[0] Timer hickup!

Post here if you need help setting up your server, etc.
Post Reply
User avatar
ed
Match Winner
Posts: 613
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 12:34 pm
Location: UK

[0] Timer hickup!

Post by ed »

I have access to a vps that hasn't run a tron server before.

I've compiled from source using

./configure --prefix ${HOME}/tron-0.2.8.2.1 --disable-glout

no compile error messages, no mods, default settings.

When I run ./tron-0.2.8.2.1/bin/armagetronad-dedicated, I get

Code: Select all

[0] Bound socket to *.*.*.*:34092.
[0] Bound socket to *.*.*.*:4534.
[0] Setting CYCLE_BRAKE_DEPLETE (Group: Annoying) deviates from its default value; clients older than 0.2.5.0 may experience problems.
[0] Ping charity changed from 100 to 100100.
[0] Nobody there. Taking a nap...
[0] Timestamp: 2007/03/07 22:04:36
[0] Closing socket bound to *.*.*.*:4534
[0] Bound socket to *.*.*.*:4534.
[0] Warning in REAL sn_SendPlanned1() in network/nNetwork.cpp:2822 :
        [0] Timer hickup!
[0] Warning in REAL sn_SendPlanned1() in network/nNetwork.cpp:2822 :
        [0] Timer hickup!
[0] Warning in REAL sn_SendPlanned1() in network/nNetwork.cpp:2822 :
        [0] Timer hickup!
[0] Warning in REAL sn_SendPlanned1() in network/nNetwork.cpp:2822 :
        [0] Timer hickup!
So I tried it with 0.3.0, and I get

Code: Select all

[0] Bound socket to *.*.*.*:34125.
[0] Bound socket to *.*.*.*:4534.
[0] Setting CYCLE_BRAKE_DEPLETE (Group: Annoying) deviates from its default value; clients older than 0.2.5.0 may experience problems.
[0] Ping charity changed from 100 to 100100.
/home/ed/tron-0.3.0/share/games/armagetronad-dedicated/www-root
[0] Nobody there. Taking a nap...
[0] Timestamp: 2007/03/07 22:09:56
[0] Closing socket bound to *.*.*.*:4534
[0] Bound socket to *.*.*.*:4534.
[0] Warning in REAL sn_SendPlanned1() in network/nNetwork.cpp:2832 :
        [0] Timer hickup!
[0] Warning in REAL sn_SendPlanned1() in network/nNetwork.cpp:2832 :
        [0] Timer hickup!
[0] Warning in REAL sn_SendPlanned1() in network/nNetwork.cpp:2832 :
        [0] Timer hickup!
[0] Warning in REAL sn_SendPlanned1() in network/nNetwork.cpp:2832 :
        [0] Timer hickup!
Those 2 lines are constantly repeated several times a second whether the server is occupied or not.
The server continues to run, I can connect to it, but the connection is seriously unstable. I actually had a negetive ping at one point.

Is this something to do with being on a vps? is there any way around it?
User avatar
Tank Program
Forum & Project Admin, PhD
Posts: 6712
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 7:03 pm

Post by Tank Program »

Not sure what it is myself, but I bet a debug recording wouldn't go amiss...
Image
User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11624
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Post by Z-Man »

Yeah. Timer hickups come from system timer calls going either backwards or jumping forwards. Negative pings suggest it jumps backwards. A debug recording could verify this, and decreasing DEDICATED_FPS may work around the problem a bit.
User avatar
ed
Match Winner
Posts: 613
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 12:34 pm
Location: UK

Post by ed »

Here's a recording running on the 0.2.8.2.1 version.
Things aren't looking good for me on the vps front.
Attachments
debug_0.2.8.zip
(65.92 KiB) Downloaded 245 times
User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11624
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Post by Z-Man »

Yeah, it's the timer jumping all around :(

Code: Select all

T 5 258031
..
T 4 372985
......

T 6 55716
..
T 5 170672
Those lines are in the format
T <seconds> <microseconds>. So the timer jumps almost one second into the past. Can you test what the date shell comand does? A simple

Code: Select all

while sleep 1; do date; done
is usually enough to detect irregularities. Of course, the output should look the same even if the main system timer is broken (sleep uses it too :) ), but you should be able to detect problems in the rhythm the output comes at you.
User avatar
ed
Match Winner
Posts: 613
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 12:34 pm
Location: UK

Post by ed »

Before I read your reply I tried something else.

By default fedora core 4 was installed but I had the option to reimage with SUSE 9.3. I did this and the problems seem to have gone away.
Now to test with a full server, see how it copes.

Thanks for the help.
User avatar
DDMJ
Reverse Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 1882
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 12:15 am
Location: LA, CA, USA, NA
Contact:

Post by DDMJ »

ed wrote:I actually had a negetive ping at one point.
:P

Image
[ ^^^ Click Above ^^^ ]
User avatar
bit7
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 2:40 am

Post by bit7 »

I have the same timer hickup error like ed on ubuntu feisty 64bit with intel core 2duo. i try with the package from debian and getdeb.net

i've got framerates over 1000 fps. that's really not normal i guess.
i've read the wiki solution for 64bit on windows machine, but no solutions for linux.

i am afraid, it could damaged my cpu by overclocking.
so i think, it's better not to play with this buggy version.
Last edited by bit7 on Fri May 25, 2007 8:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
philippeqc
Long Poster - Project Developer - Sage
Posts: 1526
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2004 8:55 am
Location: Stockholm
Contact:

Post by philippeqc »

bit7 wrote:i've got framerates over 1000 fps. that's really not normal i guess.
Depending on your hardware and the resolution used, it can be quite normal. I would not worry about this.
i am afraid, that i can damaged my cpu by overclocking it.
so i think, it's better not to play with this buggy version.
The game cannot overclock your cpu. Most applications can't do that. It is just a case of a very powerfull cpu with a very powerful graphic card.

Enjoy the game!

-ph
Canis meus id comedit.
User avatar
bit7
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 2:40 am

Post by bit7 »

hi philippeqc,

thank you for your reply. good to know, that's not a risk to play with this timer hickup error. i remember, when i first install the debian package from debian.org, i didn't have this error. since a few days, i have install wine and there are some updates from ubuntu feisty, i've got this error.

i will try install armagetronad 64bit on a fresh feisty installation and hope to get rid of this error message in the game.

so i will enjoy this great GAME :)
User avatar
bit7
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 2:40 am

Post by bit7 »

i just fresh installed feisty 64 bit and no more timer hickup problem with the intel core 2 duo and everything is smooth. yeeeesss :P
User avatar
philippeqc
Long Poster - Project Developer - Sage
Posts: 1526
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2004 8:55 am
Location: Stockholm
Contact:

Post by philippeqc »

bit7 wrote:i just installed feisty 64 bit and no more timer hickup problem...
Good! I should upgrade too. AMD64 here. But I never seen any time hickup.

-ph
Canis meus id comedit.
sevencube3
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 1:00 am

Re: [0] Timer hickup!

Post by sevencube3 »

I wouldn't be so sure about that as I have had many a timer hickup error in all the versions that I have run since first playing the game.
Post Reply