Just joined

Anything About Anything...
User avatar
Paradox
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 2:16 pm
Contact:

Just joined

Post by Paradox »

Hi, ive been talking with angel about a few client source mods/fixes ive made and she suggested that I talk to you guys here

I'll get back to you soon.

User avatar
Infa(mous)
Round Winner
Posts: 255
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 11:27 pm

Post by Infa(mous) »

Meaning... your bot?
-Infamous

Concord
Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1661
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 5:24 pm

Post by Concord »

hi :D

User avatar
kyle
Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1867
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 3:33 pm
Location: Indiana, USA, Earth, Milky Way Galaxy, Universe, Multiverse
Contact:

Post by kyle »

F! Infamous wrote:Meaning... your bot?
Don't think so, considering they talked to angel.

hi :)

User avatar
Infa(mous)
Round Winner
Posts: 255
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 11:27 pm

Post by Infa(mous) »

Considering this... I'd say it's exactly what this is. :|
-Infamous

epsy
Adjust Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 2006
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 6:02 pm
Location: paris
Contact:

Post by epsy »

A modified bot is fine to me.

Though not if you hide it is a bot.

User avatar
Paradox
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 2:16 pm
Contact:

Post by Paradox »

ouch and lol, im not talking about the stupid bot thing

recently one of the cheers admins in mistyped the spam_maxlen command and ended up setting it to 10 and the result of this was that they were then unable to correct the problem as the command to fix it was longer than 10 letters, also other admins were unable to login because the /login password command was longer than 10 characters

after seeing cheers in trouble for a few hours I decided to write a small 1 line mod to the arma client that does allow this kind of thing to be fix

other fixes I have made are the hud clock which doesnt display the hour/am/pm correctly in 12 hour mode, added keys on the player inputs for single key dbinds, too many to go into here from memory

I was offering my help if anyone requires it but if not thats no problem

thanks...

User avatar
Infa(mous)
Round Winner
Posts: 255
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 11:27 pm

Post by Infa(mous) »

Mebbe we should make him rewrite the AI script :twisted:
EDIT: Anyways, what is the fix for the 10 character thing? I noticed it as well, and couldn't figure out a workaround for it other than limiting spam_maxlen... :?
Last edited by Infa(mous) on Sat Jan 24, 2009 8:29 pm, edited 2 times in total.
-Infamous

User avatar
Paradox
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 2:16 pm
Contact:

Post by Paradox »

F! Infamous wrote:Mebbe we should make him rewrite the AI script :twisted:
hehe

epsy
Adjust Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 2006
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 6:02 pm
Location: paris
Contact:

Post by epsy »

If you're here to help post your patches.

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11426
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Post by Z-Man »

Paradox wrote:added keys on the player inputs for single key dbinds,
Keep those to yourself, please. The bot, too, of course. I know PRECISELY what you have done there :) Bugfix patches are, of course, always welcome.

User avatar
wrtlprnft
Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1679
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 4:42 am
Location: 0x08048000
Contact:

Post by wrtlprnft »

Z-Man wrote:
Paradox wrote:added keys on the player inputs for single key dbinds,
Keep those to yourself, please. The bot, too, of course. I know PRECISELY what you have done there :) Bugfix patches are, of course, always welcome.
I once did these myself (even stuff like three times left and then one time right), but they didn't turn out to be really useful on the servers I played on, and I got tired of patching.
There's no place like ::1

User avatar
Paradox
On Lightcycle Grid
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 2:16 pm
Contact:

Post by Paradox »

epsy wrote:If you're here to help post your patches.
Its ok to post patches here in public ? sorry I didnt know how things work here which is why I havent posted any source as yet

If youre 100% sure then I will, I will wait for your reply on this before I do

User avatar
Lucifer
Project Developer & Local Moonshiner
Posts: 8610
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 3:32 pm
Location: Republic of Texas
Contact:

Post by Lucifer »

Of course it's ok to post patches in public. In fact, we *prefer* patches be posted in public.

If your patch fixes a bug, however, you *should* find the bug on the tracker (on launchpad, I don't have a handy url, sorry) and post it as an attachment there. If you don't find an existing bug, create a new one, and post it there.

But if the bureaucracy bothers you, post it here anyway. We might lose it if it's posted here (i.e. can't find it, not that anything here ever really gets lost), and the tracker is the best place for that sort of thing. But it's better for us to have the patch where we can get it than to not have it at all.

I recommend you create your own bazaar branch and register it with launchpad. That does make it easier for us to grab work you've done and include it in the main repository.
Image

Be the devil's own, Lucifer's my name.
- Iron Maiden

User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11426
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Post by Z-Man »

The only patches you definitely should not post publicly are fixes for security problems, those should be first sent via PM. Patches for cheats/hacks are a grey area, I'd prefer to receive them privately first, too, Everything else can be posted openly just fine. You should know, of course, that by publishing a patch the GPL automatically forces you to agree to us integrating it into the main source if we like it (giving you proper credit).

Post Reply