood on the game though.

Durf
Match Winner
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 10:35 pm

Re: Curve Fever

Post by Durf »

/dev/null wrote:Ive been trying to make a tron supercut for months now, but fraps ***** the fps up terribly even on my powerful machine. I lose a few thousand fps just by recording.

I definately understand about the need for some fresh blood on the game though.
Get a video input card (some "TV tuner" cards have it).
So long as one computer can output video, and the other can input it, you won't have a loss in fps.
I've done this before to record my xbox 360 video output, but the principle is the same.
Needs 2 comps, and a card with video input.
Can use a program like Dscaler to view the input.

I've tried fraps...it wrecks fps. It's useful for perhaps an instructional video with audio, but gaming? No way.

I've had some luck (better fps) by using a screenshot program in Linux. But then I had to use yet another program to put it together into a video...oh was it gifs that I made...hmm.
I could still get over 30 fps that way on one machine. Probably a lot to do with Linux.

Still though, best option is to have 2 machines if you wanna record like that.
(perhaps a VPS on 2 comps and fraps would work? Not sure how the VPS would affect the fps as it's transmitted to the other comp)

User avatar
/dev/null
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 820
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 6:28 pm
Location: Chicago-ish

Re: Curve Fever

Post by /dev/null »

VHS? **** you Betamax.

User avatar
Titanoboa
Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1791
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 8:07 pm

Re: Curve Fever

Post by Titanoboa »

Heh, looks like a fun game.

The scoring is fun tho. We should have a setting for that in tron!

User avatar
Lucifer
Project Developer & Local Moonshiner
Posts: 8610
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 3:32 pm
Location: Republic of Texas
Contact:

Re: Curve Fever

Post by Lucifer »

Isnt there a playback mode in the game that writes graphical frames to disk? Then you'd use mencoder to build the video....

Use Jackd to get the audio by playing back the recording like normal.
Image

Be the devil's own, Lucifer's my name.
- Iron Maiden

User avatar
/dev/null
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 820
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 6:28 pm
Location: Chicago-ish

Re: Curve Fever

Post by /dev/null »

My audio card cant do jackd, but is there a tron option that writes to disk, I could then encode it later. AFAIK there isnt. I dont really need audio, I can add my own hilarious soundtrack after the fact.

Olive
Match Winner
Posts: 488
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 8:11 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Curve Fever

Post by Olive »

played it a couple of time with my roommates

used to be called achtung die kurve, which is way more awesome.
Olive a.k.a ZeMu, MoonFlower & chicken.

User avatar
/dev/null
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 820
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 6:28 pm
Location: Chicago-ish

Re: Curve Fever

Post by /dev/null »

Olive wrote:played it a couple of time with my roommates

used to be called achtung die kurve, which is way more awesome.
Thats a ******* awesome server name.

Post Reply