New Features From Faze :P

What do you want to see in Armagetron soon? Any new feature ideas? Let's ponder these ground breaking ideas...

Which of these new features would you like in the next version of tron?

Poll ended at Mon Mar 26, 2012 2:43 am

AUTO_ADJUST_MAX_SIMULATE_AHEAD_AMOUNT
33%
AUTO_ADJUST_MAX_OUT_RATE
17%
AUTO_ADJUST_MAX_IN_RATE
17%
CURRENT_PING_AVERAGE
17%
LONGTERM_PING_AVERAGE
17%

Total votes: 6

Fazeuout
On Lightcycle Grid

New Features From Faze :P

Post by Fazeuout »

Here are some of the features I've been working on, I can't figure out how to build them, so Ill just post the source here and if someone else is kind enough to that'd be amazing. I'm a very new programmer and don't have much expeience with anything. Almost everything I know about programming is self tought except for a few weeks of ID Tech Camps. Hope you all like them. Let me explain them first.

1. AUTO_ADJUST_MAX_IN_RATE:

So when set to 1the server will automatically adjust the max Out rate when a player enters or leaves.
Here's How you use AUTO_ADJUST_MAX_IN_RATE

1. Set your MAX_IN_RATE to the amount that is the maximum bandwith you can use. So instead of coming up with how many kbps,mbps,gbps,tbps your going to use and dividing it by how many max players you'll have on the grid, you just put how much you can put into the server.
2. Then set the AUTO_ADJUST_MAX_IN_RATE to 1
3. Your done!

When there are 2 players in your server the rate will divide in 2, creating more fair lag, and lets say you have X amount of bandwith and yo u want it dealt with as fairly as possible, but you want to be able to have less lag when less players are in the server at the same time? Thats what this is for.

AUTO_ADJUST_MAX_OUT_RATE:

Same Exact Thing, just for MAX_OUT_RATE instead of MAX_IN_RATE.

AUTO_ADJUST_MAX_SIMULATE_AHEAD_AMOUNT: