Droping a deathzone
Droping a deathzone
making another game. Using script, i need to be able to drop a mini .1 dz where my bike is, one time in a round, or maybe three. then it has to be named so that i can do things to it with commands in the map file. can anyone help me with that?
Re: Droping a deathzone
There is a way to do this in the ctf/sty build already. I think it's a command that has to do with 'mines', but I'm not sure at all. And that is as much as i know.
Re: Droping a deathzone
I dont really know about scripting.
Wont the deathzone kill the cycle? or is that the main idea?
try this
This will spawn a mini deathzone with name "DEATHZONE" of 0.1 radius at point 250, 250
If you want it to be spawned at a particular point then it maybe upto scripting...
But if you want the death zone to appear when the cycle reaches a particular point then try this
This will spawn the mini deathzone when you reach point 100 100
Another way is making a zombie zone that chases you.
But the best method is putting these commands so that when you brake, your shots will stay with you.
THis will make 3 deathzones to spawn when you brake
Wont the deathzone kill the cycle? or is that the main idea?
try this
Code: Select all
spawn_zone n DEATHZONE death 250 250 0.1
If you want it to be spawned at a particular point then it maybe upto scripting...
But if you want the death zone to appear when the cycle reaches a particular point then try this
Code: Select all
spawn_zone n COMMANDER target 100 100 3
set_target_command COMMANDER onenter spawn_zone n DEATHZONE death 100 100 0.1
Another way is making a zombie zone that chases you.
Code: Select all
spawn_zone n DEATHZONE zombie player_1 250 250 0.1
zombie_zone_speed 100
shot_seek_update_time 0.0001
Code: Select all
shot_thresh 0
mega_shot_thresh 0
shot_velocity_mult 0
shot_start_dist 2
mega_shot_dir 3
Re: Droping a deathzone
you see i need to be able to type /b or set a /b instant chat and drop a .1 dz where my bike is at that particular moment. i also need to have my brake free so that i can use that as a shot. so using brake wont work to drop a dz. after i drop a dz i will use commands in my map file to interact with the dz. no one seems to know. but i know it can be done. no one that reads this seems to know what i need to do. still hoping someone will be able to help me with this. thx tho for replying
- compguygene
- Adjust Outside Corner Grinder
- Posts: 2346
- Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:09 pm
- Location: Cleveland, Ohio
- Contact:
Re: Droping a deathzone
My understanding of this problem from discussions with Luke-Jr who is maintaining much of the relevant code is as follows. Currently, if you are in a server that has shooting enabled, there is no way to separate the functionality of shooting from the brake key. That functionality is something that he has planned for the .4 release.
Armagetron: It's a video game that people should just play and enjoy
https://bit.ly/2KBGYjvCheck out the simple site about TheServerPharm
https://bit.ly/2KBGYjvCheck out the simple site about TheServerPharm
Re: Droping a deathzone
What do you mean by /b ?RYON wrote:you see i need to be able to type /b or set a /b instant chat and drop a .1 dz where my bike is at that particular moment.
Well you could release a moving shot or a static shot with the brake key if some settings are changed.
Or another idea
set some instants to these
Code: Select all
First instant : /command zombie_zone_speed 50
Second instant : /command spawn_zone n DEATHZONE zombie player_1 250 250 0.1
Third instant : /command Shot_seek_update_time 0.001
Fourth instant : /command zombie_zone_speed 0
Now you can interact with the death zone by using its name (DEATHZONE).
- kyle
- Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
- Posts: 1897
- Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 3:33 pm
- Location: Indiana, USA, Earth, Milky Way Galaxy, Universe, Multiverse
- Contact:
Re: Droping a deathzone
well you can use COMMAND and PLAYER_GRIDPOS from ladderlog.txt
you need to be able to store the PLAYER_GRIDPOS information in the script so that when they type the /b it the command will trigger the dropping of a deathzone at the last known grid position.
there are a few settings you will have to set to get this to work.
Code: Select all
COMMAND <authenticated name> <ip> <access level> <message>
PLAYER_GRIDPOS <name> <xpos> <ypos> <xdir> <ydir> <team name>
there are a few settings you will have to set to get this to work.
Code: Select all
LADDERLOG_WRITE_PLAYER_GRIDPOS 1 #write PLAYER_GRIDPOS to ladderlog
LEGACY_LADDERLOG_COMMAND 0 #makes it so it writes the /b command 0 would mean you would have to do /cmd b to get similar effect
INTERCEPT_UNKNOWN_COMMANDS 1 #makes it so it writes the /b command
GRID_POSITION_INTERVAL 1 #sets it to write this every second
Re: Droping a deathzone
cool so i think kyle is more onto what im trying to do. im trying to drop a .1 mini named dz that i can later use commands in my map to interact with them. then im using brake button for shooting.. so the whole point of this post is to understand what i need to type into my script in order to drop a dz with whatever we need to type to drop it while playing in the game. the /b was just an example i got from a server called hot potato in which they use /drop to drop the potato. so KYLE, is that the commands i need to put in my script to drop the mini named dz?
Re: Droping a deathzone
Couldn't you write the command to drop the dz (I'm not exactly familiar with these type of commands) onto an instant chat and then write "/console" infront of it? You could then bind the instant chat key to whichever key you want for it?
The Halley's comet of Armagetron.
ps I'm not tokoyami
ps I'm not tokoyami
- kyle
- Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
- Posts: 1897
- Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 3:33 pm
- Location: Indiana, USA, Earth, Milky Way Galaxy, Universe, Multiverse
- Contact:
Re: Droping a deathzone
you need both COMMAND and PLAYER_GRIDPOS
COMMAND so when the player says /b you get
and PLAYER_GRIDPOS so that you can keep track of where a player is.
so when you get something like
you can create an array
this way when COMMAND gets triggered you have x position and y position to spwan the death_zone
COMMAND so when the player says /b you get
Code: Select all
COMMAND player_1 4.2.2.2 20 /b
so when you get something like
Code: Select all
PLAYER_GRIDPOS player_1 200 150 .5 .5 team_blue
Code: Select all
$players["player_1"]=array(200,150);
Code: Select all
spawn_zone n DEATHZONE death $players["player_1"][0] $players["player_1"][1] 0.1
Re: Droping a deathzone
WOW COOL! Does the ladderlog and array of variables work on windows 7?
Also, is there a wiki where this is all described ?
Also, is there a wiki where this is all described ?
- kyle
- Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
- Posts: 1897
- Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 3:33 pm
- Location: Indiana, USA, Earth, Milky Way Galaxy, Universe, Multiverse
- Contact:
Re: Droping a deathzone
I have not tested anything on windows.
the array would be in the script.
for more sty+ct information we have this wiki
the array would be in the script.
for more sty+ct information we have this wiki
Re: Droping a deathzone
@ kyle and Drew
guys im not understanding this. can you tell me what to do step by step. this is gonna be another game for my multi game server ][][][][][][ _, :>\/OLUME ZERO<; ' ._][][][][][][ and i think it will be fun if i can get this idea to work.
guys im not understanding this. can you tell me what to do step by step. this is gonna be another game for my multi game server ][][][][][][ _, :>\/OLUME ZERO<; ' ._][][][][][][ and i think it will be fun if i can get this idea to work.